We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi to your Saves list
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Central Location, Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recently spent five nights on two separate stints at the Glo Hotel Kluuvi. The single rooms were very comfortable and nicely furnished with wall-mounted tv's, working desks, chairs, wardrobes, and nice bathrooms with rain shower. The tv had stations in several languages--English, French, German, Finnish, etc. One of the wardrobes had a safe, mini-bar, and hot water perk with tea, coffee, and Fazer hot chocolate. The bed was really comfortable, although it only had a heavy comforter and no sheet, which I take it is the norm in cold Finland--same as all the other hotels anyway. Internet is not free, but very reasonable at 1.99 euros per day. Actually I think they did have a free option which limited the megabytes for download/upload. Anyway, wifi worked well and you only had to pay once for multiple devices (ipad, laptop, phone, etc.). The hotel breakfast was good, including eggs, meats, cereals, fresh rolls and croissants, etc. The hotel breakfast area and bar use Marimekko cups and plates fitting with Helsinki's design theme--very nice. Breakfast was included in our group's hotel rate, and I stayed a few nights on my own dime, and was able to find a breakfast-included rate as well. Rates at this hotel seem to vary quite widely based on site used, from around 120-180 euros per night inclusive of tax. Glo's own site seemed to be the most expensive compared to say, Olotels, so you might want to shop around a bit. They accepted my Olotel voucher, saving me about 100 euros. I think this hotel had a spa and maybe a pool, but I never used the facilities--I saw some people wearing robes in the elevator anyway. The hotel is very well situated within walking distance of the central train station and two or three tram lines which go all over the city. You can also easily walk to the main shopping promenade and the main open air market, as well as the popular cathedral area. We walked to dozens of design shops within just 4-6 blocks of the hotel. On the same block as the hotel are a couple of really good restaurants and the popular Fazer cafe with its famous desserts and chocolates. Can't beat the location of this hotel. The hotel staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful at all times, and spoke English better than most Americans I know! ha They took the time to circle various things on maps, set wake up calls, phoned taxis, and processed check-in's and departures efficiently. Easy to tell this is a well managed property--very sharp staff. No major complaints--all around nice hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    412
    96
    28
    8
See reviews for
148
483
136
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been staying at GLO Kluvi since it opened and I have found it a very friendly place to stay in the best location in Helsinki.

The hotel has design furniture in the rooms, the new WiFi is rather excellent and a significant upgrade on the previous WiFi...For business travelers they have 10 MB WiFi for a fee.

The hotel recently shifted the restaurant to the lobby, I think the hotel and the staff are great they just need to get the restaurant and bar right to make this work for us as guests.

I will stay at GLO on my next trip it's my home in Helsinki.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Spotless, sizeable rooms, nice food, good service and a great location. I regularly stay for business and always stay here. Wifi upgrade is worthwhile. Some of the rooms are bigger than others so worth asking for a nice one. Full marks all round.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights - great location - close to everything and food for dinner was possibly the best I have eaten - very imaginative and mostly organic and cooked/prepared on site - apple butter in a tube to die for! Warm bread served on hot stones - I will certainly stay again if back in Helsinki! Service first class - very impressed overall!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I book a single and got a nice room very well furnished.
The breakfast was really good and with different kind of foods.
The only "strange" thing was the extra price for the Sauna €.25 well a little bit high for a kind of national Finnish tradition!
I'll retourn there for sure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICOSIA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Glo Kluuvi is located in the center of the City very near to almost everything. Shops, muzeums, harbour, points of inerest are all within walking distance. Very good rooms, clean, spacious, and well equipped. Good breakfast, good reastaurant and very good espresso very rare outside Italy and very important to me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We like to book this particular hotel while travelling to Helsinki.
Very nice location in the very center of the city, close to different places of interest and main shopping area. The well-known Fazer cafe is located in the opposite house.
Breakfast is quite nice, the restaurant is not overcrowded, you can always find the place to sit.
Besides, if you are travelling by car it's more cheap to book a parking space through the hotel, than to pay an average price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.