We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hellsten Helsinki Senate to your Saves list
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate) (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Lohne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home from home in Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is really a traditional appartment house. There is no reception and none of the normal services in hotels. There is an automatic system for receiving and returning keys.

Our appartment was very good - spacious with a great sauna. Two adults and two children are easily accommodated. Free internet was provided. The kitchen is more than adequate for light meals and it was possible to do some office work at the desk. The double bed in the main bedroom was uncomfortable though.

The location is very good within walking distance of most of Helsinki's attractions.

Overall, a great solution for a family visiting Helsinki on a budget.

Room Tip: Because this is an old appartment building, there are differences between the appartments offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    29
    17
    2
See reviews for
36
49
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had booked 6 nights at the Hellsten Helsinki Senate which is an apartment hotel, and stayed there for just 1 night before checking out as the hotel was fraudulent and misleading with incorrect representation using fake pictures that have been re-touched. It was the most unpleasant stay we had in a hotel that we had to check out the very next day and book another hotel. The hotel had already taken our money the day before we checked in.

We checked in to the Hellsten Helsinki Senate and were surprised when we saw the rooms. It was sparsely furnished with dusty and old furniture that looked like it belonged in the junkyard. The living room was very bare with a dirty, old carpet and two dusty armchairs. There was a small old TV which came with a VCR - something we both have not seen even once in 10 years! The furniture, décor and condition of the rooms looked nothing like the images the hotel had provided on the booking.com website.

There were no basic amenities available (cup to hold toothbrush or soap to wash hands) and the apartment was almost bare.

When we entered the bedroom, there was a bad smell and we found that it came from the bathroom connected to the bedroom. When we tried to go to sleep, the bed had a huge dent or sinkhole in the middle and we kept rolling into the centre of the bed. It was most uncomfortable. The room was very cold even with the windows closed and we both had to put on full winter clothing that we wore outside to bed. Even then, it was still too cold to sleep in and we had very poor sleep that night.

The next morning, we decided to check out and took a tram to Helsinki central to look for another hotel. After finding a hotel with available accommodation, we returned to the Hellsten Helsinki Senate hotel to check out and speak to the hotel representative about our unpleasant stay and our refund.

There was no receptionist at the Hellsten Helsinki Senate - only a phone at the ground floor which we used to speak to a lady who then told us to speak to booking.com about our refund. She asked us to cancel the booking online on booking.com. When I accessed booking.com online, the website had written that we were unable to cancel the booking online and had to speak to the hotel instead.

We then called the virtual receptionist and told her we were unable to cancel the booking online. She said she would have to speak to her manager as she was unable to make any decisions. She then proceeded to offer us other rooms and I said that all the other rooms were the same except for the room size. She did not reply to that. Sensing that the hotel had clearly no intention of refunding us our money, we then proceeded to call booking.com for help. We spoke to booking.com and a lady helped us to call the hotel manager. The lady from booking.com then told us that the hotel manager would only be contactable at 3pm. Considering that the hotel contact person was already virtual why did we have to wait till 3pm to speak to the manager? We wanted to check out before the official check-out time of 12noon so that we would not be charged for. We checked out around 11.45pm after the phone calls.

It appeared as if the hotel had intentionally lied to us to stall time. We called booking.com and they said they would try to contact the hotel manager. Booking.com contacted the hotel manager the next day and sent us an e-mail containing the hotel's response. Basically, the hotel denied every issue that we wrote in to them about the apartment.

Up till today, Hellsten Helsinki Senate still refuses to refund us our rightful 5 nights worth of money which we did not stay for and booking.com completely washed their hands off our case once they received their part of the commission for our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice little studio in what looks like a residential apartment block. No reception but you need to pick your key up from a self-service reception. No major hassle. Great location in Katajanokka, close and convenient to the tram stop. Very clean and spacious room. Good amenities in the kitchenette. Little balcony. Big bathroom! Only negatives: old fashioned telly and poor internet connection. Would stay here again though if the price is right.

Room Tip: Great choice it you are travelling with small children as fully equipped kitchen, sauna facilities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The apartments are located in the center of Helsinki near the port. The bus stop is 30 mt. from the front door of the hotel (bus n. 4-4T). Our apartment was composed of one big lounge with 2 beds, sofas, TV and a desk; a bedroom with 2 beds that could be unified, one small kitchen equipped with dishes, cutlery, glasses and some pots (a minimum kit but all necessary was there), iron, iron board, fridge and microwave; a bathroom with shower.
The hotel provided also some amenities (shampoo and shower gel).
The hotel has no front desk therefore you need to follow carefully the instructions given, that were very clear.
A plus is also the laundry in the building where you can find 2 washing machine and 2 dryers. You need just to buy the powder.
The supermaked is 50 mt. from the front door and is open till 9 pm.
The furniture of the apartment was nice and comfortable.
Some suggestion for improvement: provide wireless free internet connection and have an hairdrier in the apartment.
I highly reccomend this location especially for family with kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I are fairly new at staying in apartments so approached this one very cautiously due to no reception.

I was very impressed on recieving a detailed email on how to get to the hotel aswell as accessing the room an hotel.

Location is in walking distance from the city centre. You can also jump on the 4/4T tram which stops 30m from the front door.

Overall the room was very comfortable, no oven however and only a microwave. There were no mugs only tea cups (for those who like a mug of hot chocolate).

I was a bit disappointed with the hot plates as the number were worn clean off and had no idea if it was on or off - slight saftey concern.

Also, there is no wireless only a network cable. For me this was not an issue as the internet was lightning fast.

In conclusion, I highly recommend this apartment - affordable and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As stated by most other guests, the check in system needs to be made easier. We stayed for 9 days for my son's wedding. Thank goodness he and his fiancé had arrived a few days earlier, as we would have had a hard time finding out how to get our key. The booking agency's directions were very unclear. There is a code and then you can access your key. We were pleasantly surprised with the spacious apartment we had, living room, study, nice size bedroom and large bath with a sauna. You are provided with only ONE set of towels. The shower only had three sides which of course meant water poured over the entire bathroom. We were fortunate to have a cleaning cart parked in the hallway and helped ourself to a stack of towels or we would not have had any dry ones. Back to the key issue....after the 3rd day, a maid and manager knocked on our door telling us we had the wrong room. Apparently the person renting before us didn't put the key in the correct spot. How would we know as there is not reception area, it is help your self. As we were there for a wedding, with many social gatherings to attend, there was no way to pack up on short notice and move to another apartment and in the other building. It was their error and we refused to move. Each day, they came with the same request but we stood our ground. The point I would like to stress.... the idea of leaving a code and a key in a box is not a reliable way to handle travelers arriving at odd hours and with no way to communicate. It would be very easy to arrive to find no key, no one to help and no place to go. Our stay was good . The apartment nice...sparse but nice. The bed was just OK without a blanket and very thin sheets. For quick meals, the kitchenette had enough utensils for a quick meal. The location is very good..close to the tram and walking distance to the City Center. In the blocks around the building, there are several markets..you need to sometimes bring your own bags, however. Since there is no on site manager, any questions or directions must be made to another guest or shop owner. I cannot compare this particular apartment rental to any other as it was the only one we have had experience with. If you do choose to stay here...be aware of the check in situation, lack of towels, and no standards for each apartment...some are better than others. For a long stay and the price, this was adequate.

Room Tip: Check and recheck your conformation and make sure you have all the information needed. Ask where ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafés, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellsten Helsinki Senate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.