We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well priced and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka to your Saves list
Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rates Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well priced and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Other reviewers have covered the prison stuff, so I won't bother. Our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was good and the hotel is in an interesting neighbourhood about 10- minutes walk from the harbour. The price was fine also and the staff very helpful. The main complaint I would have is that the prison walls were very effective at stopping the wifi signal, so we had to use our wireless devices in the hallway. In fact, there were regularly several people in the hallway surfing the net, including one teenager who seemed to live there. Oh, and don't rent the hotel bikes unless you are used to bikes with pedal brakes and like riding heavy iron machines that are hard to manouvre. We gave up after 30 minutes and rented proper bikes from the nice store across the street.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    339
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
92
392
68
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Katajanokka. The hotel rooms are clean and modern even though our room could have been a little bit bigger. The breakfast buffet was decent, however, sometimes it took quite a long time for items to be replenished.
The hotel is within walking distance of most of the major sights in Helsinki.
It is an interesting experience to stay at this prison hotel and one that I can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The character of this hotel makes it an interesting place to stay in Helsinki. A former political jail, the hallways keep the feel of a jail. The restaurant is in the basement and it has an atmosphere all of its own. The breakfast buffet is a great.
The hotel location is within walking distance of the Market Square and all the attractions. Helsinki is a very walkable city.
Recommend hotel to anyone looking for an experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The quirky features of the Katajanokka leave its guests in no doubt that the building was a prison until 2007.The mid-building iron staircases could have been the set for HMP Slade, of TV's Porridge fame and the windows in our subterranean room offered views of the sky and tips of nearby rooftops. But it was spacious and comfortable (apart from hard pillows) and very peaceful. We didn't dine at the hotel but if dinner's as good as the breakfast, perhaps we should have done.
The quiet location, on.a peninsula jutting out into the main bay (unfortunately not visible from the hotel), is just a 10 minute stroll to the city, and the tram outside the gates will get you anywhere.
Charming and helpful staff, with immaculate English.
My only complaint is the lack of a lounge/bar area. (There is a pokey little area off reception called as such, but there's no bar and 4 or 5 armchairs!). The absence of a guest seating area was particularly galling when, on a lovely sunny day, guests were denied access to the garden and its bar (the only public areas) because of a private function.
a welcome folder in the room listing services, meal times, etc, wouldn't have gone amiss either. Those niggles aside we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pluses:
Good location if you like the quite places
Very attractive neighborhood
Interesting building – former prison
Efficient and helpful front desk attendants
Great breakfast
Good beds
Very clean room and bathroom
Convenient parking

Minuses:
No A/C
Very bad dinner recommendation given by front desk attendant
Bit distant from the center – about 10 minutes’ walk through very interesting and save neighborhood

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a parking space in advance Double check restaurants recommend by front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. It is architecturally interesting because it is an old prison with some old cells still on display. The staff continue the theme with prison type clothing and the option of tin mugs and plates if you want without out going at all overboard or being tacky.

Front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is an easy walk to town.
Rooms themselves were decorated in a modern and attractive style. Breakfast was good.

Due to the thickness of the walls, which is good for noise control, there was one issue. The Wi Fi is difficult to access in rooms but there is in room cable. Unfortunately for us, the cable is only available for PC's. As my husband and I both use Macs, we had to sit in public areas for internet use which is a definite minus.
Overall though, a very good hotel and a bit different to the run of the mill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel was a former prison and this theme is maintained throughout, form the decor though to the dress of the staff. Excellent service and very helpful staff. Location means that it is very quiet, but still only a 10/15 minute walk from the town centre (tram also runs right outside).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka

Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.