We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars to location/price -feature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Save Saved
You added Hellsten Helsinki Senate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Uusikaupunki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 stars to location/price -feature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here one weekend with four adults "getting away from the normal routine" kinda way. This is all about the location, but the other features are not bad either. When we booked, most of the reservation sites said you can not house four adults in one apartment. There was one site that allowed us to book one apartment, even when it said the sofabed is for two children. Unfortunately I don't remember the site, keep looking. The sofabed is big enough for two adults and the bedroom (at least we had) was almost huge. The price in this case was really cheap in Helsinki. Because me and my wife slept in the sofabed I can tell two nights is my max in that. You can sleep in it, but it is a sofabed alltogether.
The room otherwise offered good kitchen facitilies, but a little bit under average furniture. With this I mean unbroken, but basic stuff. Everything was clean and it was a very quiet street and neighborhood. The receptionist was really helpful, even we did not need anything special. She just told all the basic things, because in the weekend there is no one in duty at the reception. Toilet was functional and clean, something you would expect in Finland anyway.
There is just a very short walk to the centre and we found free parking space very close to the hotel. There is also small grocery and restaurants nearby.
I can honestly recommend this to families and friends if you are looking for a more independent housing comparing to a normal hotel and, like us, wanted to stay together and not run between two hotel rooms. This is our choice also in the future, because it is better equipped than the omenahotels in Helsinki.

Room Tip: We had the inner yard room and it was totally quiet. I don't believe the other rooms are much lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    22
    14
    2
See reviews for
28
45
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed in the Hellsten Senate for 5 nights. A few days before my arrival, I received an email from the hotel providing very clear instructions on the self-check-in process. From Helsinki airport, we took the City Express (Finnair, 6.30 Euros each way) that brings you to the main railway station in 30 minutes. From there, its about a 10-minute walk to the hotel. However, I would advise spending 2.20 Euros on the tram (#4) if you have a big luggage, as the cobblerstone footpath makes it quite a challenge to drag your suitcase (our experience on the journey back).

Upon arrival, you just need to key in the code provided at the main door of Block A. After that, you just need to pick up the phone, provide your last name, and the receptionist (located at the other Hellsten hotel) will provide your room number. You will then need to pick up one magnetic door card, leave it on a machine to be activated, and you are ready to go - Simple as that. I was allocated to an apartment in the next building (B). Here, you open the main door by tapping your key card. There is also a lift in building B, a laundry room in building A, and a sauna room in building, which you can reserve by filling up your room number on a slip of paper on the door.

Each floor had 4 units - my studio apartment was well furnished. The only thing missing was a wine opener - you might want to bring your own if you need it. The WiFi password will be provided by the receptionist on request - it worked seamlessly for me, and the signals are good, as they seem to have an access point on every floor.

Do note that they only do housecleaning weekly - I didn't get any, but it didn't bother me. The supermarket is really close by, but do note that they close at 2100. There is also a Nepalese restaurant (we spotted at least 3 Nepalese restaurants in the area) - you get a 15% discount off your ala-carte order if you tell them you are from the Hellsten Senate. The food is good, and the portions are generous.

There are not many TV stations available - however, if you have a laptop with you, you can keep yourself sufficiently entertained. Check-out was a breeze too (12noon is check-out time) - you just need to drop off your card back in building A (where you picked it up).

Overall, a comfortable and cosy stay - it is within 3 minutes walk from the Conference Centre at the Marina. I would stay here again if I am back in Helsinki.

p.s. I found the bed to be very soft - almost feels like a water-bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We was there between the 13 and the 18 June 2013. Nice apartment in the Center of Helsinki. Tramway stop at 100 yards. We was on the third floor, there is a lift, flat was very spacious. there was 5 of us. One bathroom with shower and two toilette, small kitchenette with electric cooker, fridge freezer, microwave, kettle etc.... & TV in the lounge..
The block of flats has no reception desk as mentioned in other review, so before getting there we phoned the hotel to get the code number to open the front door of the building, once inside there is a free phone to call to get the flat number and the keycard next to the phone validated via a scanner. Easy and no problem. When getting this done don't forget to ask for the wi-fi password.
Very happy to have stay there? If you use taxi to go back to the airport, find the number for the yellow taxi they are cheaper. From the Center of Helsinki to the Airport 28 Euro instead of 50. There is also a bus from the station to the airport. If you use the yellow taxi to the airport you have to book it the day before. :-) We did book this place few month before going, so we had a very good deal 380 Euro for 5 person for 5 days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 2 days in Helsinki and decided to book an aparthotel. It was a good option for the location and the price, but when we got there, there was no reception (only a phone). The apartment had a strange smell, the furniture were old and dirty and the kitchen equipment was not clean (the pan had some egg pieces) and....the sheets had holes!! there was no wifi internet, the guide said it was per LAN but there was no cable in the room ... We are used to travel through Europe, so we have seen many hotels in different countries. This one was by far the worst.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Overall it's a good value, especially if you plan to cook your own meals. The neighborhood is tranquil, and a ten minute walk to the marketplace/esplanade, which is where the action and best restaurants are to be found. The 24 hour 'attendant' can be reached by the house phone, and can also schedule wake up calls and order taxis. But a taxi to the airport cost 47 euros, so it probably makes better sense to locate near the airport if you have an early morning flight. We found that the unit had far fewer kitchen amenities than we customarily find in, for example, condos at the beach. In the bath there was shampoo, but no soap. The linens were all pretty threadbare, the mattress thin and tired. Nice view out the windows and from the small balcony. The elevator is quite old, small, and tempermental. The key cards offer excellent security.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is really a traditional appartment house. There is no reception and none of the normal services in hotels. There is an automatic system for receiving and returning keys.

Our appartment was very good - spacious with a great sauna. Two adults and two children are easily accommodated. Free internet was provided. The kitchen is more than adequate for light meals and it was possible to do some office work at the desk. The double bed in the main bedroom was uncomfortable though.

The location is very good within walking distance of most of Helsinki's attractions.

Overall, a great solution for a family visiting Helsinki on a budget.

Room Tip: Because this is an old appartment building, there are differences between the appartments offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had booked 6 nights at the Hellsten Helsinki Senate which is an apartment hotel, and stayed there for just 1 night before checking out as the hotel was fraudulent and misleading with incorrect representation using fake pictures that have been re-touched. It was the most unpleasant stay we had in a hotel that we had to check out the very next day and book another hotel. The hotel had already taken our money the day before we checked in.

We checked in to the Hellsten Helsinki Senate and were surprised when we saw the rooms. It was sparsely furnished with dusty and old furniture that looked like it belonged in the junkyard. The living room was very bare with a dirty, old carpet and two dusty armchairs. There was a small old TV which came with a VCR - something we both have not seen even once in 10 years! The furniture, décor and condition of the rooms looked nothing like the images the hotel had provided on the booking.com website.

There were no basic amenities available (cup to hold toothbrush or soap to wash hands) and the apartment was almost bare.

When we entered the bedroom, there was a bad smell and we found that it came from the bathroom connected to the bedroom. When we tried to go to sleep, the bed had a huge dent or sinkhole in the middle and we kept rolling into the centre of the bed. It was most uncomfortable. The room was very cold even with the windows closed and we both had to put on full winter clothing that we wore outside to bed. Even then, it was still too cold to sleep in and we had very poor sleep that night.

The next morning, we decided to check out and took a tram to Helsinki central to look for another hotel. After finding a hotel with available accommodation, we returned to the Hellsten Helsinki Senate hotel to check out and speak to the hotel representative about our unpleasant stay and our refund.

There was no receptionist at the Hellsten Helsinki Senate - only a phone at the ground floor which we used to speak to a lady who then told us to speak to booking.com about our refund. She asked us to cancel the booking online on booking.com. When I accessed booking.com online, the website had written that we were unable to cancel the booking online and had to speak to the hotel instead.

We then called the virtual receptionist and told her we were unable to cancel the booking online. She said she would have to speak to her manager as she was unable to make any decisions. She then proceeded to offer us other rooms and I said that all the other rooms were the same except for the room size. She did not reply to that. Sensing that the hotel had clearly no intention of refunding us our money, we then proceeded to call booking.com for help. We spoke to booking.com and a lady helped us to call the hotel manager. The lady from booking.com then told us that the hotel manager would only be contactable at 3pm. Considering that the hotel contact person was already virtual why did we have to wait till 3pm to speak to the manager? We wanted to check out before the official check-out time of 12noon so that we would not be charged for. We checked out around 11.45pm after the phone calls.

It appeared as if the hotel had intentionally lied to us to stall time. We called booking.com and they said they would try to contact the hotel manager. Booking.com contacted the hotel manager the next day and sent us an e-mail containing the hotel's response. Basically, the hotel denied every issue that we wrote in to them about the apartment.

Up till today, Hellsten Helsinki Senate still refuses to refund us our rightful 5 nights worth of money which we did not stay for and booking.com completely washed their hands off our case once they received their part of the commission for our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafés, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellsten Helsinki Senate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.