We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty food and pleasant atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolme kruunua

Kolme kruunua
Liisankatu 5, Helsinki 00170, Finland (Vironniemi)
9 135 4172
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“tasty food and pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My friend from Tampere suggested me to go to this place. First evening we came there in a big group (7 people) so there was not enough place and we moved to another restaurant but next day we came back with my friend and eat here a wonderfull soups + deer meat with smashed potatoes. my traditional soup with salmon was simple but really tasty. at this restaurant was really quiet maybe even too quiet or maybe i try to compare with Italy where everybody speaking too loud =)
we payed 52 eur for 2 soups, one deer with potatoes and 2 glasses of wine
i recomend this place

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    70
    19
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Authentic finnish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was looking for a place where locals eat. After a little bit of research, it felt like Kolme Kruunua was a choice. I had dinner at the counter and ordered a classic Wiener schnitzel which was excellent - so moist and tender. The place felt warm and cozy especially on a snowy evening and totally unpretentious and relaxed. Staff was lovely. I could have been more adventurous and eat even more local food but could not resist when I saw the schnitzel. Cannot go wrong with Kolme Kruunua.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Genuine, traditional Finnish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I travel, I try to find the restaurants where local tend to go. Kolme Kruunua (Three Crowns) is exactly one of those restaurants. Rather than fancy haute cuisine, food is delicious traditional Finnish style for reasonable prices. I also love the atmosphere with 50s decor and friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Finnish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great little restaurant, friendly staff, good food, nice atmosphere and not expensive. When paying the bill, they had already entered the amount without any extras, had to ask to add the tip. :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
“More places like this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My father recommended this cozy yet really good restaurant with really good food (not gourmet but real food and lots of it) and friendly and pro service. We were six adults and five kids - everything went really smoothly and everyone loved their food. The place has lots of Finnish specialties, but since we were more than 8 we had a special menu. Our new favorite!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolme kruunua also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Kolme kruunua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolme kruunua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.