We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi to your Saves list
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at GLO. We booked a standard room but it was very spacious so I don't know if all standard rooms are that size or if they gave us an upgrade. It was super comfortable and had very quiet but efficient aircon which was necessary as the weather was hot. It was possible to turn off the aircon as well which was good. A fridge, mini safe, very comfortable bed, great bathroom, huge TV. The hotel was so quiet, I didn't hear any noise at all, so slept really well. It's in a very good location and the staff were so helpful and kind. They gladly answered any questions and told us exactly where we could book tickets and catch a bus to Porvoo (a really charming town about an hour from Helsinki, well worth a visit). We loved Helsinki, such a cool city and so much to do. Would definitely return to the city and would choose this hotel again. Everyone we met were so friendly and we had two amazing meals, one in the harbour, don't know the name, the other at a place called Boulevard Social. Thanks very much to Hotel GLO and Helsinki for a lovely trip.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    395
    92
    28
    8
See reviews for
141
464
135
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel is at a great location to downtown, tons of restaurants, and nightlife. It's pretty modern with a small little bar and outside patio. The rooms were tiny, but so are most in Helsinki. Our room was a bit dark as the windows were small and well above our heads, which caused very little natural light to fall inside the building. A small incident occurred where some of our party got stock in an service area accessible only by a service elevator and had to wait for an hour to be "rescued", the staff was helpful to retrieve our friends, but it should be impossible/locked for guests even to end up in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Kaikkonen, Johtaja at Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Marcel B,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your comments especially! It is quite nice to hear the positive note on your feedback despite the inconveniences describet. As you said, no one should be able to get in the elevator/area unless authorized and this is something our maintenance is working on as we speak.Apologies to you and your fellow travelers for this unexpected odyssey and for any inconvenience caused.

I am looking forward to seeing you back at our property one day!

Kind Regards,

Perttu Kykkänen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed one night in this hotel. It was a beautifully decorated reception area. Rooms were good, shower wonderful. About a 15 minute walk to town. There are local markets nearby on the water front where both locals and tourists go for lunch.
I had the best salmon I have ever tasted. It was not expensive and for dessert I had berries. They sell all sorts of fresh produce at a reasonable price.
Free public bathrooms can be located in the council building and there is some interesting art to see in the building.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Kluuvi offers an excellent location in central Helsinki, and at a much better price than it more old-school neighbor the Kämp. Rooms are nice and clean, though rather simple. A very nice feature is the great gym which is actually shared with Kämp, here you can find kettle bells, weights, technogym machines and cardio options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a very large corner room. The room was very nice--large area for the bed and then small seating area. The toilet was separate from the shower which i liked. Not sure if all rooms are the set up like this. The flooring was nice and clean looking. We were traveling with our small child and they gave us an excellent crib. The breakfast was delicious and much more than a continental breakfast. i would highly recommend having cocktails at the hotel bar. They were great and handcrafted. Location was perfect and close to everything. Only comment would be that the building itself is a bit strange. Our room overlooked the room basically.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stopped three nights in the hotel GLO Kluuvi Helsinki in a "large" room.The hotel room was indeed large, very well appointed, clean,quiet and comfortable.The location of this hotels right in the middle of Helsinki with easy access to everything.The breakfast room is a little small and crowded,but the breakfast was fine.
Overall a very good hotel with friendly efficient staff.

Room Tip: A "large" room very good with a full size bath and separate toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of the action. We really liked the location. Somehow, we managed to book an upgraded room which we didn't realize until arrival and it turned out to be really large, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and staff were helpful and friendly. Definitely recommended and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.