We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Save Saved
You added Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I had read the most recent reviews before booking the hotel and was more than pleased to find that it was the comfortable, trendy, inviting place described! The rate was reasonable and breakfast was included. Some had commented that the breakfast and service was not good in recent weeks, but we found the contrary. In comparison to many of the other hotels we stayed at on this trip, it was slightly better. The rooms were large and comfortable. We were happy with the free wi-fi and the english tv channel selection. The lobby bar was also a fun place to hang out and have a drink. And, right across the street, the greatest sweets/coffees and small bites place - Karl Fazer. Hotel was within walking distance to all the city sites. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    367
    84
    24
    7
See reviews for
132
435
131
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elkins, WV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect location in "downtown" Helsinki. Hotel GLO is within easy walking distance of multiple major landmarks. Charming neighborhood with great shopping and dining steps away from the front door. Staff was friendly and service was great. Clean, comfortable rooms were a welcome haven. Breakfast buffet was amazing and an excellent way to start each day of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the harbour, marina and shops. I had a large clean modern room with a sizeable bathroom, a flat screen tv, movie and internet access. Reception staff were efficient and friendly. Nice buffet breakfasts. Only criticism is that the hotel restaurant is a pizzeria in the evening and I received appalling service here, eventually walking out, still hungry, after over an hour of waiting for any food to arrive. Other than that, a great choice for a stay in Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel is located near everything and the rooms are very comfortable - we were upgraded to a superior room which was terrific. The price is excellent for Helsinki - breakfast is included and very nice. Staff is quite helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Stayed here for 3 ights from from 4-7 Sep 09. Staff were friendly, we gt upgraded to a suite which was a very very nice room. Locations is perfect in town, close to shops, sights, tourist infomation, transport (5mins walk to Central Train Terminal) and bars and restaurants. I can't recommend this place enough. Got a great rate with Octopus travel at £80, so can't beat it really at that price!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

In the hotel bar as I write this.

Location is fantastic. In the heart of it. Bars and restaurant at your doorstep!

Services / Amenities. Not much here. Small lobby that integrates with bar. TV in room has a quite a few channels but takes 5 seconds before you see what is on the next channel! Wanted to use the much talked about spa for the steam and sauna room but is not included if you have a standard room. You have to pay an extra €10 per day per person to use this facility.

Got a room with just a shower. I asked if I could get a room with a batch tub as soon as I got to my roo but was told the hotel was fully booked. I was asked at check in if I was on my own. I am sure if I said my wife was joining me I would have got a larger room with a bath tub.

The service from the guy at the bar is fantastic though! Service from other staff far from great. Reception could not even give me change of €50. Looked at me as if it was a strange request.

If you want a nice room and great location and are not too bother with the level of service and facilities this is a great hotel for you. I will be back at Hilton Strand next time if the rate is reasonable as my Gold Hilton card gets my into exec lounge where the service is fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We spent two nights in hotel Glo and it is a first class hotel in a great location - convenient to all amenties.
Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful
Rooms were spacious and well presented with fbathrobes and slippers etc and free wireless internet
Breakfast was very good with a wide choice

Helsinki is a beautiful city and if I ever return I would certainly not hesitate in staying at Hotel Glo again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.