We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive suite is fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Save Saved
You added Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Executive suite is fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I read reviews on the Kamp hotel and everyone preferred the Glo so I booked two nights at the Glo in a Junior Suite. the price of which is very reasonable in comparison to the Kamp. When we arrived our room was not ready so we got an upgrade to the Executive Suite (Gloria). What a FANTASTIC room! 100m2! I had reserved a Love package as we were on our honeymoon. This was only EUR30 per day and for that price we could enjoy a wonderful breakfast in our room, bubbles in the afternoon and a late check out. The spa is also inclluded and all rooms on the 8th floor have free access so you can just pop your bathroom on in your room and head nextdoor for some relaxation. Spa is closed on sunday which is disappointing. We really made the most of our two days at the Glo!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    355
    83
    25
    7
See reviews for
126
427
128
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed for two nights at Hotel GLO Kluuvi. Upon checkin, I was upgraded without even needing to ask to a deluxe spa class room. This gave me free access to the sauna. The room was spotless and one of the largest rooms I've had anywhere in Europe.

My biggest complaint about hotels is that there is never an electrical outlet in the bathroom. There were at least 3 outlets in the bathroom.

The hotel is steps away from the promenade and within easy walking distance of Senate Square, the harbor, and the old market house.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Excellent location, in the heart of the city center. Very good value for what is on offer. Breakfast was good, but I've had better. The room was modern, not very big but OK I guess. I will gladly stay again here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my wife and son (1½ yrs), and we were very pleased with the hotel. We were a bit disappointed not to be able to check in when we arrived at 1pm, but ok, official check in is at 2pm, which is quite generous in comparison to many other hotels.

We had booked a larger room (think it was called deluxe room), in order for there to be a bit more space when we were three people to bit fit into the room. That was a good choice, we had a separate section for me and my wife and my son could sleep in a crib in a somewhat secluded corner. That was a good thing, so we were able to watch tv after my son went to bed. Everything in the room seemed brand new, and the decor was in general very nice. Only negative was the lack of a door between the bathroom and the main room. That was a bit annoying and a bit too contemporary for my taste.

The hotel staff was kind enough to get us a DVD player so we had a toddler pacifier in the room ;) A nice touch, although acitivities for children and in scarce supply at this hotel to say the least.

As other reviewers have noted, breakfast is not too impressive. The variety of options and the quality of the food should be improved - this is an easy task. I get more and more annoyed about hotels taking the easy way out of something that was already easy when done right - scarmbled eggs for instance. I don't like the fact that hotels are never able to make them taste even half as good as when you do them yourselves. Make an effort. Anyways, that must be considered an aside.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anybody, especially for the location and also for the reasonably good value compared to quality.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and pick a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Glo Kluuvi Hotel in Helsinki is one hotel that deserves to be labelled a ‘boutique’ hotel.
The word ‘Boutique’ is a becoming a sweeping statement for hotels that attempt to minimise expense by becoming minimal, not for aesthetic reasons but more for economic. They can hide old veneers by splashing around brightly coloured paint to disguise what they actually lack in amenities and service.
The Glo is none of these. From the friendly and attentive staff to the well appointed, spacious, stylish rooms, the Glo stands out in a class of its own.
Not to be missed when in Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Rooms are fantastic, very modern and well equipped with many optional (free) extras. Always clean although sometimes maid service forgot the small details. Breakfast was average, not quite befitting the cost with small choice. Reception staff either brusk or rude as opposed to the warm welcome you would expect. A small gripe however.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel with large, clean, comfortable rooms in the heart of the city. The decor is Scandinavian modern with whimsical touches - like the stuffed tiger on the bed. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful, even when I checked in at midnight. Breakfast buffet was small but with plenty of the usual choices. This is a hotel not to be missed for comfort, location and value in Helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.