We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suomenlinna Church (Suomenlinnan Kirkko)

Suomenlinna Church (Suomenlinnan Kirkko)
Suomenlinna C 3, Helsinki, Finland (Vironniemi)
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 130 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Looked OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

It was our original plan to see the church. But we were very tired on way back. We didn't have chance to see inside. Not much attractive from outside.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Saw a wedding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were there on a Saturday.

Didn't go in to the church as they were closed for a wedding when we reached. But we did saw the wedding couple and their guests coming out of the church when we left the church park.

Huge bell, anchor and chains to take nice photos around the church.

Informative signage.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It's a church... a very modest one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On you way to Suomenlinna visitor center you will pass this church on the right. Nothing much, even if you like churches. Good for praying I'd say. Otherwise spare yourself 10 minutes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small church on an island/fortress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I got married in this church, so I might be biased. It is fairly simple, smallish in size but pretty with a very nice location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“former orthodox now lutheran church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

amazing place that stands in good concordance with historical context of the islands and to my opinion sheds light on a nordic character : tidy,reserved,a little lonely,magnetic.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suomenlinna Church (Suomenlinnan Kirkko) also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Suomenlinna Church (Suomenlinnan Kirkko)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suomenlinna Church (Suomenlinnan Kirkko), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.