We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Save Saved
You added Hellsten Helsinki Senate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The apartment well exceeded our expectations. They were very clean & very well equipped.
Great location for the city centre. The antique lift (Hissi) was very quaint.
We look forward to returning. All in all a delightful experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    23
    16
    2
See reviews for
31
46
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The north pole
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were there at the beginning of November this year. I've got to say it was the cheapest place for 2 people of all autumn season.
Now pros and cons of staying there. Positives outweigh negatives totally. So they are :
1. Convenient apartments where kitchen, small living room (with TV) and bedroom are combined into one pretty big room.
2. There is a kettle, an oven, a fridge and a coffee machine in the kitchen. The kitchen also has a set of plates, cups etc.
3. The living room has a dinner table, a TV set and a couple of armchairs.
4. There are two night stands on the each side of a double bed.
By the way there are enough plugs, so you can recharge all you devices.
5. There is a set of towels for a bathroom, that has a toilet and a shower. There are also some showers gels for visitors.
6. Finally, there is a sauna on the ground floor, which you can book by calling the administrator.

Now let's talk about negatives.

1. There is no filters for the coffee machine.
2. There is only one shop - Kmarket, which is expensive a bit.
3. If you have a double bed, you will have two little blankets for each person instead of a big one.

As for the transport, there is a tram stop near the hotel. (The tram number 4).
As a result, I'd advise this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Although I can take Tram 4 or 4T to Hellsten Senate Hotel, instead I decide to take about a twenty minute walk from the city center.

I have booked a single room for the night but at check in I am upgraded to an apartment that is so large “I can play baseball in it”. My bathroom even has a sauna in it. Nice.

The staff here is friendly and helpful although the office stays open only until 5pm.

This property is in a nice quiet neighborhood with easy access to all of Helsinki's attractions with a tram stop less than a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you're staying in Helsinki you'll need public transport, the tram is up the street, about 40 metres. These apartments have a part time reception crew but are well organised for out of hour arrivals and departures (they send an access code ahead of time, all electronic doors etc). Nice Art Deco inside and toasty warm rooms, living, dining and full kitchen if you want to cook and free laundry facilities available. Walking distance to convenience store, some restaurants and tram line. We had a room with a balcony and our own sauna, great fun!

Room Tip: Request a balcony and/or a sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very nice (clean and peaceful) apartment and suitable for family staying near the city of Helsinki. Very good value for price. There were some cups and plates in the kitchen, but no sugar, salt etc...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I did not have high expectations of this apartment hotel but I was pleasantly surprised.

I had a very spacious one bedroom apartment, large living area with kitchenette in the corner and dining area. In the bedroom there was a nice double bed and two sturdy looking foldaway beds neatly stored in the corner.

All windows had good curtains (a must in the summertime Finland) and I even had a small balcony, which was lovely.

There is a shop just down the road where you can go and stock up on all lovely Finnish food, you will have everything you can think of back in the hotel to store and cook whatever you buy.

I only wish I'd stayed for longer time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location just minutes from the city center. Wi-fi is included, has a microwave, full size refrigerator, stove top and dishes/pots/etc. Includes the use of laundry services and a private sauna. Would absolutely stay in this location in the future. Best hotel of the 5 we stayed in within Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafés, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellsten Helsinki Senate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.