We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu

Save Saved
You added Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu
Eerikinkatu 24 | Lonnrotinkatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good quality budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Good location, a walking distance from the railway station, cheap rates. The concept this hotel chain has it that there is no reception nor personnel, you receive a personal code which you will use to enter the building and your room. Has worked like a charm everytime. You can call the customer service anytime and if it is something urgent they will send someone. I have stayed here several times and the room has always been very clean and confortable. Each room has a microwave, fridge and kettle. Free internet (you will browse internet using the TV and wireless keyboard). A bit of a warning is that during the weekend there are usually many young people staying, so the noice from the corridors and rooms might get loud...if any problems dont hesitate to notify the customer service line.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    63
    51
    15
    14
See reviews for
26
43
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samara, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

It's located near the historic center of Helsinki. The room are very comfortable. It's very unusual hotel;))))) There is no check in or check out. A help desk is a phone call away should problems arise. Each room has a fridge, a kettle and a microwave, so breakfast can be on a self-catering basis. It can also be booked in advance from nearby cafes at the same time as the room is booked.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the Omena Hotel Lönnrotinkatu for 5 vnights whilst visiting friends in Helsinki. Value wise it was great! Beds were very comfortable ( I slept on the pull out bed) and for me I dont sleep well in strange places. I slept very comfortably. We were on the ground floor and didn't hear a thing. Note to anyone staying there, there are extra towels and bedding in the big roll cushions. We were very impressed with security, as it was very warm and we opened the window, within 5 minutes I got a call on my mobile asking if I was in the room, when I confirmed that we were in the room, we were asked to close the window. The only downside to this hotel is the breakfast, I wouldn't advise anyone to pay extra for the breakfast - it wouldnt fill you up and its the same thing every day. We actually ended up going to the other cafe next door, which do great breakfast and lunch. Overall, Omena was great - just dont get the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Basic hotel, top location in the heart of Helsinki. Hotelroom is simple and not very spacy but has coffee making facilities, your own microwave oven, beds were okay and room was clean. Funny touch; the apple centenced shower soap. Good value for money if you are on budget and looking for a hotel in top location.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

A perfect hotel for backpackers. A twin bed + 2 extra beds, very confortable, very clean rooms... All Omena hotels are situated in centre of cities, so it is very easy to reach all important sighseens, railwaystation etc. It was very nice to read a welcome message with our names on a big TV infront of the twin bed. A little extra tihng: free coffees.
Even families with small children stayed there and they were also satisfied. I also recommand to buy breakfast. Always in a small café few steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting family in Helsinki. This was the first time that we had stayed at an 'automated' hotel, but all went well, we booked via the internet, choosing our own door PIN number, and it worked fine (you have to use your code 3 times - once to get into the hotel, once to enter the floor where your room is and finally to enter the room). Obviously, there is no reception or staff to greet you, but the hotel seemed to be completely full with other guests, so it didn't seem that you were totally alone.
There is a telephone number that you can ring to the hotel's help line should anything go wrong - and we had to use it as our television wasn't working - and they responded quickly and a caretaker appeared pretty quickly (although he couldn't mend the TV but would call the engineers the next week).
The rooms are basic, but 'value for money'.
There were one or two disappointments, however. There is a kettle with some coffee, tea and creamer supplied, but the cups are throw away plastic ones, like you get from a vending machine, and not ideal for making drinks, and we had to wash ours or we would have soon run out. There is also a fridge and microwave - but absolutely no cutlery or plates or bowls - so if you did shop locally to eat in, and use the microwave you have nothing to use to eat your food with.
There is air conditioning/heating running in the room - but you have no control over it - you cannot turn it on/off or alter the temperature.
The windows are quadruple glazed (two double glazed windows) but you cannot open the inner ones to get to the outer ones to open them to let air in. The inner ones are locked for safety in case a guest falls from an upper floor - the caretaker told us that if we rang the help line again and asked permission and took responsibilty for our own safety - then the windows could be unlocked - but we didn't bother - but in the heat of summer this might become a necessity as the room could become far too hot despite the air con.
The location of the hotel is fine, near the centre of Helsinki
Overall, you get what you pay for (although different nights of the week cost different amounts - the first night cost 89.90 Euro, the second 75.90 and the third 49.90 - which seems odd - maybe they get cheaper the longer you stay?)
Would we stay there again? Possibly. It is all down to cost. Finland is an expensive place for visitors from the UK I think, so this is reasonable accommodation at reasonable cost.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is a really interesting concept for those who aren't looking for a lot of service in their hotel. Everything is booked online and you choose an entry "code". You then use this code to enter the exterior of the building, the floor of your room, and your actual room. There is no hotel staff or check-in whatsoever.

The room itself is rather small, with not a lot of room to move around the bed. But the room was very clean (note that it is not cleaned each day). All rooms are equipped with a double bed and a fold-out sofa bed. But the double bed is more like two twins. There is also a microwave and refrigerator in the room which is convenient for making one's own meals. The bathroom is tiny but very clean as well (think cruise ship and you get the idea). There is a large flat screen TV and the local channels are free. Wi-fi internet access is also provided for free.

We stayed at the hotel on Lönnrotinkatu (there are three different locations in Helsinki), which was well located for getting around the city center. It was very close to the Forum shopping center, and not very far from the Esplande or the market on the waterfront. It was very easy to find and is located on a quiet side street.

Note that you aren't actually assigned your room until 24 hours before check-in, so if you can't get access to your email, this could be a problem. I also had troubles booking with my American credit card on their website. At this location, there were two blocks of rooms, so to get to my actual room, I had to walk across a tiny parking area instead of entering what appeared to be the "main" part of the hotel.

Overall, a great budget option for the independent traveler in an otherwise expensive city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu

Address: Eerikinkatu 24 | Lonnrotinkatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omena Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omena Hotel Eerikinkatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.