We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a treasure in a heart of Helsinki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Lahti, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a treasure in a heart of Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

An international athmosphere with a finnish twist!

This design hotel is now my favourite hotel in Helsinki. The service is excellent. 80 % of hotels customers are international, so its very easy to get services in english.

The hotels interior is inspired by finnish folklore saga, Kalevala. I slept in room "Envy", it was a rich brown shaded room with modern touch. The bed and the linen were high quality. Free WiFi is a plus! The are also 24/7 gym in the hotel.

The location is excellent, the main street is just around the corner and the nearby "Design District Helsinki" is next to the hotel.

The breakfast is also an experince, its a buffet made from finnish delicasies.
I recommend modern restaurant Carma nearby, for a great food experince.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    231
    63
    22
    4
See reviews for
33
194
64
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

This hotel is very well located in Helsinki. It is close to many restaurants nearby.

The hotel manager was trained in Europe and cut his teeth managing the W Hotel in New York. He has been successful in trying to bring a little bit of Finland into a hotel where you might not be able to experience much of the city, if you are on business.

The breakfast is excellent and a great start to the day. A selection of organic foods give a sense of regionalism to hotel guests. The place is usually very busy but the staff are good at maneuvering around and keeping the tables clean, and the breakfast spread in good order.

There is a decent hotel restaurant and bar which actually doesn't feel like a hotel bar, but a bar or restaurant connected to the city.

My room was small, but very clean. Hardwood floors instead of carpet in the rooms gives the space a warm feel (and I feel like the floors can be kept cleaner). The washroom was small but again, very clean and serviceable. Most importantly, the hotel is quiet and restful. The cleaning staff are very professional and discrete.

There are always many people staffing the front desk if you need anything, or have any questions about the hotel or the city. For a mid-range hotel, the facility is professionally managed, not too fussy, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed at the Klaus K for 2 days at the beginning of July before heading to a wedding further north. As we were travelling all the way to Finland, we thought it'd be a shame not to see Helsinki while we were there, but we also wanted to treat ourselves to a stay in a nice hotel. And the Klaus K certainly fit that bill. Firstly the location is excellent - right in the centre. First impressions of the hotel are that it's very stylish and modern. Upon check in we were offered free wifi and when we said we had an ipod they also offered a free docking station for the duration of our stay. A really nice touch (though I do wonder why they don't just install them permanently in the rooms). Our bedroom was on the 2nd floor and had views over the roof of the kitchen, so not picturesque, but we just pulled the think curtains over to block the view. The decor in the room was very nice indeed - very modern and classy. The bed was extremely comfortable (and I am very fussy when it comes to beds!) Downsides to the room - the TV was weird and had a blue tinge to it that we couldn't get rid of plus it was very slow to react to changing volume or channels; there was very little storage probably to keep the minimalist look, but we ended up with clothes on various chairs around the room; the bathroom was lovely but impracticle as the floor got soaked from the shower and there was no way of drying it. Despite those minor things though I still loved the room. The attention to detail in the decorating was lovely. The breakfast buffet was excellent too with plenty of choice to suit everyone... especially liked the variety of freshly cooked breads and the incredible jams. We also drank at the bar Ahjo which was very trendy and did lovely cocktails - I couldn't decide what to have and the waitress then preceded to make up a cocktail from my favourite ingredients! It's these small touches that make the Klaus K a great hotel to stay at if you're visiting Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Had a great stay in this hotel. Very centrally located. Rooms are very stylish and nicely designed. Breakfast buffet is really good, lots of choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

I have stayed at the Klaus K a few times now and am always impressed by the positiveness and professional attitude of the staff. Considering the number of people who must come through the door, they always still seem to greet you like a returning friend rather than just another punter and any request is never too much trouble for them. Some of the rooms are on the small side and there are instances where design seems to have hijacked practicality (no plugs in the wash basins?) but, like others have reported, the location is ideal for exploring central Helsinki and the breakfasts are excellent. Free wi-fi in the rooms - though, be warned, there may not be a surface to put your laptop on! It's customer service which counts the most though and when it comes to making customers feel valued and just a bit special, the Klaus K is top of the tree.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

I have stayed at the Klaus K hotel at least 10 times in the last 6 months. As an invetrate business traveler the Klaus K and its team is # 1 in terms of the quality of the accommodation and attentiveness of the staff. The accommodation, bar and restaurants are distinctive, the rooms modest in size but excellently-designed, and the entire experience is combines the best of boutique and traditional hotel worlds. Lastly, the business support, including two excellent meeting rooms, is all that anyone could ask. Marc and his staff are an excellent, ever-present teams, and have my congratulations on a creating a special experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Really a wonderful place! It gave me the peace and relaxation I needed. Unfortunately I did not order anything from the roomservice in the evening. But the breakfast which I had in my room was great. It took me one hour to even eat half of it. And everything was delicious. I want to come back and stay forever!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 139 rooms including 2 suites, 3 art rooms and a Movie Room are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.