We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate hotel for what you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu

Save Saved
You added Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu
Eerikinkatu 24 | Lonnrotinkatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate hotel for what you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having seen the price of other hotels in Helsinki, opted to go for this one purely based on cheap price. It was much better than I expected. Room was quite spacious - though bathroom very small. Didn't expect tea/coffee making facilities, but they were there. Nice little seating area in front of the TV. The bed had a little skinny matress on top of a normal matress, which slipped off the bed a bit, not the most comfortable bed ever. One thing putting me off was all the reviews saying the windows didn't open. Our windows did open, no problem. I didn't think I would miss the reception, though I did for things like booking taxi to the ferry, tourist information, etc. But it turned out there is a taxi rank right across the road. But it's absolutely fine for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    64
    51
    15
    14
See reviews for
26
44
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koblenz, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

hotel is not far away from central train station but I would not go by walk from there with big luggage.
there is no reception at all. you have to be sure to know your access code (sent by email).
we didn't get any new towels or room cleaning on second day.
price was ok for Helsinki.

Room Tip: any room ok for short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room had a lumpy mattress which was also too soft. There was an uneaten piece of food inside the microwave. The plastic cups made the coffee taste disgusting. The hotel is in a dodgy neighbourhood with an extremely unattractive entrance. there are, confusingly, two other hotels (at least) of the same name in the vicinity, one of which had two people sleeping inside the entrance door. None of these establishments have a reception so they accumulate mainly oriental clients who have forgotten or lost their entrance pin codes. In front of one of the other Omena Hotels were to be found, regularly, ladies of the night of a deeply melanotic hue.

Room Tip: Suggest avoiding these establishments unless you are really desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was only here for one night before moving onto Estonia and I was pleased it was just one night. The location wad good, about 10 mins walk from the Central Station where the airport bus terminates. With a smartphone you can find your way easily.

I viewed the hotel being unmanned as a positive, I received the room number/door code 24 hours before check-in by email and a SMS confirmation few hours before check-in. The check-in experience was smooth, in less than one minute I was in the room having to use the code three times (main door, door for the third floor corridor and my room).

The room was of average size, but having the bed so close to the room door was not the best idea I have ever seen. The bathroom is what I would call typically Scandinavian, small but functional, however with cleanliness average at best. The soap dispensers on the wall (one for the shower and one over the sink) were missing (you could see the four screw holes for each) and there was one plastic bottle put on the sink for soap.

Regarding the cleanliness, this is one of the worst rooms I have seen for some time, there were some brown marks on the wall, not the usually wear and tear of a room (I did not check these brown marks closely). While the set-top box that sits under the TV had not been dusted for weeks, I did take the liberty to write 'clean me' on top of the box, I hope the cleaner took the hint and my comment is still not there now.

The remainder of the room was made up with an area featuring a kettle, a microwave, the already mentioned TV/set-top box, two chairs with desk and two chairs which would unfold and make up an extra two beds. The free Wi-Fi worked fine and was simple to access.

Since I was here just for the night, I did not spend too much time in the room until I wanted to sleep. Then I realised the air-con had no control and in actual fact was there an air-con in the room? Not one I could identify. With how stuffy it was, then I decided there was no air-con in the room.

Then there was the noise in the corridor which kept me awake, remember I said the bed was close to the room door? The noise was simply other room doors opening and closing (most squeaky and could with some lubrication) and the nights sleep was bad. Not to mention a well worn mattress in which some springs would make noise while turning over in bed.

So for approx. 90 Euro/night without breakfast, a poor hotel which has so much potential if it was looked after better. It almost seems since it is unmanned, the team does not care about the cleanliness since there is no one to complain to. If I ever return to Helsinki, then I will be looking for alternative accommodation. Avoid unless it's your last option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Goods:
Clean and comfort.
Properly guided with check-in procedure since there are no staff.

Bads:
No chance to arrive and get the room before the checking time.
Windows cannot be opened and the air conditioner cannot be controlled.

Things to know:
Read the room policies regarding cleaning, contacting the staff for any troubles.

Room Tip: Room in upper floors have larger space compared to lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

No staff. No one to turn the air conditioning on. rooms not cleaned everyday. wouldnt stay here even if it were free of cost. bathrooms were not cleaned. windows wouldnt open inspite of the heat. avoid completely

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel works completely without staff which is a bit strange at first sight but works really well. The rooms have a good size because they are all designed to accomodate 4 people. The bathroom is rather small but ok for a short stay. You cannot open the windows but the air conditioning is ok. A nice feature is the small refrigerator. The location is pretty good and you can walk to a lot of sights. So all in all it was a good hotel considered the cheap price but you should not expect special comfort and be aware that it can get rather loud when groups of teenagers are staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu

Address: Eerikinkatu 24 | Lonnrotinkatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omena Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.