We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramsinniementie 16, Helsinki 00980 , Finland (Formerly Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rates Guaranteed
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited this hotel for a weekend in February. I did not have a car and walked from the metro. It is about a 20 minute metro ride and then a 30 minute walk. From the metro to the hotel is all residential. There is one market and a pizza restaurant. The hotel itself is very nice. It is geared towards business with lots of conference rooms. My room was nice, clean, and quiet. There were hardly any other people in the hotel. There is free internet, laundry room, sauna, and breakfast. The breakfast was good with lots of options, but it is the same everyday. This hotel is a good place to stay, especially since it was half the price of any other hotel at the time I booked, but do keep in mind it is a little out of the way.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    34
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
32
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

we stayed in this hotel two times and in both cases it was lovely.its only 10mins from metro station and its a nice walk and the location by the sea is superb,they have a private beach with sand and rocks,where you can watch sunset :-) rooms clean and comfortable and VERY good breakfast.
in a few words,perfect to share city trip with a nature :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Overall feel of this hotel, on the semi rural outskirts of Helsinki, is more of a scandinavian conference centre venue than a cosy hotel. Its low level and not unpleasing to view with lots of wood in the structure. Its spread out over a wide area so I had a bit of a walk to my room (both indoor and outdoor routes).My single room brought back memories of university accomodation - bit sparse but all the basics: clean, warm enough, tidy, with en-suite. Lovely location in woodland and only 50 metres from the sea. Stayed there for one night before a week of kayaking fron Natura Viva canoeing centre next door to the hotel. Limited evening meal menu but enough choice for me and not too expensive. Decent continental buffet menu with lots of usual choices and the local touch with a variety of herring options! Its 600 metres to a metro station so, if you use the metro to arrive/depart you will probably need a taxi from the station to the hotel, but thats not expensive. The metro runs very regularly into Helsinki city centre: its only a 20 minute journey and not expensive at all. There is a sauna on site but I didn't try it. Overall a good value option if you are not looking for fancy frills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We booked Rantapuisto through Hotwire so we paid about half the standard rate.

We spent one night here and are so glad we chose somewhere outside of the city. The bus from Rastila station which brings you right to the hotel was not running the day we were there so we settled for the one which drops you just at the turn for Ramsinniementie.

There was heavy snowfall at the time so dragging our cases with us proved quite the struggle, despite it only being a 5 minute (or so) walk to the hotel gates.

The location is stunning. Our room was a standard double and we shared a bed which was slightly small. There was a bathroom ensuite with a shower. One minor quibble: our hairdryer wasn't working and the internet is not free. There is a tv in the room.

Everything was very clean. The hotel is split into a few buildings which gives it a kind of summer camp feel, as the buildings look like cabins.

The breakfast was very nice and varied. Breads, cereals, juices, cheeses, hams and hot food. The staff at reception were very helpful with directions.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but would perhaps enjoy it more if we had a car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The hotel has a very quite location on the lakeshore surrounded by a nice forest with a great mushroom smell n Autumn. 15 min by car from Helsinki city. Nice budget place to relax from city hustle and bustle. You can reserve sauna which is right on the shore. Budget rooms are very small and nothing special.The property is mostly used for conferences and teambuildings. Breakfast was fine, but for dinner you'd better go somewhere else. Of cause, free parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
242 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
389 helpful votes 389 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Last time I spend 1 night only and it was cold winter, few people only - this time it was 2 nights, summer in the city and full with other guests on trainings and conferences.

The rooms are decent simple, a bit worn but everythings works - not much to highlight but even the single rooms have ca. 1,2m wide beds and you can open the window (in summer you can fell asleep with the sound of the sea). Bathroom is big but shows its age (not dirty but just old)

Atmosphere in the huge complex in a beautiful park next to the beach is typical Finnish: it might be from the 70ies but it's in good shape and well maintened. many windows to let the light inside (in summer), breakfast was one of the best ever in Finland and the 3 Saunas and Sea access (beach) are a big plus (Sauna#3 with beach access to be booked and charged, others for free).

I booked via tour operators at amazingly 60 EUR/night with bf for a single room - great value for a great experience - yes urban - not really in Helsinki (ca. 30min drive, taxi easily 40-50 EUR oneway) - however recommended if you have a car or just want to relax close to Helsinki for low money!

Free Wifi only in the public area - in the rooms cable connection which is charged!

Room Tip: all single rooms (1,2m bed) are on the outer complex, double rooms are in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto

Address: Ramsinniementie 16, Helsinki 00980 , Finland (Formerly Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.