We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

* Excellent location, right in the centre of Helsinki
* 30mins from the airport by Taxi
* Room was a generous size for the price, very modern and sleek
* Bed was comfortable and the I liked the open plan bathroom/sink facilities.
* Staff were very friendly and seem to speak a number of languages, as a lazy Englishman, their English was perfect (this seems to be the case throughout Helsinki).
* Would definitely recommend.

* On a separate note, if you're there on the first Friday of the month, head east to where the market and boat trips are and there will be an American muscle car rally. Lots of fun

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    454
    106
    30
    8
See reviews for
167
521
147
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at GLO. We booked a standard room but it was very spacious so I don't know if all standard rooms are that size or if they gave us an upgrade. It was super comfortable and had very quiet but efficient aircon which was necessary as the weather was hot. It was possible to turn off the aircon as well which was good. A fridge, mini safe, very comfortable bed, great bathroom, huge TV. The hotel was so quiet, I didn't hear any noise at all, so slept really well. It's in a very good location and the staff were so helpful and kind. They gladly answered any questions and told us exactly where we could book tickets and catch a bus to Porvoo (a really charming town about an hour from Helsinki, well worth a visit). We loved Helsinki, such a cool city and so much to do. Would definitely return to the city and would choose this hotel again. Everyone we met were so friendly and we had two amazing meals, one in the harbour, don't know the name, the other at a place called Boulevard Social. Thanks very much to Hotel GLO and Helsinki for a lovely trip.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel is at a great location to downtown, tons of restaurants, and nightlife. It's pretty modern with a small little bar and outside patio. The rooms were tiny, but so are most in Helsinki. Our room was a bit dark as the windows were small and well above our heads, which caused very little natural light to fall inside the building. A small incident occurred where some of our party got stock in an service area accessible only by a service elevator and had to wait for an hour to be "rescued", the staff was helpful to retrieve our friends, but it should be impossible/locked for guests even to end up in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Kaikkonen, Johtaja at GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Marcel B,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your comments especially! It is quite nice to hear the positive note on your feedback despite the inconveniences describet. As you said, no one should be able to get in the elevator/area unless authorized and this is something our maintenance is working on as we speak.Apologies to you and your fellow travelers for this unexpected odyssey and for any inconvenience caused.

I am looking forward to seeing you back at our property one day!

Kind Regards,

Perttu Kykkänen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed one night in this hotel. It was a beautifully decorated reception area. Rooms were good, shower wonderful. About a 15 minute walk to town. There are local markets nearby on the water front where both locals and tourists go for lunch.
I had the best salmon I have ever tasted. It was not expensive and for dessert I had berries. They sell all sorts of fresh produce at a reasonable price.
Free public bathrooms can be located in the council building and there is some interesting art to see in the building.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Kluuvi offers an excellent location in central Helsinki, and at a much better price than it more old-school neighbor the Kämp. Rooms are nice and clean, though rather simple. A very nice feature is the great gym which is actually shared with Kämp, here you can find kettle bells, weights, technogym machines and cardio options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a very large corner room. The room was very nice--large area for the bed and then small seating area. The toilet was separate from the shower which i liked. Not sure if all rooms are the set up like this. The flooring was nice and clean looking. We were traveling with our small child and they gave us an excellent crib. The breakfast was delicious and much more than a continental breakfast. i would highly recommend having cocktails at the hotel bar. They were great and handcrafted. Location was perfect and close to everything. Only comment would be that the building itself is a bit strange. Our room overlooked the room basically.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stopped three nights in the hotel GLO Kluuvi Helsinki in a "large" room.The hotel room was indeed large, very well appointed, clean,quiet and comfortable.The location of this hotels right in the middle of Helsinki with easy access to everything.The breakfast room is a little small and crowded,but the breakfast was fine.
Overall a very good hotel with friendly efficient staff.

Room Tip: A "large" room very good with a full size bath and separate toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#13 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#10 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.