We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good upper middle class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Save Saved
You added Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good upper middle class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

to begin with: a pleasant stay - i stayed for 5 nights, and had a deluxe room.
location is perfect - in walking distance from the train station and the airport link, as well as from all the good sights, shopping areas and restaurants. this was the main reason for my choice.
the reception staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was flawless, although with some slightly unpractical design details that i found are quite common in hotels (i look at this from the point of view of an architect): no stool or chair in the bathroom, no space or holder to let the towels dry (yes, i want to let them dry, and not get a new towel every day...) - but these are minor details. besides that, very spicy room, nice lighting, and a huge wardrobe!
unfortunately the air condition wasn t heating up enough, they said they can t fix it quickly and gave me an additional heater, which was - ...ok. i expected that they solved the problem during my stay, but... anyway.
breakfast is great, a good buffet selection. didn t try the restaurant/bar though.

Room Tip: street view is better in my opinion - the courtyard may be quiet, but nothing great to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    610
    362
    86
    26
    9
See reviews for
122
418
127
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here three times with work. Great rooms, very modern and spacious. Great location and rooms facing the middle courtyard, are amazingly quiet given the city centre location. Very comfy beds and quiet so slept perfectly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa,Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Excellent reception. We have lost our suitcases on the plane and we arrived late. The hotel was quite full. At the check-in the receptionist gave us a nice upgrade for a suite to compensate for our misfortune. The suite was awsome . The finish sauna is also excellent.Highly recommended if you can afford it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My colleagues and I were thoroughly impressed with this hotel. We were on the last night of a weekend business trip across Scandinavia and this was by far the best hotel we stayed at.

Upon arrival we were told that we were being upgraded to Deluxe rooms (for no apparent reason) which really made our day as we were truly tired. We would have been happy with the standard rooms we'd originally booked, but we love a hotel that suprises you occasionally with an upgrade as it really is a treat for a weary traveller and is a sign of a hotel that cares about it's clientele. Part of the upgrade was free access to Sauna and Spa.

When we stepped in the rooms for the first time we were so excited by how amazing and comfortable the rooms were.

The Deluxe rooms on the 7th floor are HUGE and I delighted in all the small perfect details, such as a king sized bed, large desk/office area, lounge area, bathtub with the shelf/sink just in hands reach so I could drink tea whilst bathing. The washbasin area had plenty of space for toiletries and came full of excellent quality toiletries to use. There was a large wardrobe, huge TV and cabinet/shelving space. In the morning I ordered breakfast in my room and it was a huge and delicious buffet of yoghurt, breads, fruit, muesli, egg, sausages, a large thermos of coffee, juice and the morning paper.

The bar downstairs in the entrance was small but comfortable and we enjoyed some late night drinks before retreating for bed. The service was lovely.

I picked the location as it is perfectly central, walking distance to sights, shopping, dining and drinking spots. This was my 5th trip to Helsinki and it was the best hotel I've stayed at in Finland. For the price you pay for the rooms, what you get is really excellent value. I was in Stockholm the night before and paid double the price for a shoebox sized room in a hotel which was 5 star but was impractical in every way. Glo Hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. They've got all the details right to make it a comfortable stay and I will happily stay here again and again and again.

Highly Recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had the "Glo love" package in mid October 2011. Everything was just perfect. Hotel has a central location with walking distance to basically everywhere. The room was spacious, stylish and quiet. Service was excellent and breakfast versatile. Late checkout enabled really enjoying the stay to the fullest. Usage of the spa would also have been included, but unfortunately we didn't try that this time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Best part of the hotel is the location in the center on town, walking distance from everything. Breakfast is pretty good but not as good as the Helsinki Hilton. Rooms are cool and modern but nothing special, shampoo etc very sub-standard. The staff was fine but not great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Hotel GLO in Helsinki is an exceptional design/boutique lodging. It's located on a pedestrianized street smack in the middle of Helsinki's lively downtown, a few blocks from the Eliel Saarinen train station, the KIASMA Museum, Senate Square, upscale shopping, dozens of charming cafes, bars, restaurants, Jugendtyle architectural masterpieces, the art deco Yrjonkatu Swimming Hall, the Metro and the city's sleek trams. Although it lacks a grand lobby, the hotel's standard rooms, where we stayed, are spacious, with recesed lighting, unusually comfortable beds, well insulated windows, a Tivoli radio with flawless classical music FM reception, the requisite flat screen TV with BBC and CNN channels for news junkies, and a large high-tech bathroom with rain shower. An ample breakfast, included with the room and served in the fashionable second floor restaurant, features an array of meats, salmon and herring, cheezes, eggs, sausages and bacon, yogurt and fresh fruit, dark breads and croissants, and a variety of cereals. The crowd appears to be European business people and discriminating travelers. The one downside, unfortunately a characteristic often found in trendy hotels such as the GLO, is the staff's tendency to make up for a lack of training with an excess of attitude. But this is a minor quibble compared to the hotel's many satisfactions -- expecially for the price.

Room Tip: Our room on the tihird floor overlooked the pedestrian street below where trams stopped, but the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.