We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool experience in an historic site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka to your Saves list
Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cool experience in an historic site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I just loved this hotel; the preserved elements from its prison history were quite neat and interestingly, there were just no leftover "bad vibes" at all in here. In fact, the layout of the next Helsinki hotel where I stayed felt much more like a prison than this did. The service was fantastic and the food in their restaurant was actually quite good, albeit a bit pricey.

The WiFi doesn't work so well in the rooms, presumably because of the super-thick prison walls, but it was working in the common areas. If you were really desperate, you could stand in the doorway of your room with your face pressed into a corner and then you could get a signal int he room, but why not just walk into the hallway at that point?

I can;t say enough good things about how much fun it was to be in this hotel and what a good vibe it had. So strange that a former prison has one of the nicest energies of many planes I've been... but somehow, the place just feels good. Go here. Love it.

Room Tip: The top floor has more interesting window layouts in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    356
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
96
411
69
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Taxi driver from the airport warned us of the ghosts in this place as it is a former prison. It certainly retains all the look of a prison but we cannot claim any ghostly experiences. The layout and open areas are all prison like but light and open. The rooms are small as they are doubled up cells. Have been organised very well for a relatively small space, the shower and toilet are very generous. Very solid doors and walls so absolutely soundproof. Not much of a view as windows are high so lack of space is not an issue as you probably will not sit in room. Restaurant (only took breakfast) is in basement and is windowless but atmospheric. Overall a great hotel, good breakfast, nice outside terrace in courtyard catches midsummer evening sun. Right by the tram line so easy to get into the city. Uspenski Cathedral is a short walk away. Limited wifi in rooms due to thick walls, but there are plenty of seats in corridors and this is explained by the receptionist when the checkin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A very pleasant experience. Good level quality hotel in a curious contest Well equipped room, rich and tasty breakfast, nice staff, very good location in a quiet but central area of the city. Just one remark: part of the bathroom wall was made of glass causing a little lack of privacy while having the shower. Apart from this,everything was perfect and I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I had a great stay at the Hotel Katajonakka. The staff was the highlight, they (esp. Rita) were helpful and full of great suggestions for ways to spend the day in Helsinki. The hotel was well located, with a quick (~10 min) walk to the city center, or alternatively the tram stopped right outside the hotel. It was an interesting setting, and they've done a great job renovating, as I would have never known from the quality of the room, that this was a former prison. My room was on the second floor and I had easy access to very fast wi-fi. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel Katanajokka in Helsinki was a delight! Rich in history (it's an old jailhouse) but bang up to date, from walking through the front door to checkout was a positive experience. The front-counter staff were charming and helpful (I have no Finnish, but their English is perfect); the room was immaculate and cosy (jail window high up, naturally); great shower, a widescreen TV, Gideon Bible, hairdryer, minibar, crisp white sheets and marshmallowy pillows. And as for the breakfast in the old jail cellar: sumptuous is the word. If only I'd been hungrier in this Helsinki heatwave! So much on offer, to suit everyone from the ravenous American visitors and their picky kids, to older guests...fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meats and Scandinavian fish, a variety of breads, eggs, tomatoes, yoghurts, different milks, juices, teas, coffees, etc etc. I had to check out at midday after a one-night stay, but the lovely girls at reception safeguarded my heavy luggage in a locker room as I wandered the city, until I left again for the airport at 7pm. The hotel is in a terrific location: the No4 and 4T trams stop right outside, while the exhilarating Helsinki harbour is just a five-minute stroll away via picturesque old wharf buildings. Just loved it all, and hope very much to stay at Hotel Katanajokka again.

Room Tip: Any room here is going to be convenient for the sights of wondrous Helsinki, especially if you fancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in a standard room for 3 nights. The room was a reasonable size, although a little narrow as it needed to fit the former jail cell size with the bathroom on the side. The bathroom was smallish, with an excellent shower but was quite adequate. The reception staff were friendly and quite helpful. We had a meal in the restaurant with friends one evening and all had an excellent meal at around the average price in Helsinki. A good reasonable eating place is Vapiano [Mikonkatu 15] for pizza, salads and pasta. The major problem was the air-conditioning which was erratic and noisy. It noisily cut out about 1:30 am at night, then restarting later with a strong fan noise. The temperature room control had no effect nor was there any capacity to turn it off. Our room was too hot, but our friends room was too cold. There was a wide choice for a cold breakfast, but limited cereals and a limited hot breakfast choice.
The hotel was within easy walking distance from the tourist attractions and a #4 tram passed the hotel travelling to the Central station and beyond. A Day Pass transport ticket for 8 euro can be a good buy if you take the ferry to Suomenlinna Island [normally 5 euro return] and plan some tram or bus rides on your return to the mainland for some of the outlying tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Possibly my favourite hotel of 5 weeks travelling all around Scandinavia. The location is a bit away from the centre of town but the Number 4 tram stops directly out the front. Car parking is also available but is metered. Very comfortable queen size bed. Very comfy lounge chair to watch TV. Room also featured a writing desk, mini-bar, kettle with flavoured teas, coffee & hot chocolate, heating & cooling & wifi. The room is super quiet thanks to the old prison construction. The shower is awesome with 2 showerheads. One on a flexible hose & the other a massive showerhead the size of a dinner plate. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful - particularly Cecelia. The hotel has a lounge area with large TV & public computer with internet. The restaurant is pretty good and has a bar & some interesting history with old prison cells to visit. The hotel was happy to give me a late check-out of 2pm because I had a late flight. There are only a couple of convenience shops and restaurants near the hotel, but the city centre is only 5-10 minutes on the tram. I would highly recommend this hotel & would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka

Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.