We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, excellent location downtown Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Save Saved
You added Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Stylish, excellent location downtown Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was my second time at the Glo Hotel Kluuvi in downtown Helsinki. The first time had been a spectacular surprise, since I was upgraded to a very spacious double bed suite with a large shower and bathtub, water kettle, coffee, chocolate and tea as beverages, Glo slippers, Glo ceramic coffee mugs and a bathrobe.
This second time around I was put up in a much smaller room, and - unfortunately - the kettle was gone, so I was a bit disappointed. However, the service was excellent, and the double bed superb, with hydraulic control for raising the head, the back or the feet. Best bed I stayed in on any of my business trips! The rooms feature Finnish design - warm, dark colors and very clean bathroom with a large jungle shower head and a lot of space in the shower (sometimes the showers are very small and slippery, as opposed to this one), hairdryer, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV with a large selection of channels (only ZDF for German TV). The slow internet connection is for free, but provided some problems in connecting. My impression was that I could only access the Internet late in the evening, when others were not using it. High-speed internet connection was quite expensive per day (I think around € 9,00, if I am not mistaken, per day which is quite expensive for Helsinki, where most public places have free WLAN).

The service was very good, and the breakfast with a lot of variety, also vegetables, salad, fresh Danish, dark and light bread, homemade jam, yoghurt etc. only the scrambled eggs were a bit on the pale and bland side, as was the bacon which lacked crispyness.
The largest asset, however, is the location itself at the very center of Helsinki - adjacent to one of several shopping malls, opposite of the traditional Cafe Fazer, only two blocks from the Helsinki Hard Rock Cafe, the National Art Gallery, and just around the corner of the main university building. From the main train station (where also the Finn Air Transfer Buses stop and depart) it is only a 10 minute walk to the hotel. Very convenient, good service, and an excellent bed to rest your body after an exhausting business day. (A spa and a gym are also located in the same building, however, I had no spare time to check them out. However, next time I will! I can definitely recommend the Glo Kluuvi Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a hydraulic bed with remote control, and towards the side facing "Fazer Cafe" sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    362
    84
    24
    7
See reviews for
132
433
131
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in Sep 2013. The location is prefect for exploring all the sights in downtown Helsinki. I walked about 15 mins from the bus station to the hotel on the 1st day with my big hardcase luggage and it was not a problem. By the time I get familiar with the route it was less than 10 mins walk back to the bus station on the day i need to get to the airport bus. The rooms are modern and size is ok for European hotels. The breakfast which was inclusive is pretty basic but is good enough to last me till lunch. Coffee was lousy and service at breakfast was non-existence. I am fine with this as this means i chose my own unocuppied table n get the staff to clean up for me. My main complain is having to pay 5 euro a day for the use of an electric kettle which is only available for free in the more expensive rooms. However this 5 euro includes packets of tea, instant coffee n cocoa which I dont really need :( wifi is free n quite strong. There is free wifi coverage in most parts of helsinki city centre - cool!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

i have stayed here half a dozen times when in Helsinki on business. The location is very convenient and the hotel is comfortable. The big draw for me is the restaurant - whilst the ambience is not the best, the food is outstanding and the staff helpful. Plus they serve quite late - ideal if you are on a late flight in

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Glo Kluuvi. We were three ladies who like a triple room and some hotel bedrooms are really not triple size but our triple room in this hotel was ideal. Separate WC to shower area which is also a plus. Would defo recommend this hotel and if ever in Helsinki again will stay here without hesitation. Negative, hot breakfast not hot. But cereals, cheeses, meats, breads etc all plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice. First time on holiday in Dec 2012 then for business in Sep 2013. The room was very small the second time so it could be worth paying for some more space if you intend to actually spend any time in the hotel (or if you want the comfy robe and slippers). Breakfast is good and rooms very clean and modern. The location is spot on, you can walk anywhere from here and it is still in a quiet street! Would stay here again but next time try to avoid the small rooms as it was quite claustrophobic and my colleague had the same experience. Can also recommend the Asian restaurant a couple of doors down called YUME.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Sackingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not too positive welcome from the front desk upon arrival, only upside I can say is Location.

Hotel is worn. Paint Peeling on trim in room, cabinet dislodged from the wall, sticky stains on the floor next to the bed, and stains on the pillow. See pics attached.

If that is not bad enough every morning at breakfast which featured stale cereal among the choices there were bowls with dried Food particles in them and dirty spoons after dirty spoons for eating your bland Porridge or stale cereal as mentioned before. The silver spoons are Iitalla design but no excuse when you have to go through 4 or 5 of them everday to find a clean one to stir your bland coffee. And when informing the staff they simply reply OK and take them from you and put into dishwasher.

Walking in and out on this 6 day stay I was rarely if ever greeted by the front desk staff.

the mattress on the bed was so worn that I had to sleep with head at the foot of the bed otherwise you would be sleeping at a 15 degree angle and Feeling like you falling to the head of the bed all night. The mattress was too soft and lumpy foam.

I have lived in Finland more than 10 years and now travel back often for Business. This is not acceptable for what should be a Quality Hotel. I will find another place to stay on future trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear milexz_11,

Thank you for your review and your comments about our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you went through during your stay with us. To make sure all the mentioned issues will be handled correctly, your review will be taken into discussion with our managers and staff in all involved departments.

With Best Regards,
Enni Viuhkonen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is well located, close to most things. It took us about 15 minutes flat walk with luggage from the Finnair bus stop or railway station and a bit further to the bus station under Kampii. Its easy walking down to the harbour as well.

Check in was fast, efficient, friendly and all our questions were answered. An offer of restaurant recommendations and also reservations should we need them as well, together with a map.

There are 3 elevators.

We were allocated room 804. The room was cosy (instead of small since this trip we also stayed at Glo Art), with a shower room and separate toilet and hand basin. There is a separate shower cubicle and a hand basin and toilet grouped together.The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. There is not much room for 2 people and their luggage.
The free wifi was fast enough for our iPad and laptop. Also a safe, iron and board is provided.
We overlooked the internal courtyard, so our room was very quiet. The window could not be opened.

On one morning we had breakfast in the area downstairs. We thought it generous, with good quality food offered. The cost was €18 per person. A fairly basic univiting breakfast room though.

This hotel represents good value for money in expensive Helsinki and is well located.

Next time, we would probably chose a bigger room as the standard rooms are too small for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.