We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, tired rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Ennis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, tired rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed tw nights on a business trip. The hotel staff are not particularly friendly, yet also not rude. The bedrooms are very small and dark. Due to there not being a desk, it was difficult to work in the room. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of fresh foods. Hotel is very central so the location is also vrey good. Overall it was good but I will try another hotel on my next trip to Helsinki

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear TravelBugEnnis, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I wanted to inform you and others that we have taken your comments very seriously. We have conducted a thorough rooms maintenance program this year, installing new led tv's in all rooms, changing to led lighting throughout the building in the beginning of 2013, renovating the entire lobby and bar space as well as breakfast area. I hope you will give us another try when you return to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    248
    65
    25
    4
See reviews for
36
211
66
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have stayed here many times (not by choice). The rooms are absolutely TINY! You can literally brush you teeth (at the sink) while sitting in your bed kind of room...the service is inconsistent. I have had some good experiences, but also some very bad ones.
Being fair, its location is actually very good. The beds are comfortable, just very small. It is clean. The gym terrible.


Overall, its not one of the better hotels in Helsinki for the price. For what you spend here, you could stay at Hotel Glo or Crown Plaza, which are both much nicer.

Room Tip: Just stay elsewhere, but if you have to stay here DO NOT stay in one of the efficiency rooms or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Scott M, I am so sorry that we don't meet or even exceed your expectations. I have received many compliments on the areas you pointed out. Some of our smallest rooms have proved to be the perfect fit for many of our guests. I wish you all the best on your return trips and hope we can welcome you back to Klaus K and perhaps you could try a different room type. Sincerely, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Klaus K boasts a lot of design and indeed, it is a a-typical hotel, right in the shopping centre of the city and in the heart of the 2012 design district. As nice as that may be, the 1 person room is unacceptably tiny. When you are there for business there is no room for suitcase and no desk to work on. The room 'offers' a very narrow bed. Some rooms have a 'view' on a solid wall.
All in all it was a dissapointing experience, especially when you take the price into account.
Breakfast is nice though with lots of organic products. Value for money is not allright, it is too expensive for what it offers, design or not.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, don't book a single room. Spend even more money and take a double r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear orangeAmsterdam, I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations with the room view and desk working space. It is true we have larger rooms and if guests would like a writing surface we can find a good solution that has worked in the past. I believe we can improve more in communicating all the things we can provide our guests and this is the challenge I have taken with my team. I hope I can welcome you back someday when your return to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is very well located; tram from port stops at the front of the hotel, and also the tram that goes to main train station, to get airbus , you are at walking distance of almost everything to be seen in Helsinki.
The rooms are comfortable and clean though the design style is a little dark if you need to use you computer, breakfast was good . I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear normafernandez, thank you for writing your review. I believe your comments are very helpful for future guests. We have several types and styles of rooms for guests to choose from. I promise to improve the presentation of our rooms with our new website coming the end of this year. I hope to welcome you back to Klaus K the next time your are in Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed mostly at Klaus K whenever I visit Helsinki, both for business and leisure. The location is very convenient, next to a tram stop, on a leafy central boulevard. The rooms have been designed with a typical design hotel attention to detail and the amenities are of high quality. What's more, the beds are really comfy and combined with a good sound insulation, provide you with a quaranteed good night sleep. There is a spacious sauna in the adjacent building, which is free for the hotel guests to use. The best aspect of the stay though, is without any hesitation, the breakfast buffet. The buffet includes a wide array of local produce; cheese, cold cuts and fish, ad well as a great selection of freshly baked bread. Also worth mentioning, is the delicious porridge cooked in an oven, something I have not come across in any other hotel or resto in Finland.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Kalle K, you certainly made my day when I read your review of my hotel. I truly hope that we can continue to welcome you back to Klaus K on your return trips to Helsinki. We are making several improvements this year (new towels, new televisions) and we'll be making big changes in our bar and restaurants in January 2013. It is very exciting! Welcome back! All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is great, but there are a lot of hotels in a great place in Helsinki.
The room we stayed at - 503 - was small but spotlessly clean. I loved the quality of the soaps and shampoo and there was even bodylotion :) Hotel was very quiet so you would get a good night sleep even though there was a noisy club downstairs.

Staff of the hotel was friendly, breakfast was a little disappointing served in a growded breakfast room. We were served complimentery glasses of bubbly wine, that was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear tessuli, thank you for writing your review. I am happy you recognized so many of our great qualities. I am sorry we fell short on your expectation of the room size. We have several to choose from and perhaps we can find a better fit for your preferences next time. I hope we can welcome you back someday in the future. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Design hotel everyone seems to be very impressed about. Well, perhaps that gets excpectations high. Overall there is nothing to complain except room we stayed in was really tiny (called passion and mystical).
I liked the most breakfast - lots of organic staff available. And location was really convinient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Evenlin456, Thank you for making time to write your review. We have many different styles and sizes of rooms to offer. I hope we can welcome you back to Klaus K in the future and perhaps try one of our other room types which will suit your preferences. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.