We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yume is not yum” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yume

Yume
Kluuvikatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yume is not yum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited Yume with a bunch of friends and were not overly impressed. Had the same menu for the table, ok food, but quite minimalistic, even on Japanese standards. Overpriced beer, 2.5 dl glass of Asahi beer 7.5 euros. Service was quite inattentive and even unprofessional, waitress started to press one of us on what type of allergies she had when she asked a replacement for one of the dishess. The town has much more to offer especially in value-for-money terms with many smaller boutiques restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    17
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Japanesish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The restaurant is decorated with a japanese flavour but unlike Japanese restaurants in most countries, the staff are not Japanese and very few of the patrons used chop sticks. The menu has japanese dishes but not in Japanese style, e.g., they have Sashimi on the menu but no Wasabe and soy, rather presenting it with the chef's preferred dressing. My wife's crispy fried fish sat curled on the plate around its crispy fried flesh pieces and was full of flavour. I chose the hot stone with beef which was reasonably thinly sliced but was well marbled high quality Finnish beef. The wine list is limited and is probably the only wine list I have ever seen without a single chardonnay although for some reason it has a sauvignon blanc - the lowest of the whites. We settled on a german Rose full flavoured to fit as far as possible the delicious beef. Our coconut ginger ice cream and the chocolate ice cream were also both excellent

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

great food and cocktails daughter loved it good location susi and sea bass were fantastic staff were excellent

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb service amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have the hot stone salmon delicious as was soft shell crab marbled beef salad and pale pale interior was very attractive service was attentive and knowledgable we had an outdoor table which was great for people watching

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salo, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy athmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a large group, 12 people making it challenging for a kitchen and waitresses. We were well recommended to go with ready menu, which was a excellent idea,
Yume-menu was an wonderful choice - variety of different kind of asian tasty food. For most of us, that was a 1st visit to restaurant, but definitely we will come again.
Waitress succeeded to serve as very well, with a smile, even we were so many.
I also liked the way, she introduced always the new dish.
Stylish decoration and silent enough enabling discussions on table.
Me like !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yume also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Yume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.