We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious and modern rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Save Saved
You added Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious and modern rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I picked this hotel because of the easy walking distance to the core of Helsinki, and the reasonable (for Helsinki) prices. The hotel is on a pedestrian mall with no vehicle traffic.
I stayed in room with a king size bed on the fourth floor. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom (with only a shower) was roomy and had copious hot water, there was plenty of closet space, a safe, a desk, and a sitting area with TV. Everything was pretty new and nicely designed. 256 kbps internet is free, but you can get 2 Mbps for only 3 euros per day. An unexciting basic breakfast was included (continental bf + scrambled eggs).
It's a block's walk from the public parking garage to the hotel, but I think you can pull up to the front door at certain hours. Parking is expensive, but you can get a slight discount by buying a ticket from the hotel.
The exercise room and spa are shared with the Hotel Kämp next door. The exercise room is modern and better than average, with the usual cardio machines, plus free weights, a Smith machine, and a few specific machines, exercise balls, etc. The spa is full service and pretty luxurious: I used the sauna, and got a massage. Use of the exercise room and locker room is included in the price, but unfortunately the sauna is not.
There is a well-stocked bar on premises. I didn't have lunch or dinner in the restaurant, with so many other great places within walking distance.
The only downsides were the view from the room window (basically an air shaft), the lack of washcloths (ah, Finland!), the cheap closets (formica and pressboard with a curtain), and the somewhat dingy hallways. But in the end, I got a good deal on a stylish, well-equipped hotel in the middle of the city.

Room Tip: The street has no traffic, so all of the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    348
    82
    24
    7
See reviews for
123
420
127
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed just the one night. Room comfortable, clean and in a pleasing, functional style. Bed was super comfy!
Bar area nice and the bar staff know what they are talking about.
Service friendly and breakfast was good.
Did not eat in the restaurant as this is closed Monday pm.
A good choice (but, must admit the 5euros for a small bottle of still water from the mini bar was a bit excessive!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent three nights in GLO Kluuvi. Found a great offer during browsing on the homepage of the hotel: 3 nights 30 % off. So spent 90€ without parking per night. Thats almost unbeatable for a hotel in Helsinki of this quality and location. You can walk everywhere by foot.

Very nice interiour, very small room, but I like that comfortable. Beds are good. Very comfortable blankets. Kettle and Teabags in the room. Stylish bathromm, as everywhere, finnish folks love to set their bathroom under water while taking a shower. Slow connection wlan for free. SPA in the hotel but costs 25€, with a treatment befor or after it's free.

Some minusses:
Cleanness good but- some stains of cleaning solution on the metallic parts on the floor, some stains at the glass wall of the bathroom, the mirror and some limescale. Not cleaned tray of the kettle with some fatty spots. Well, not that bad, but fact.

Breakfast good, but - as in other Hotels too terrible scrambled eggs (laktoosefree milk or cream?) tastes sweet and rather royale than scrambled. Slightly overcharged service on Saturday and sunday morning. First no eggs, than rare, tables are cleared away just after asking for that.... but a little bit tributed I think to the finnish kind of service understanding.

Now thats it, like that hotel recommend it. Look for some special offers onine

Room Tip: 719 - high level, low traffic noise from the tram, little bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night last summer after hearing all the hype about this new and modern-style hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Our room was only a standard, but it was very spacious, with a big bathroom and walk-in shower, a little 'living room' area with a settee, television and coffee table, plus then the 'bedroom' with one of the biggest and comfiest beds I have slept in!

With regards to the location, it couldn't get any better being right along of one of Helsinki's busiest streets, with lots of nice bars, shops and restaurants very close by. We also enjoyed the complimentary tea and Fazer hot chocolate provided in the room while winding down after a busy day out and about town. The breakfast is a buffet-style continental breakfast, which we found was pretty average but the breakfast room was rather nice to sit around in and enjoy some people-watching if you manage to get a spot by the window (and assuming you manage to get out of those super-comfy beds with enough time before check-out as well!)

The only downside was that there wasn't much of a view from our room window, which was facing the walls and windows of the rest of the hotel building... So we kept our blinds closed in the room which didn't matter too much seeing as we only stayed for the one night, but might have gotten a bit claustrophobic had we stayed for longer... The sauna/spa was also not included in the price but cost extra, which was a slight disappointment.

Overall however, have to say that we were impressed, especially with it being only a four-star hotel, it lived up to our expectations and was comparable, if not even nicer to many 5-star hotels! Definitely one to be recommended for anyone planning a visit to Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have been staying here every summer for years. We always took the corner suite. It seems that they no longer have the suite. (They have been renovated into smaller rooms. So we took two rooms across from each other). They were alright but cramped. but perhaps that's because I am used to the previous room/ suite we used to stay in. The bathroom was disappointing. Breakfast was nothing spectacular. It seems like the food selection has been greatly pared down. Again, I liked the old set up on the second floor much better. The plus factor for this hotel is really the location. I also stayed at Glo Art last march. They had the suite and parking facility but prefer the other area more.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recently spent five nights on two separate stints at the Glo Hotel Kluuvi. The single rooms were very comfortable and nicely furnished with wall-mounted tv's, working desks, chairs, wardrobes, and nice bathrooms with rain shower. The tv had stations in several languages--English, French, German, Finnish, etc. One of the wardrobes had a safe, mini-bar, and hot water perk with tea, coffee, and Fazer hot chocolate. The bed was really comfortable, although it only had a heavy comforter and no sheet, which I take it is the norm in cold Finland--same as all the other hotels anyway. Internet is not free, but very reasonable at 1.99 euros per day. Actually I think they did have a free option which limited the megabytes for download/upload. Anyway, wifi worked well and you only had to pay once for multiple devices (ipad, laptop, phone, etc.). The hotel breakfast was good, including eggs, meats, cereals, fresh rolls and croissants, etc. The hotel breakfast area and bar use Marimekko cups and plates fitting with Helsinki's design theme--very nice. Breakfast was included in our group's hotel rate, and I stayed a few nights on my own dime, and was able to find a breakfast-included rate as well. Rates at this hotel seem to vary quite widely based on site used, from around 120-180 euros per night inclusive of tax. Glo's own site seemed to be the most expensive compared to say, Olotels, so you might want to shop around a bit. They accepted my Olotel voucher, saving me about 100 euros. I think this hotel had a spa and maybe a pool, but I never used the facilities--I saw some people wearing robes in the elevator anyway. The hotel is very well situated within walking distance of the central train station and two or three tram lines which go all over the city. You can also easily walk to the main shopping promenade and the main open air market, as well as the popular cathedral area. We walked to dozens of design shops within just 4-6 blocks of the hotel. On the same block as the hotel are a couple of really good restaurants and the popular Fazer cafe with its famous desserts and chocolates. Can't beat the location of this hotel. The hotel staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful at all times, and spoke English better than most Americans I know! ha They took the time to circle various things on maps, set wake up calls, phoned taxis, and processed check-in's and departures efficiently. Easy to tell this is a well managed property--very sharp staff. No major complaints--all around nice hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been staying at GLO Kluvi since it opened and I have found it a very friendly place to stay in the best location in Helsinki.

The hotel has design furniture in the rooms, the new WiFi is rather excellent and a significant upgrade on the previous WiFi...For business travelers they have 10 MB WiFi for a fee.

The hotel recently shifted the restaurant to the lobby, I think the hotel and the staff are great they just need to get the restaurant and bar right to make this work for us as guests.

I will stay at GLO on my next trip it's my home in Helsinki.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.