We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect City Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Zürich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect City Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Nicely located and very stylish city hotel in the center of Helsinki. Rooms are nicely furnished with a cool design. Spa from famous KEMP hotel can be used for free. Hotel is located in the center of Helsinki close to many shops and restaurants. Hotel can be recommended for business as well as for personal travel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    441
    104
    29
    8
See reviews for
160
513
144
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I was very impressed with this hotel, particularly with the staff. The quality of service that they offer is superb. Even from before I arrived I emailed the hotel with a query and received a prompt and very informative and courteous response from Cecilia. On arrival, we were delighted to have been upgraded to a deluxe room. It was a very nice room, with beautifully stylish decor, but just a touch on the small side, although it had every facility that one would expect.

Staff were consistently helpful and had an excellent, welcoming and very pleasant manner. Customer service was extremely good. Petri, who checked us in, was very pleasant , helpful and efficient. The head host - whose name I've regrettably forgotten - was excellent; very accommodating. We were taking a three day trip to Tallin in Estonia on checking out of the Hotel Glo but were to return to Helsinki in order to fly back to Heathrow. When we asked if it might be possible for us to return to the Hotel Glo and leave our suitcases there for a few hours while we looked round Helsinki before having to go to the airport, we were told that would be no problem at all - even though we'd checked out of there three days earlier!

I had occasion to complain about the breakfast porridge one morning when it wasn't up to its normal standard because of a staffing problem in the kitchen. A fresh bowl was ordered for me, and the breakfast supervisor was very apologetic and brought over a bowl of chocolate bars to compensate.

This hotel offers a smart car, free of charge (with petrol costs met by the hotel), for guests to borrow to drive around the city. The breakfast is very good (when the porridge is done correctly!), with a wide choice, and cappuchinos or lattes can be ordered at no extra cost. It is centrally situated in a good area on a street lined with classy shops. We had a room overlooking the street but heard no noise at all - and I'm a light sleeper.

We spent four nights there while I attended a conference at the University, which is less than five minutes' walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and it would be my first choice if I were ever to revisit Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I spent a week in Helsinki on business and stayed at the Glo. After seeing the high marks on Trip Advisor, I assumed that it would be out of my price range. However, I got a great deal on booking.com. The hotel is in a fabulous location just north of the Esplanadi, and the wonderful Karl Fazer cafe is just outside the door. The decor is great, though the hotel gives the impression of trying a bit too hard on the coolness front. My room and bathroom were very comfortable and well laid-out. I could hear the trams outside my window when awake but had no difficulty sleeping. Breakfast was included and excellent, with cereals, breads, meats, cheeses and beautiful smoked salmon to suit any Western appetite. A fruit salad that varied from day to day would have been appreciated, as would larger "to go" coffee cups. More frequent opening hours for the lobby Bar Glo would have been useful as well. Overall, I found the hotel to be excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

as title suggests, all was good with this hotel from check-in to check-out. breakfast could have been slightly better, with maybe more hot options but perhaps that's being picky. my missus liked the fact that the toilet was separate from the shower/bathroom. strangely, the bar appeared to be closed on the sunday evening, when we were leaving.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Quite a good hotel, clean, conveniently located, with helpful staff. A bit expensive for the room sizes it offers, but one can get good deals on internet

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

My room in the Hotel Glo was very comfortable, and the hotel is in a great central location. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious, and I enjoyed using the fitness room in the spa on the top floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Spent two nights at Hotel Glo at the end of August and it exceeded our expectations. Room design--amazing; front desk--most helpful; buffet breakfast--plentiful and delicious. Hotel features very nice, cool, bar and outdoor seating, perfect on a nice day. Spa with saunas was nice enough but if you have any down time, spending it in your room is even better! Our very spacious room, with many large windows, overlooked a relatively quiet pedestrian street and came with bathrobes, slippers, flat-screen TV, and option of other comforts such as different types of pillows, even a back/foot massager, available upon request. Be sure also to take advantage of: Dinner discounts offered by the hotel at nearby excellent restaurants (spend 40 euros and get 60 euros worth of food/drinks); free Internet/Wifi, free bicycle use, and even free use of a car. We wished we had more days in Helsinki to do all of this. Room rates are high, but if you are planning your trip in advance as we did, you might be able to get a great deal. Highly recommend. One of the best--and most comfortable--hotels we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#10 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Hotel Haven
#5 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.