We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Finnish Architecture (Arkkitehtuurimuseo)

Museum of Finnish Architecture (Arkkitehtuurimuseo)
Kasarmikatu 24, Helsinki, Finland
+358 9 8567 5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 130 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
171 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“I was expecting more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is really something the Finnish Government need to review and invest. Finland is the land of Hugo Alvar Henrik Aalto, one ofbthe greatest architect of all times, and the one that plant the seeds of what is Helsinki and Finland landscape today. This history is not well documented and exhibited in the museum as one can expected! Sorry to say this !!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unless you have an interest you may find it a little boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

But certainly worth a look ... my partner found it fascinating .. and again I gleaned a little more Finnish history!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Little more than a student poster presentation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Thoroughly disappointed in the display, which was posters of Helsinki through the decades. For a city with great architecture and architects, a huge disappointment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We bought a ticket to the Architecture Museum when we visited the Design Museum. We needn't have bothered as there was not much in it at all.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
“Don't bother going; this is the worst tourist site in Helsinki”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Helsinki is a beautiful city to visit. You can wander around many streets and enjoy an array of amazing architecture. The Museum of Finnish Architecture sadly is not worth a visit at all. It is a stretch to even call itself a museum; a more accurate description is a temporary and tired display set up amongst an office full of unhappy staff and their desks/offices. The Director went in and out of her office slamming the door to the stairs 3 times in the short time we were there. Mysteriously, it limits itself to 1900 to 1970's. Apparently there was not any Finnish architecture before or after this time period??! I love architecture but I was bored out of my mind here. There are not any buildings or architects showcased. There is some boring, generic information about the decade. I don't think I have ever left a museum before with the realisation that I learnt nothing, and enjoyed nothing. The lovely Design Museum just around the corner should be asked to give the Architecture Museum some tips.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Finnish Architecture (Arkkitehtuurimuseo) also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Museum of Finnish Architecture (Arkkitehtuurimuseo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Finnish Architecture (Arkkitehtuurimuseo), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.