We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Helsinki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was a great hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The buffet breakfast was awesome. It was very quiet, and the design and artwork are very interesting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Caren G, thank you for writing your review! I think our location is one of our biggest advantages for our guests. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    248
    65
    25
    4
See reviews for
36
210
66
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I'll start with the positive aspects. And there are plenty. FIrst of all I'd say the staff. I have no complaint whatsoever. They are friendly and helpful and get out of their way to be useful. I even ran into the manager and he too was friendly and caring.
Congratulations to the person responsible for choosing and training the personnel.
Then, the breakfast. I loved it. I can't say there was something special. It was just right and tasty. In all honesty, never have I had better scrambled eggs! Kudos to the chef.
The restaurant downstairs. Very nice. Cleanliness. No complaints either. Location. Quite central (like two tramway stops away from the central station).
So, what's negative about it?
I bet you've read about it already. Tiny rooms. I mean, I read it too, but I've never expected to see a single bed. I mean REALLY single bed. And no desk to put your computer on... If you're on business trip and you need to work on your laptop as much as I had... think about it. Elevator... tiny. Decoration, nice, but not good enough for my standards of a design hotel. Price? Pricey.
Really. If it weren't for the excellent staff and the excellent breakfast I wouldn't be happy at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear demetrios, I am happy to read that you liked our hotel and the different services we offer. Regarding your comment about the small rooms, I am sorry this was not a comfortable room for you. We have several different room types and sizes in an attempt to find a good solution for everyone. I hope that when you return, we can find a better room fit for you and welcome you back for a great experience! Sincerely, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Friendly staff, excellent Italian restaurant, in the heart of the city. Very small rooms, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Ino P, thank you for making time to write your review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our staff, restaurant and location. Regarding rooms, we have several different sized rooms ranging from 15 sqm to 55 sqm. I am certain we can find a perfect fit for you on your next stay. I wish you all the best. Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Klaus K. Very pleasant stay. You have everything you need plus a feeling that some thought and care went into the design of the hotel. There are interesting details everywhere, from the magazines in the room to the unique lamps and patterned shower glass.

Breakfast is included, but we thought it nothing special by our American standards. I guess we value our toast and eggs very highly. I didnt see a toaster and the eggs were strangely salty (or cheesy?) I thought the barley porridge with rhubarb sauce was good, but my husband wished it were oatmeal. Fruit selection was poor - wish there were some berries or apricots that are in season here.

We booked a "passion queen" room. They let us check in early and gave us the equivalent mystical queen. The bed looked a little small and I realize now that 140cm (their queen bed here) is equal to the American full bed. The mattress was quite comfortable despite wishing it were a few inches wider. Lots of cushy pillows.
And the custom bath towels were awesome.

Can't complain much about Klaus K. Not high luxury, but definitely a nice place to stay near all of the attractions.



  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Deena M, I am happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel. I appreciate the comments and will use them to continue to strive for improvement as it seems you like the way we are going. I hope to welcome you back when you return to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppull, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely. Bit design lead, but overall very good. Really nice Italian just be clear with starters and mains.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Klaus K's location is just right for Helsinki. Right in the middle of the city, you can easily walk to the harbor, to sites such as the Kiasma (contemporary art museum), the Saarinen Central Railroad Station, Stockman's huge department store and other places.

Yes, the rooms are small and in fact, the bed is also small. A very large person wouldn't be comfortable. But it worked well for me. Smart decor and well-appointed, the room and bathroom functioned well. A huge bonus was the breakfast buffet: every kind of juice, meats, eggs, an assortment of fresh fruit, wonderful breads, and excellent coffee. The staff, too, was friendly and extremely helpful.

I would stay there again...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a great stay in Klaus K. design hotel. The service was excellent, we had a very early check in without any problems.

The breakfast is also great, and our room was very clean. Bigger rooms would be nice, but the experience in total was one of the best in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.