We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramsinniementie 14, Helsinki 00980 , Finland (Formerly Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely country setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here as part of a conference. The rooms were nice, and the conference facilities perfect for our group (just under 200). The food was also excellent. My only disappointment was trying to fit in a sauna. There are two here; the one by the sea is difficult to schedule, and I could never find the alternative one. I would suggest to the management that they make available a usable map of the facilities, and label clearly the two saunas, the gym (which I never was able to find), and the walking trails. Despite not being able to take full advantage of their amenities, if you are looking for a quiet spot in the countryside, then this place might be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
22
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vigo
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a convention Hotel location in a very nice suburb of Helsinki, away from the city center but with reasonably good connections (metro station is 5-10 minutes walk from the Hotel). The choice of restaurants close to the Hotel is relatively limited.

The Hotel is surrounded by nice pine trees forest, 20 meters from the waterfront. In fact, most rooms have a splendid view of the water. The whole location is remarkably peaceful and relaxing.

The Hotel features a small beachfront and a paddling center that rents kayaks, canoes and bicycles. Paddling in the archipelago waters is a great experience that I strongly recommend.

Overall the Hotel has a typical vintage Nordic decoration, with lots if Alvar Aalto vintage furniture and a very nice architecture. There are several signs of aging and slight decadence, but personally I love this type of ambiance and joyfully tolerate this aging.

Rooms are large, with great views and reasonably equipped. There is free Internet (WiFi and wired) of good quality. Sleep quality was great.

Check-in and checkout were fast, efficient and friendly. The breakfast was OK.

On the bad side:
- staying in a convention Hotel, with lots of empty meeting rooms may be awkward for some.
- breakfast quality was acceptable but bellow average.

For a weekend between meetings this was a great place to stay, but for business this may be too far from the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for an Hotel with view to the waterfront (most of the rooms have it, anyway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you are looking for the quite place in the nature but near the big city, this could be a place for you in case you close your nose for the smell (like in the hospital). Hotel is located in an old and long time ago renovated building. It seems that this place is built in the 70ties last century. Clean but you still see that old think even cleaned look worn out.
Otherwise - the sea and forest air is wonderful.
The breakfast was good.
Conclusion - typical old style 3* hotel that is well kept.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in several buildings. In building 5 there is no air conditioning. It could be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menfi, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I spent 2 days there for a business meeting. Clean, quiet, excellent food!!!
I walked around a bit in my free time: everything is green, very nice... in the middle of no-where (no people, no cars, just few houses but no lights or people around)! Perfect if you want to relax and have some sauna (amazing! it's just by the sea, so ideally you can jump into the water when your body is too warm, and then run into the sauna again - before to freeze).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Its not close to the city center but that was counter balanced by the very nice view from our room on the Baltic sea (100 meter distance to shore, room was in house VI).
Also, the breakfast buffet was very good and plenty. All rooms have cable based internet.
What should be improved: some WI-FI repeaters would be good - wouldnt cost much.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Was here for a 3 day workshop. The hotel was built in the 60's for a bank training campus, so it is not a new hotel!

Rooms are basic, but very comfortable, clean and warm, and I got one of the best ever nights sleep whilst there.

My room wasn't serviced during the day and I'm not sure why.

Food is good and faculties are great for a conference.

Surroundings are very pretty and I'm sure there is lots to do in the woods and on the sea, when the snow disappears and the ice melts!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Dear All, I woukd like to say a lot of thanks you for this site, honestly, I have chosen the right hotel and booked it for 10 minutes. Before that, I was looking for a suitable option on other sites, but found nothing. Your site really helped me, because I tried to found something a litle bit late - before 2 days till my trip to Finland, nevertheless I have found that I need. Since I first armored something via the internet and also paid in the first, I was a little scary. After booking I immediately called to the hotelf and checked whether the room booked in my name or not. Hotel employee kindly informed this information. Once more, thank YOU.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto

Also Known As:
Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy Helsinki
Address: Ramsinniementie 14, Helsinki 00980 , Finland (Formerly Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.