We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka

Save Saved
You added Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Moscow
1 review
“100% recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Best choice in "price/quality" category. Very quiet residential location - 10 minutes walk or 3 minutes by tram to city center. 2-3 minutes walk to nearest bars & restaurants, pharmacy & supermarket. Fresh & stylish renovation. Comfortable room (if you prefer spacious rooms book Premier or Suite) with all needed facilities. Perfect service & polite personnel. Very good breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    264
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
66
306
59
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Hotel Katajanokka is a former prison, and that was the key factor in my decision as i wanted a quiet room for new year's eve. And i ended up hearing nothing else than fireworks from outside, nothing else.
The room had electric dimmers, waterboiler with tea&coffee&cocoa, 32 inch tv, air conditioner, and the most important: good bed with proper mattress and a selection of pillows. Also the breakfast didnt leave anything to hope for, plenty of choices and the atmosphere in the restaurant is very nice thanks to peaceful decoration and furniture.
The hotel is located in the middle of residential area, short walk from Viking Line terminal in the harbour. From the railwaystation it takes 20 mins walk to get there, finding the right way is quite easy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

The building itself made the stay quite interesting and the room is immaculately renovated. Unfortunately, since I worked from my room, I realized that the walls of a prison can be a bit cold - I couldn't seem to turn up the heat enough in my room. The gentleman at reception overnight was extremely helpful and kind as I was checking out at 4am. He insisted that I didn't leave without having some breakfast and proceeded to run downstairs to make me a sandwich himself.

The included breakfast downstairs at the Jailbird restaurant was fantastic. As I had limited time and it was very cold outside (10-15 minute walk to downtown), I also had two dinners at Jailbird which were equally terrible. The reindeer meal was cold and I nearly gagged on the soggy pizza.

Don't worry about bringing your own handcuffs, as the vending machine in the hallway sells them for 25€ along with an assortment of chocolate bars.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

The way they have converted this former prison is stuning.
A truly wonderfull hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I stayed in this prison converted hotel. Good thing is you can come in out anytime you want without asking the prison guards. Hotel room is clean, nice, but very small (what do you expect from a prison cell):-) Free internet was nice but I was hit with an expensive bill for local phone call before I left the hotel. The clerk was very nice (she works during the night shift), extremely nice lady she cut the bill into half after my protest. But still for a 1-15 minute talk with a local number I was asked to pay 25 euros. Well, everything else is so expensive in that town, it should be normal. Their biggest drawback is that they are isolated though walk to the center of the town is perhaps 15 minutes. There is a fairly well public transportation system running right in front of the hotel. The hotel's biggest drawback is the restaurant. The American efficiency without logic is brought into the hotel management: result: two guys running around in the restaurant without any smile, eye contact or questions asked and/or anything explained. Stay away if you want to start your day in a nice mood. Night clerk is nice but hey you don;t want to pay all that money to talk to her 5 minutes. Actually stay away from Helsinki all together. Not many friendly people around, bad weather, snobbish wannabees, pretty skinny women though not smiling nor talkative therefore not making them attractive, everybody is dressed in black one fashion or the other; no wonder it has the highest suicide level in the world; lots of lonely people who live in a very expensive and dark city surrounded with cold people. The fashion is black (though various shades I must say). Go to Estonia 2 hours boat ride. better and less expensive. G luck. This was my last trip to Europe. from now on I'd travel to other places other than Europe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I chose this hotel because of the used-to-be-a-prison spice. I should have guessed that it would probably be inside galleries, small windows and very quiet. But somehow I didn't realise that before I actually came to the hotel. Since I dislike galleries, love large windows and appreciate a lively atmosphere, this was just not the place for me. Nothing wrong with the rooms or the hotel (situated in a really nice area in Helsinki), but it was just not for me. I realise I have to keep from getting imprisoned for real.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We had read about this hotel and decided to book becase of the novelty value of staying in a prison. As the taxi pulled up outside we felt a bit daunted by it's appearance as obviously it still looked like a prison. On entering though we were pleasantly surprised. The whole building has been tastefully refurbished in a contemporary style.
The bedrooms were a good size and spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a bath as well as two showers over the bath. The only difficulty there was that the shower screen leaked and soaked the bathroom floor every time we had a shower. This wasn't a major problem though as the underfloor heating it soon dried it. There was a good selection of toiletries which were renewed every day.
We used the restaurant and found the food to be very good. The staff were efficient but a smile or two wouldn't have gone amiss!
The hotel was very quiet which suited us. There seemed to be some business seminar going on but we were never disturbed by any noise even at dinner when they all dressed as prisoners! (T-shirts and caps available at reception).
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and if we ever return to Helsinki would look forward to staying there again. It's one of the best!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka

Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.