We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Modern and good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for just one night on business. Room not mega big (though would not say dramatically small like others have mentioned - maybe it was my room) but perfectly reasonable for one person. Quality decor, linen and design, and the hotel centrally located. A modern boutique hotel would be an apt description for it. Breakfast was fine, wasn't a huge selection but completely adequate if you are wanting a general breakfast and to get on with the day. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    231
    63
    23
    4
See reviews for
34
195
64
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great location for getting around Helsinki, especially if there on business. The smallest rooms are pretty small which is fine for all but the bathroom which is a real squeeze. For a short stay though, it does the trick.

Room Tip: For more than one person, the smallest room size is not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is highly recommended by many. And it has good points: location, cost. But in trying to be stylish and modern it sacrificed comfort. The Movie room has no window; a courtyard view room is too dark to read; the courtyard is just concrete; the bathroom was so small you can shower and use the toilet simultaneously; the closet is the size of a drawer; the nightstand has no drawer and is a flat board that is smaller than a magazine; and the sink is so shallow that your hands touch the basin. Many find the modern designing attractive, but as a traveler I also want practical, easy comfort, not found here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Albert478, I am deeply saddened by reading your review of my hotel. It is obvious we were unable to meet your expectations. Our Movie Room is designed to be a special treat and a unique cinema experience. In our downtown location, our courtyard rooms are meant for those traveling whom want to have a quiet experience where view is not a priority. Regarding the bathroom design, several of our rooms have small bathrooms which is an inheritance of a 100 year old building. I am not making excuses, but I want to share insight for other readers. As the developer, owner and manager of the property from the beginning, it was my intention to try and find smart solutions that exceed the expectations of our anticipated guests. I am very sorry I was unable to meet yours. I truly wish that if you ever consider staying at Klaus K in the future, I hope that you would contact me so that I may handle your reservation personally. Sincerely, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Modern hotel with a boutique feeling to both rooms and reception area. Great location, 5 minutes walk to both Stockman (large department store) and ECHA (European Chemicials Agency), catering to both business and pleasure. The rooms were cosy with dark wooden floors, nice lighting and a sitting area even in the smaller room type (single). A plus is the bathrobe and slippers. A good Italian brasserie is located in the hotel for those who want a four course meal or just a glass of wine and a starter. Nice Scandinavian breakfast with local products and healthy choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very cool and friendly chic design hotel at the best location in Helsinki. I stayed in the smallest room that still was quite enough for a business one night stay. I really liked the easy and friendly approach from the staff and the eco-styled breakfast. The brasserie is fantastic. I recommend the fresh mozarella,aubergine salad and a glass of crispy white wine. Next door is another great restaurant and 5 min. away you'll find Stockman ( upper class department store) and another minute walk away the railway station and air port buses. All very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Quite trendy, in centre of Helsinki in the Design District, this refurbished old hotel is now a design icon of sorts. Not so designery as a Philippe Starck hotel but that is in its favour. Breakfasts are not good however, poor value and choice. Rooms are also quite cramped, there is little room between the bed and the wall and the ensuites and narrrow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

One night stay. Front staff are welcoming and efficient. New lounge set up is effective and very pleasant. There is a good working station area with a large table. The bedroom was dark and maybe the brown is too sombre but its eclectic. Yes bathrooms are small but its the way it is . The TV did not work but its not material. I did not use fitness but from last visits its 24 hour ( so unusual in Europe ) and good. The internet was 100%. I had dinner in the restaurant - good quality food and wine. The breakfast staff could use a personality injection but the breakfast is good. I would use this hotel as first choice on future trips to Helsinki.

Room Tip: I was at the back - quiet -but no Idea what the front is like - I expect noisy from trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.