We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Heritage Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The National Library of Finland

The National Library of Finland
Fabianinkatu 35, Helsinki 00170, Finland
+358 2941 23196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 148 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Libraries, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Heritage Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent a mere 8 Euros and witnessed one of the nicest museums with the best architecture. The old structure looks marvellous and speaks of the rich history the monument contains in itself. The section on the 20th century artefacts are wonderful. The The National Library of Finland wasn’t really on my agenda list during my Berlin trip last year. Just that my wife had fallen sick and we had to postpone our return dates by a day, which is when we managed some time to visit this wonderful place. Visit this place if you are an architectural buff and love fragments of history. My Wife who is a history teacher literally fell in love with this place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old style, wonderful library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I visited the National Library with my friend once. We were there for hours, and it was really awesome! I loved the library, because it is just like some library you've seen in a movie. The halls and areas in it were just so amazing, and good looking. I want to go back! Recommended to visit!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An Overview of the History and Culture of the Nation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

At 8Euro this was not an expensive museum but there was lots to see and the section about 20th century cultural development was good.Like many similar national museums there was probably too much on display that was there simply because they had items in their collection and needed to put them somewhere and too little thought given to what people might want to know. However the museum was in the process of transferring more about recent culture from the old culture museum so the displays might change.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The heart of Finnish Culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A beautiful example of how a library can be and a good way to understand the locals. Often there are free public events.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for a quick stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The old building with it's halls is one of my favourite spots in Helsinki. The place is not very large and it suits very well for a quick peek inside the place. You can grab a 200-year-old book from the shelf and have a look at it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Library of Finland also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Kirkkonummi, Southern Finland
 

Been to The National Library of Finland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Library of Finland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.