We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Save Saved
You added Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Modern rooms in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently stayed for two nights in this hotel and was very pleased with it.

First of all, the location is excellent. It's right in the middle of the old city centre, surrounded by nice bars, restaurants and shops. We could walk anywhere and never had to take a cab (except to go the airport of course).

Moreover, I really liked the design of the hotel and the rooms, it is very modern, yet very warm as well. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower had excellent pressure and the room was very clean. I couldn't have asked for more.

For me, the free wifi was fast enough to get work done.

Breakfast was good, although a little crowded at times. I liked the fact that there were typical finnish items on the menu such as herring.

I would definitely stay here again if I would come back to Helsinki.

Room Tip: The rooms giving out on the pedestrian street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Alanake,

Great to read about your enjoyable stay! We are extremely glad that you found our rooms design beautiful and had a proper rest while enjoying the town.
Greetings from our team and welcome again to GLO and Helsinki!

Best Regards,
Enni Viuhkonen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    346
    82
    24
    7
See reviews for
122
419
127
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A splendid hotel with clean new modern rooms, great service, and a perfect location to be able to walk to all the main attractions. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and the main shopping area in the surrounding area. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a perfect location. The rooms are big and very modern.

The breakfast were OK and was the only part of the hotel were there were room for improvement.

Would recommend this to anyone staying in Helsinki!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel whenever in Helsinki (about 4/5 times a year). The recent changes are an extreme disappointment and will mean I will have to look elsewhere now. The changes I refer to are as follows.
Internet - free internet is slow speed (256kb) no use for Skype etc. it used to be fast and free, now you have to pay eur 9.99 a day for fast internet.
Room size - they have introduced a new room type which isn't a room. It is a space for a large bed and that's about it. It is advertised as having a large bed and it does have that (king size at least). I am currently in room 447 in case you wonder. They have basically taken one large room and converted this to to tiny rooms in the recent refurb.
Front desk - extremely friendly at check in but when confronted with the above issues they are not very accommodating to customer feedback.

All in all a shame, it was a great hotel and ranked highly for Helsinki,in can see the ranking has already decreased to 8th, I can see why and it will only get worse unless the changes that were introduced mid 2013 are reversed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sebdee,

Many thanks for review about our property. We are deeply sorry that you felt disappointed about our recent changes in the hotel. We value your comments and will take them into account when developing our products in the future.
The room you´ve stayed in is categorized as a Small double room. The Small doubles have queen size (160 cm wide) beds. You are right about the room itself; Smalls have compact 13 square-meter space designed for resting while enjoying our magnificent capital both in business and pleasure.
We truly hope that in the future we could convince you to return to our property and enjoy again the atmosphere of GLO.

With Best,
Enni Viuhkonen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ylöjärvi, Western Finland, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel offers good location and a nice modern interior. The breakfast is typical Finnish hotel bkfst, so nothing too special. As our stay was a short one we did not dien in the hotel. Also we did not have time to test the spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel Glo is a great hotel with a superb, convenient location for anything you'll need in Helsinki. We spent 3 nights here September 11-14.

With one exception, the front desk people were great and eager to please.

Hotel Glo is a business driven hotel with many frequently returning business travelers we met, offers the appropriate business hotel conveniences, is freshly remodeled with well appointed rooms, and extremely clean.
Definitely deserves a 5 Star Trip Advisor Rating.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night in July. As others have said the best thing about the hotel is the location and whilst its on a pedestrianised street, taxis are allowed to pick up and drop off directly outside. The hotel had assembled a cotbed in our room which was great as we requested this however at breakfast they only seemed to have one highchair and this was used. Somewhat ruined our stay having to feed our baby without one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.