We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Save Saved
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Location and style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

First off, the location in Helsinki could hardly be better. Klaus K is well situated for the Design District and for the whole downtown area, with lots of shops, restaurants, and bars within five minutes on foot. The hotel style concept is cool, too, and adds some flavour above and beyond the standard hotel experience. Being right in the city centre, space can be tight, and en suite bathrooms and the street-front Italian restaurant are somewhat cramped. We just had one or two niggles with the service: one day we were given too few towels, one of the items in the minibar had already been opened ... small things, but significant. In addition, booking the sauna proved tricky as a couple: we tried to book it for a special occasion, but were told that we had to wait until the day beforehand in case a business group wanted it ... which of course they did. As private guests, we seemed like a second priority. However, the sauna is lovely and well worth the effort of finding a convenient time, as is the attached Helsinki Day Spa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear kanikoski, it appears as though Klaus K is perfect for you. We will make sure you get to take a sauna next time. I hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    233
    57
    19
    3
See reviews for
27
175
56
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend in Helsinki. The taste of Finland breakfast was superb, as were the surprise glasses of bubbles on arrival. The room was clean and well decorated with quality soaps and linens. The parking under the hotel was relatively cheap for the weekend (40euros) thanks to a 20% discount from the hotel. Overall I find this hotel to be a great little "design" hotel with great furnishings and restaurants. I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear DrAndyC, it sounds like you have found all the great benefits we try to provide our guests. I really appreciate you taking time to write all these attributes for others to see. I look forward to welcoming you back to Klaus K next time you are in Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are large but a bit dark. Bathroom was pitifully small. Noise from downstairs club penetrates at least a couple of floors up. Good location, but almost every Helsinki hotel is central since its such a small town.

Klaus K is on ok choice, but you can do better for same money. That said, i spotted Finnish rock star Michael Monroe in the lobby....and he probably knows more about hotels than I do!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear The Global Finn, I am very sorry to hear that you were not that impressed with your experience. I am purchasing additional lighting this year to be installed this winter so hopefully help the problem you noted. I truly hope that you might give another chance when you visit Helsinki. Please contact me directly as I would appreciate handling your reservation personally. Sincerely, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having had positive stays at other independently owned hotels that are part of a the Design Hotels collection (such as the Claska in Japan and Mira Hotel in Hong Kong), I had high expectations for the Klaus K both in design and amenities. For the most part, I was pleasantly pleased with the design of the hotel and the friendly staff. That said, as a top-end hotel in Helsinki, there were certain polishes that seemed missing.

Klaus K is perfectly located in Helsinki, with almost everything within walking distance to the hotel. The tree lined boulevard that Klaus K is situated on provided a nice level of sophistication, however, I wouldn't go out of my way to pick the hotel for location as most other downtown hotels in Helsinki were close by.

Check-in was friendly and fast, and the room itself (a room with twin beds) large for European standards. For the most part, the room was nicely designed, although it was disappointing that the room lacked an iPod/iPhone dock and that bathroom amenities were of the "shared" type, i.e. large bottles on the wall versus individual ones. The TV, while modern, was also small.

Breakfast was included in the price and good, although even at 10:00 am on a weekday, it was busy and staff seemed overwhelmed. Disappointingly, there was a charge for specialty coffees such as espressos and cappuccinos.

A highlight of the stay though was the sauna. As long as it hasn't been reserved in advance, guests are free to reserve a sauna for an hour. Located in an adjacent building, the sauna and it's facilities provided a nice break to sightseeing although be prepared to walk outside on your way to the basement facility.

Overall, Klaus K was a good hotel, but I expected slightly more given it's rating and price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear redeyetraveller, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about Klaus K! Your comments are valuable and helpful. I would like to respond to one of your points in the bathroom - our shampoo amenities: when I opened the hotel we had 5 bottles per room (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion and mouthwash). When you do the math, we were throwing away approximately 50,000 little plastic bottles every year. I come from a background of luxury hotels so I understand your comments however I wanted to find a solution that could be a hybrid. I find Malin+Goetz to be a very high quality brand and trust that our guests will understand that you can still enjoy a pampering luxury item but remain a little more environmentally responsible. Thank you again and when you are in Helsinki in the future, I hope you will return to Klaus K. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very nice and pleasant hotel. The room was nicely decorated, clean. The bed was very confortable, probably because we were quite tired after the long walk.Hotel is very well situated in design district, not far from shopping center and not far from sea terminal (Tallinnlink: if you have a time - go to Tallinn). Tram 6 is just in front of the hotel, you can make a nice tour of the city.
People in the hotel was kind and service -minded. Breakfast was various and fresh.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Denmelb, Thank you for your comments. I appreciate you noting some of our greatest attributes. And I hope to welcome you back when you return to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Located perfectly, quiet rooms, interesting breakfast and good staff. Luxuriously appointed rooms, value for money.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWB
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great hotel, nice location, good breakfast... Helsinki rocks! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear GuiBreda, Thanks for the encouraging comments about our hotel! I think Helsinki rocks as well!! I look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 139 rooms including 2 suites, 3 art rooms and a Movie Room are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.