We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, overall lovely” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Save Saved
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, overall lovely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Design hotel everyone seems to be very impressed about. Well, perhaps that gets excpectations high. Overall there is nothing to complain except room we stayed in was really tiny (called passion and mystical).
I liked the most breakfast - lots of organic staff available. And location was really convinient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Evenlin456, Thank you for making time to write your review. We have many different styles and sizes of rooms to offer. I hope we can welcome you back to Klaus K in the future and perhaps try one of our other room types which will suit your preferences. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    229
    59
    22
    4
See reviews for
33
193
64
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I defintiely enjoyed my stay at Klaus K, my room was only a mini room but it was decorated lovely and the bathroom was very spacious.

The lobby area and design of the hotel is unusual and really interesting to see.

My only problems were that I think my expectations were too high. I'd read some really rave reviews about the service and the breakfast. However, my own experience was somewhat different. The staff were friendly but certainly didn't go the extra mile like I had expected. For example, I asked at Reception for a taxi and they told me to wait outside where there would be many taxis already waiting. After standing outside for ten minutes though I had to return inside and ask if they could call one specifically for me which they didn't seem eager to do.

The breakfast was nice but there were no hot items served. I wasn't sure if you were supposed to order hot food seperately but then no waiters came round so I just presumed not. On the final morning of my stay the breakfast area was very crowded. I had to queue for a considerable length of time at all the breakfast areas and sit round the corner outside of the restaurant in order to eat.

I stayed at the Klaus K for 3 nights and I was unable to get my room cleaned during this time. The cleaners seemed to come at really inappropriate times! They either came too early or at tea time when I was getting ready for dinner. On that occasion the cleaner explained that they were behind as the hotel was full which I could appreciate but as I was getting ready in the room I couldn't have it cleaned again.

I have family in Helsinki so I visit it a lot and have stayed in a number of hotels. I've found other hotels a lot cheaper and you get a lot more space and an equal standard of service and breakfast at most of the hotels in Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear dew bobs, I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations while you stayed with us earlier this summer. I know we are better than what you described but obviously it doesn't matter what I say I know it is what we actually do. I am very sorry for not performing at our norm. I promise you that I have reviewed your comments with each and every team member to show them that although we feel we are doing our best it can happen that we underperform at times. Thank you for making the time to write your review. I truly hope that you will give us another chance on your return trips to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

First off, the location in Helsinki could hardly be better. Klaus K is well situated for the Design District and for the whole downtown area, with lots of shops, restaurants, and bars within five minutes on foot. The hotel style concept is cool, too, and adds some flavour above and beyond the standard hotel experience. Being right in the city centre, space can be tight, and en suite bathrooms and the street-front Italian restaurant are somewhat cramped. We just had one or two niggles with the service: one day we were given too few towels, one of the items in the minibar had already been opened ... small things, but significant. In addition, booking the sauna proved tricky as a couple: we tried to book it for a special occasion, but were told that we had to wait until the day beforehand in case a business group wanted it ... which of course they did. As private guests, we seemed like a second priority. However, the sauna is lovely and well worth the effort of finding a convenient time, as is the attached Helsinki Day Spa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear kanikoski, it appears as though Klaus K is perfect for you. We will make sure you get to take a sauna next time. I hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend in Helsinki. The taste of Finland breakfast was superb, as were the surprise glasses of bubbles on arrival. The room was clean and well decorated with quality soaps and linens. The parking under the hotel was relatively cheap for the weekend (40euros) thanks to a 20% discount from the hotel. Overall I find this hotel to be a great little "design" hotel with great furnishings and restaurants. I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear DrAndyC, it sounds like you have found all the great benefits we try to provide our guests. I really appreciate you taking time to write all these attributes for others to see. I look forward to welcoming you back to Klaus K next time you are in Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are large but a bit dark. Bathroom was pitifully small. Noise from downstairs club penetrates at least a couple of floors up. Good location, but almost every Helsinki hotel is central since its such a small town.

Klaus K is on ok choice, but you can do better for same money. That said, i spotted Finnish rock star Michael Monroe in the lobby....and he probably knows more about hotels than I do!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear The Global Finn, I am very sorry to hear that you were not that impressed with your experience. I am purchasing additional lighting this year to be installed this winter so hopefully help the problem you noted. I truly hope that you might give another chance when you visit Helsinki. Please contact me directly as I would appreciate handling your reservation personally. Sincerely, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having had positive stays at other independently owned hotels that are part of a the Design Hotels collection (such as the Claska in Japan and Mira Hotel in Hong Kong), I had high expectations for the Klaus K both in design and amenities. For the most part, I was pleasantly pleased with the design of the hotel and the friendly staff. That said, as a top-end hotel in Helsinki, there were certain polishes that seemed missing.

Klaus K is perfectly located in Helsinki, with almost everything within walking distance to the hotel. The tree lined boulevard that Klaus K is situated on provided a nice level of sophistication, however, I wouldn't go out of my way to pick the hotel for location as most other downtown hotels in Helsinki were close by.

Check-in was friendly and fast, and the room itself (a room with twin beds) large for European standards. For the most part, the room was nicely designed, although it was disappointing that the room lacked an iPod/iPhone dock and that bathroom amenities were of the "shared" type, i.e. large bottles on the wall versus individual ones. The TV, while modern, was also small.

Breakfast was included in the price and good, although even at 10:00 am on a weekday, it was busy and staff seemed overwhelmed. Disappointingly, there was a charge for specialty coffees such as espressos and cappuccinos.

A highlight of the stay though was the sauna. As long as it hasn't been reserved in advance, guests are free to reserve a sauna for an hour. Located in an adjacent building, the sauna and it's facilities provided a nice break to sightseeing although be prepared to walk outside on your way to the basement facility.

Overall, Klaus K was a good hotel, but I expected slightly more given it's rating and price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear redeyetraveller, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about Klaus K! Your comments are valuable and helpful. I would like to respond to one of your points in the bathroom - our shampoo amenities: when I opened the hotel we had 5 bottles per room (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion and mouthwash). When you do the math, we were throwing away approximately 50,000 little plastic bottles every year. I come from a background of luxury hotels so I understand your comments however I wanted to find a solution that could be a hybrid. I find Malin+Goetz to be a very high quality brand and trust that our guests will understand that you can still enjoy a pampering luxury item but remain a little more environmentally responsible. Thank you again and when you are in Helsinki in the future, I hope you will return to Klaus K. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very nice and pleasant hotel. The room was nicely decorated, clean. The bed was very confortable, probably because we were quite tired after the long walk.Hotel is very well situated in design district, not far from shopping center and not far from sea terminal (Tallinnlink: if you have a time - go to Tallinn). Tram 6 is just in front of the hotel, you can make a nice tour of the city.
People in the hotel was kind and service -minded. Breakfast was various and fresh.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Denmelb, Thank you for your comments. I appreciate you noting some of our greatest attributes. And I hope to welcome you back when you return to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 139 rooms including 2 suites, 3 art rooms and a Movie Room are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.