We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at The Klaus K” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at The Klaus K”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Tero and his staff gave us such a wonderful experience, from the time we arrived to the time we left. The service from the staff made us feel very welcome and the facilities at the hotel were excellent.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room facing the main street, was a lovely view and not noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    248
    65
    25
    4
See reviews for
36
211
66
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

One night get away. Good clean modern spacy room, good beed and pillows. Excellent value for the money compared to many other "chain" hotels. Good breakfast with organic food. Excellent location everything in city centre is in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location is a perfect base for all of your Helsinki activities. Tram stop in front of the hotel and a 10 minute walk from the train station. Champagne upon arrival. Excellent front desk service. Breakfast was a gorgeous culinary delight. Overcrowded on the weekends but worth the wait. In the lower level, on weekends, is a fabulous nightclub. Small and full of great music and drinks. The Italian restaurant is solid and serves great coffee. The room I booked was much smaller than described and a tight fit for two people. The bathroom and amenities were nicely done. Would recommend to friends and return for another weekend trip.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevator and with a street view. The double-pain windows block out the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for one night to get away from basic routines. Good rooms and excellent breakfast buffet. Good value for money. Location is excellent and recommend for any out-of-town visitors. Lot more character than most of the chain hotels in the city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hi ,

I stayed for 5 days in September 2013, my room was named as mini cooper room;
Beautiful furniture very clean and modern room .

The location is at city center just few hundred meters from railway station.
free wifi internet was included and also breakfast.


For me some negative points which i want to share;

Bed is too small for adult look like kids room :)
Breakfast is not well for Turkish people its because some taste difference i guess because people were happy while eating salmon fish at 07.00am.

in the end nice hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear bjk1903Ankara, Thank you for writing your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects about our hotel. I am sorry though that you found the bed to be too small and our breakfast did not meet your liking. We have several room types and bed sizes which we are to be transparent about on our website and other channels. We will try to improve this since perhaps you were unaware of the bed size before arriving to the hotel. With regard to our breakfast, we strive to provide a healthy and fresh offering while keeping some Nordic touches as well. I hope we can welcome you back to Klaus K some day in the future. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I spent 13 nights here to I think I've seen most of what it has to offer.....also I'd like to say I've traveled to more than 83 countries so I've been around

Location: Good location with Tram service literally right out front, taxi's out front and it's right off one of the main roads. There is a grocery store a short walk away and plenty of places to eat & drink & party nearby.

Room: Small with not much room around the bed (which was comfortable), if you are planning to stay more than a few days I would look elsewhere as there is VERY limited space in the room to unpack your clothes. There are two very small shelves near the safe and a small space to hang up a few things but not much more. I actually used the small ledge in the bathroom to put socks - underwear & tee shirts.
No A/C in summer (got that from several friends who had stayed before) I did think it was rather odd I turned on the heat and the radiator didn't get warm until the next morning when it was "lukewarm" not hot.
TV is on the sidewall so if you lay in bed you will be at an odd angle to watch TV unless you sit in the one chair in the room. Limited channels in English but the most frustrating was when housekeeping or the hotel sends you a message it locks your TV so if you are watching a movie it stays in a loop (read message then tried to delete it brought me back to the login page again after displaying that function doesn't work at this time so I tried saving the message and got the same result. Finally I complained to the front desk after it happened 3-4 times then they stopped sending me messages if I wanted my room to be serviced.
The only place to put your laptop in the room is a table that is uncomfortable unless you're a child as it is low to the ground and you have to lean over I don't believe the tabletop is much more than 24 inches off the floor that extra 12 inches means a lot.
An additional blanket would have been nice too.
No hot water kettle in the room either so you couldn't have a cup of tea or coffee unless you went downstairs and paid for it.

Bathroom was small but it was nice with a nice modern shower - never ran out of hot water.

Housekeeping / front desk - seems to be some communication issues, I was working nights and housekeeping would come when I was sleeping... I asked 2X at the front desk if they could come and service my room after 2pm and it never happened.

Room Service - wasn't impressed it was the same menu as the Toscani Rest. which has a very limited menu itself. Only italian food...and it was mediocre at best.

Breakfast in the morning - breakfast consists of mixed fruit / 2 types of cheese - roast beef - ham - salmon and some other smoked fish - cherry tomatoes - sprouts - lettuce - scrambled eggs - porrage - sausages (hot dogs) - soft boiled eggs (not cooked all the way through) and various breads - cookes - brownies - cereal - plain & flavored yogurt - green & black tea - coffee with orange - cranberry - apple juices. Always the same no diversity if you want eggs to order or an omelet it is extra. (Go to a major hotel chain that has a big breakfast included such as Marriott - Raddison etc and it would be included.
Few bad things about breakfast .....
1. Slow to refill things when they run out
2. Your table is cleared VERY QUICKLY, at least 80% of the time I would get up for a second cup of tea and come back and my silverware & plate were gone - I'm less than 40 feet away and they swoop in and take it which is VERY annoying.
3. With LIMITED seating in the dining area the hotel would put "reserved" tags on tables so seating was an issue - I'm sorry but if I am a hotel guest shouldn't I have priority over people coming in off the street for breakfast? If you book a business meeting or something and you have limited seating you should have the meeting in another area of the hotel and have staff there to serve the food or to ensure it doesn't run out.

Staff: Overall friendly but there were several times when I addressed them in the breakfast area and they would look right through me and not say anything. Protocol is that the hotel staff should address guests first - at the very least if I say good morning I should get a response. Also staff should have name tags or something to identify them as hotel employees.

There are two elevators.

Check-out - quick & efficient

Would I stay again - for a few days yes - for anything more than five days no.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you unpack there are different size rooms. I usually don't stay in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Jay M, thank you very much for taking time to write your review. As you note, we have several room types/categories which equal different sizes as well. With regard to your service interaction descriptions, we did not meet your or my expectations and I am truly sorry for that. My team and I are dedicated to making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. I hope you will give us a another chance next time you are in Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good location, beautiful rooms, wonderful, tasty breakfast (blackberry smoothies, salmon & cheesecake and brownies :)), helpful and friendly staff. I loved the design of the hotel, from rooms to music choice in the lobby. The bathroom is a bit small, but it was ok for one person. Loved a small rubber ducky in a bathtub! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.