We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design, central and good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Save Saved
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice design, central and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A very good hotel in the centre of Helsinki. Clean, spacious room with wooden floors, special design, cozy, good comfortable beds. Rooms a bit on the chilly side if it's cold outside. But the staff was pleased to help out with an electrical heater. The internet connection via wi-fi is crappy, though - very slow and unreliable. Only a few TV stations, sometimes with digital distortions. Additional films cost. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear carambellas, thank you for writing your review. I appreciate you taking the time. I am conducting a large-scale renovation of the lobby and restaurant and bar area in January 2013; I am installing all new led tv's this month (October) in all rooms, wi-fi will also be pumped up in this process. In addition to these physical things, I am also creating a new website which will be launched at the end of the year. I hope you will be interested in returning on your next trip to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    234
    57
    19
    3
See reviews for
27
175
56
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in May and had a great experience. My room was spacious, comfortable and well laid-out, and was pretty quiet except for some construction on the street outside. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and anything else i needed.

The location is great, within walking distance to several different districts, plenty of good restaurants, shopping, and just off a main boulevard. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed tw nights on a business trip. The hotel staff are not particularly friendly, yet also not rude. The bedrooms are very small and dark. Due to there not being a desk, it was difficult to work in the room. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of fresh foods. Hotel is very central so the location is also vrey good. Overall it was good but I will try another hotel on my next trip to Helsinki

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear TravelBugEnnis, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I wanted to inform you and others that we have taken your comments very seriously. We have conducted a thorough rooms maintenance program this year, installing new led tv's in all rooms, changing to led lighting throughout the building in the beginning of 2013, renovating the entire lobby and bar space as well as breakfast area. I hope you will give us another try when you return to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have stayed here many times (not by choice). The rooms are absolutely TINY! You can literally brush you teeth (at the sink) while sitting in your bed kind of room...the service is inconsistent. I have had some good experiences, but also some very bad ones.
Being fair, its location is actually very good. The beds are comfortable, just very small. It is clean. The gym terrible.


Overall, its not one of the better hotels in Helsinki for the price. For what you spend here, you could stay at Hotel Glo or Crown Plaza, which are both much nicer.

Room Tip: Just stay elsewhere, but if you have to stay here DO NOT stay in one of the efficiency rooms or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Scott M, I am so sorry that we don't meet or even exceed your expectations. I have received many compliments on the areas you pointed out. Some of our smallest rooms have proved to be the perfect fit for many of our guests. I wish you all the best on your return trips and hope we can welcome you back to Klaus K and perhaps you could try a different room type. Sincerely, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Klaus K boasts a lot of design and indeed, it is a a-typical hotel, right in the shopping centre of the city and in the heart of the 2012 design district. As nice as that may be, the 1 person room is unacceptably tiny. When you are there for business there is no room for suitcase and no desk to work on. The room 'offers' a very narrow bed. Some rooms have a 'view' on a solid wall.
All in all it was a dissapointing experience, especially when you take the price into account.
Breakfast is nice though with lots of organic products. Value for money is not allright, it is too expensive for what it offers, design or not.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, don't book a single room. Spend even more money and take a double r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear orangeAmsterdam, I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations with the room view and desk working space. It is true we have larger rooms and if guests would like a writing surface we can find a good solution that has worked in the past. I believe we can improve more in communicating all the things we can provide our guests and this is the challenge I have taken with my team. I hope I can welcome you back someday when your return to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is very well located; tram from port stops at the front of the hotel, and also the tram that goes to main train station, to get airbus , you are at walking distance of almost everything to be seen in Helsinki.
The rooms are comfortable and clean though the design style is a little dark if you need to use you computer, breakfast was good . I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear normafernandez, thank you for writing your review. I believe your comments are very helpful for future guests. We have several types and styles of rooms for guests to choose from. I promise to improve the presentation of our rooms with our new website coming the end of this year. I hope to welcome you back to Klaus K the next time your are in Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed mostly at Klaus K whenever I visit Helsinki, both for business and leisure. The location is very convenient, next to a tram stop, on a leafy central boulevard. The rooms have been designed with a typical design hotel attention to detail and the amenities are of high quality. What's more, the beds are really comfy and combined with a good sound insulation, provide you with a quaranteed good night sleep. There is a spacious sauna in the adjacent building, which is free for the hotel guests to use. The best aspect of the stay though, is without any hesitation, the breakfast buffet. The buffet includes a wide array of local produce; cheese, cold cuts and fish, ad well as a great selection of freshly baked bread. Also worth mentioning, is the delicious porridge cooked in an oven, something I have not come across in any other hotel or resto in Finland.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Kalle K, you certainly made my day when I read your review of my hotel. I truly hope that we can continue to welcome you back to Klaus K on your return trips to Helsinki. We are making several improvements this year (new towels, new televisions) and we'll be making big changes in our bar and restaurants in January 2013. It is very exciting! Welcome back! All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 139 rooms including 2 suites, 3 art rooms and a Movie Room are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.