We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Turku, Finland
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was very much looking forward to staying in Klaus K, had heard many positive things and it was a special accasion since I was meeting an old friend. The experience was however disappointing.

- room was very small, dark, kind of claustrophobic and had a weird unpleasant lighting
- room interior was lame which was suprising since I had heard this hotel being a design hotel
- bathroom was the smallest I´ve ever had in a hotel
- breakfast area was too small which made it very difficult to enjoy the breakfast. Breakfast was good althoug concise
- extra charge for a cup of hot choclate at breakfast
- hotel restaurant a disappointment with too many tables in a small space and the food not bad but not nearly worth the price
- personnel trying to be friendly and helpful but almost all staff being so young they just did not have the experience or education to know how to serve the guests
- front desk staff good enough
- weird "lounge" music all the time everywhere at the hotel, made it difficult to enjoy sitting in the lobby or in the breakfast
- music from the downstair bar so loud (until 2 am or 3 am) it was difficult to sleep in the room
- glass of sparkling wine at arrival a nice gesture
- good location

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tero T, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Liisa 1234,
I am very sorry that your Klaus K experience did not meet your expectations. I am happy that you enjoyed complimentary sparking wine and appreciated the service offered by our front desk team.
Kind regards,
Tero Thynell, Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    245
    64
    24
    5
See reviews for
35
205
66
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the design of this hotel. Everything about the decor has really been thought about, making it a really interesting and beautiful place to stay. Our room was a good size, with a nice shower, comfortable bed and free Wi-Fi. It's only 10 minutes walk from the bus station where the airport buses stop, and close to restaurants, shops and the design quarter. We walked around everywhere as everything is so close. The Finnish breakfast is a real selling point, never had a breakfast quite like it. Lots of sweet and savoury options to try, all great quality. Service was really friendly too. Only minor quibble was the lift was quite slow and we often had to wait a bit, but never too long.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is the best aspect of booking here. The smallest rooms are too small to be comfortable for more than 2-3 days though. That said, the service is great, very good breakfast, helpful staff. I asked for a room with a better view - after seeing the room I initially was offered, and I was given a room with much nicer, street view - with no problem.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Bulevardi street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed two nights. Good location in Helsinki, easy walk from the train station and relatively short distance to Helsinki cathedral and waterfront/docks. Reception staff spoke perfect English and were incredibly friendly, even selling us toothpaste at 5AM. The room was not comparable to anything I'd seen before. Every element is designed for a stylistic function, even if this loses some practicality. The bed was very small as was the bathroom, but each was presented in such as beautiful manner, this could be forgiven. The hotel is very romantic, and would be great for couples and subsequently perhaps inappropriate for children and families. The breakfast was however, sensational. A huge array of fresh and organic foods with everything from warm breads and homemade cheesecake to herring and rhubarb juice!

Overall a very good hotel for a stay in Helsinki, but perhaps families should think again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tero T, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jacob S,
Thank you for sharing your nice experience with others in Trip Advisor community.
Hope to welcome you back soon!

Tero Thynell, Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a really great stay here. Why?
- very friendly staff
- excellent bar
- nice italian restaurant
- good free wi-fi, (good enough to stream Netflix in the room)
- great breakfast buffet

I would recommend this to everyone who appreciate hotels that takes care of every little detail to make the stay great.


Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Extra points to Klaus K: they held our reservation until 5 AM.
The room was very nice, light and quiet, and there was a large slab of welcome chocolate. Other luxurious touches included terrycloth bathrobes and designer furnishings. I missed the breakfast due to said 5 AM arrival but my husband enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the design and the uniqueness of this hotel. Good location and nice staff. The rooms are very tiny but well designed and cosy. Nice selection of breakfast especially if you were Japanese (there was a big party in when I was there). I asked for a quiet room and for once I got one at the back of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.