We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, but too pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nokka

Nokka
Kanavaranta 7, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Vironniemi)
+358-9-687 7330
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 927 restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $36 - $146
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty, but too pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had the Helsinki Menu of 4 courses w/ the wine package. The dinner kicked off with a gazpacho (amuse-bouche), followed by the beautiful smoked fish starter, which was excellent and the matching wine was great. The main course, lamb, was a bit of a disappointment. Celery was not mentioned on the menu but it still dominated the taste. I would have preferred the neck of lamb more over done and the sirloin more pink. Good, yes, but not at all aligned with the starter. "Finnish cheeses" consisted of only two very small pieces of not-so-local small producer cheeses, fruit bread baked yesterday (very dry, anyways) and spoonful of mixed sweetened seeds and nuts. Matching wine was great. The dinner was finished with very summery strawberry, white chocolate and raw milk icecream dish, which in deed was very good. Local strawberry sparkling wine was not on the expected level, if you compare it to for instance ordinary Fresita.

We were served sparkling water only in the beginning, but did not realize that we need to ask for it if we wanted more.

For the price of 245 EUR for two people I'd say you could be better off somewhere else in Helsinki.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    55
    43
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice location in the harbor. Beautifully renovated old warehouse with romantic ambience. Service is impeccable. All food are locally produced and prepared by cooks behind glass walled kitchen so they could be observed preparing food. Elegant presentation and good food.

This has been a Michelin restaurant 2012 & 2013.
Not for people on a budget, otherwise overall a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You lucky lucky Finns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is food of the highest order with the combination of textures and flavours which have been thoughtfully and cleverly designed. The local delicacies make a fascinating contribution to the experience. The wines selected for the tasting menu were similarly well thought out. The quantities, so often a problem when many courses are served, were precisely right and the service impeccable. We tried to interest the management in moving the whole enterprise to London but they declined so Helsinki residents will still be able to cherish this culinary treasure. Lucky them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Memorable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We are travelling as a Family of 5 and are always looking for a restaraunt with top food and still child friendly. This restaraunt has both.

We went for the a la carte as there are no kid menus we were not sure how the set menus would go.

Our 2 younger children 7 and 10 both had mains and dessert.

Not cheap for those on a budget
The dinner for 5 with wine ended at 350 euros which is more or less what we would pay back home in melbourne for a top quality restaraunt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Unbeatable from every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary here. We chose the four-course set menu simply because we didn't have a clue about Finnish food, and we thought this would allow the chef to show us what he could do - and boy, s/he can indeed do miracles!! The food was delicate, fresh and delicious. Several ingredients were things I usually dislike, like celery, but in this genius' hands they were just wonderful.

The food was most beautifully presented - the first course in particular would have looked good on the wall!

The ambience was pleasant, with plenty of space between tables and no intrusive noise.

But, no matter how excellent the food, the service takes the cake: our waitresses were knowledgable, efficient and very observant, leaving us alone when we were talking and stepping in promptly with anything we needed. And I was greeted the next morning by a lovely email telling me that my husband had left his trusty Akubra hat behind (at the start of a three-month holiday) and making arrangements for getting it back to us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nokka also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Nokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nokka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.