We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay on 3rd floor (3b)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Do not stay on 3rd floor (3b)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about this hotel is great. Location, bar, style, breakfast, wifi....BUT it is not quiet on the 3rd floor. After a terrible nights sleep from being kept awake by people in the corridors it turns out the 3rd floor is the entrance to the function room. So come midnight when drunken jolly people start to leave they wake you up! It upsets me to read all the "quiet" room reviews as we have hade 2 nights of anything but that. Unfortunately due to a wedding the hotel sold out so reception apparently had nowhere to move us to. Unfortunately the lack of sleep ruined our Helsinki weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid floor 3b
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    248
    65
    25
    4
See reviews for
36
210
66
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed several times here before and my only negative feedback was that the rooms are very small. Now there is a new addition to Klaus K, the Sky Lofts, a new part of the building with spacious rooms and suites. I had a fantastic room with living area, sleeping area and big bathroom. It was very nice designed, the staff is as always very friendly and the location is super. Make sure you book a superior room in the sky loft part of the hotel and you will have a very nice stay. The restaurant and bar is also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for the new sky loft part of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Staff were Great and the rooms were excellent.
Only drawback was that the roomservice trays were not removed by the Staff so there were a lot of dirty plates etc on the floor outside the rooms. Also, some of the trash was not removed during our 5 day stay.
However, all in all, a Great hotell, fantastic location and really serviceminded Staff.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this hotel for a much needed mini vacation in December.
Room: Our room was upgraded from Sky Balcony to Sky Suite. Even though Suite was 20 m2 bigger than Balcony room, I think we would have liked the smaller room just as much, because of the minuses in our room.

Plus sides: Great bed, sheets and towels. Big windows, great view from balcony which partly had a roof on it (nice as the weather was rainy). Nice book and LV magazine in the room. Great tee, coffee, and minibar. Bathroom was lovely, nice toiletries too. Great big bath tub, good shower.

Minus: The tv could not be watched from the bed, as in large room it was placed to the "lounge area", behind an extra wall. A second tv facing bed would have been nice. The light system in stairs was too sensitive, it went on and off all the time and woke us up in the night two times. Staff promised to do something about it though :) In Balcony room these two things would maybe have been better, but ok we got a large room with the best view, so can't exactly complain ;) Smaller things: Sofa was maybe a bit too hard to really relax laying on it. A bit too dark and modern coloring to our liking but it is a matter of taste and it grew on us eventually.

Breakfest in Toscanini was really nice. The reception area was also really stylish. AND the possibility for a private entrance to suites 7th floor felt special. Staff was excellent in every occasion!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On entering the main doorway at street level you either can take the elevator or the stairs to the lobby area. Check in was quick and staff efficient and helpful. This is the level for the open plan area for one of the breakfast areas also. Elevators a little small and narrow.

We stayed in one of the Skyloft rooms. Well furnished and very contemporary decor. Room was on two levels with a couple of steps up to the king sized bed. Bathroom was beautiful. Loved the shower . Flat screen tv and sofa made the room even more comfortable. Skylight in room can be closed if you want it. No real area though to pu the suitcases. Very small closet area . There is a room safe. Staff obviously came into the room in the late afternoon / early evening and left a bottle each of water in the room. Toiletries are excellent and expensive if you want to purchase them in the lobby. 29 euros for the shampoo!

Hotel Klaus K puts you in a very nice part of Helsinki. Breakfast was very nice in the ground floor [street level] restaurant Tocanini . Scrambled eggs or omelette with bacon , variety of breads, cold cuts, cereals, cakes, pasteries, good coffee and you get to watch the locals hurrying to the tram stops on their way to work. Lots of restuarants in the area within two to three mins walk.

The only thing that was a small negative for us was the room got a little cold at night and the heating theromstat didnt seem to work too well if you tried to put the temperature up. The heated floor in the bathroom was a real plus though.

We overlooked the street at the front so there was a bit of noise from the trams in the morning, but for us it added to the ambience of being in downtown Helsinki. Its a short walk to Stockmann [department store] and the main shopping area. Treat yourself to a walk in the Esplanadi park which is less than 5 mins in front of the hotel leading to the water. At the end of the park is Kappeli {Chapel} restaurant. Its a beautiful building and very elegant inside with the beautiful chandeliers and bronze statues. We dropped in for coffee and dessert , a little on the pricey side but a lovely stop.

Across the street from Kappeli is the market, right on the water , great place to do some Christmas shopping and over to the right of the market is the indoor food market, another place worth a look. Also take the short ferry ride from the market area [about 10 mins ride] to
Suomenlinni Island which is a Unesco world Heritage site, its a military and historical site. Worth a look.

Room Tip: Skyloft rooms more expensive but we had a very good sized room and it made our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was small but check out their loft rooms...they are fantastic. Great breakfast. Very central location. Stylish but best of all lovely staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Helsinki to meet with friends for a weekend, the hotel was perfectly located just a short distance from bars, restaurants, cafe´s and the main shopping area. The hotel room a nice size, clean and modern with a nice bathroom and excellent shower. Considering how central the hotel is and the amount of bars in the area the room was extremely quiet which was really appreciated after long days exploring the city. Breakfast was nice, we did not get chance to try the Italian breakfast but the choices looked great. We would recommend this hotel to friends and definitely return in future.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.