We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Save Saved
You added Klaus K Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel. Its my favourite hotel in Helsinki. I cannot say anything bad about it. Room is nice, staff is friendly. I only had breakfast here. Restaurant is spectacular, food was delicious with many choices, buffet style. A bit pricey though.

PS: I visited this hotel in January 2010, but I cant select it below.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Andras B, thank you for making the time to write this encouraging review. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    233
    57
    19
    3
See reviews for
27
175
56
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a hotel I use often for business trips to helsinki but it would be great for leisure too. The rooms are all a little different but all of them are very comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent and the Italian restaurant is really good - so on a freezing night you don't have to go far! But the most important thing is the staff - they are more than helpful and go that extra mile.

Room Tip: All good A or B side are good but the central rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you joannep2012!

Reading your review in here is a really nice way to start the day. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Klaus K Hotel with other TripAdvisor users. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Tero Thynell
Rooms Manager
Klaus K Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very stylish design hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Nice variation of rooms, good restaurant downstairs and fresh, tasty breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheapest ones as they are a bit tiny. Anything above that is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear merxell, thank you for taking the time to write your review about Klaus K. I appreciate your kind and complimentary words. It sincerely makes me very proud. I look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hotel was wonderfully central, the service was outstanding, the breakfast and brunch buffets were excellent, but the room itself was totally inadequate for a stay of more than one night, although probably fine for business people on the move from one city to another. The storage space was minimal and difficult to access, the room was tiny, the lighting was terrible and there was no desk - just a table with the minibar underneath - nowhere to put your feet. Helsinki was very very cold but it was lovely and warm in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room they have. View doesn't matter much here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Alpujarra2,

Thank you for your review!

I am happy to read that even though the size of the room type that you had reserved did not meet your expectations you still enjoyed other features and service at Klaus K Hotel. As you mention in your Room Tip we do have several room types from which our guests can choose the one that suits their needs best. With regards to the lighting, we are working in it. We are currently working on a "rooms perfect" project where we go through every room and look for anything that needs to be fixed or imptoved and lighting is as well part of this. Hopefully you will see the improvement on your next stay!

Sincerely,
Tero Thynell
Rooms Manager
Klaus K Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Staff was nice. Breakfast was okay (I've had better at the Hiltons in Helsinki). Elevators are claustrophobic.

No comfortable working area. I thought it a very poor tradeoff to have an eight foot long credenza for holding magazines/wine bottle & glasses and yet not have an area on this credenza to be able to work from it. Instead, there's a hospital patient type table that you're supposed to use.


The bathroom was my biggest beef: There isn't a fully enclosed shower area which means you have water spraying out all over the bathroom floor whenever you take a shower - I had to daily use the hand towels to mop up the floor so that I didn't get my feet wet when using the sink or toilet. Also, there was no bath mat nor wash cloths. The area around the sink is tiny and the glasses they supply are too big for filling from the shallow sink.

Room was always cold no matter how high I set the temperature. I ended up wearing the bathrobe they supply in order to not feel like I was catching a cold.

Room Tip: Find out if they have rooms where the bathroom has a tub (thus ensuring you're not having a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear JLW3,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Klaus K Hotel. We really value all comments that we receive from our guests regarding their experience.

I was happy to read that we had succeeded in our guest service and you feel that our associates were nice.

I want to comment as well on the issues that did not make you happy.

- Breakfast was okay (I've had better at the Hiltons in Helsinki).
Our breakfast consists of mainly organic and local produce products that are "hand picked" and of the highest quality. We do not offer a selection of hot items in the buffet but instead prepare cooked breakfast on order. Without knowing exactly what you were missing on your breakfast I can not unfortunately point out what would the remedy be.

- Elevators are claustrophobic.

The elevators are steel and mirror covered and there is music playing. We are in a process of changing the interior slightly and hopefully you as well like the new atmosphere better.

- No comfortable working area. I thought it a very poor tradeoff to have an eight foot long credenza for holding magazines/wine bottle & glasses and yet not have an area on this credenza to be able to work from it. Instead, there's a hospital patient type table that you're supposed to use.

We don't have "working desks" in any of the rooms. We encourage our guests to come out from their rooms to enjoy our public spaces. There is a free WiFi all over the hotel. In the rooms the table with wheels that you refer to as hospital table is designed to be on perfect height to work on ones laptop when sitting on a chair. Perhaps you were not explained this feature.

- The bathroom was my biggest beef: There isn't a fully enclosed shower area which means you have water spraying out all over the bathroom floor whenever you take a shower - I had to daily use the hand towels to mop up the floor so that I didn't get my feet wet when using the sink or toilet. Also, there was no bath mat nor wash cloths. The area around the sink is tiny and the glasses they supply are too big for filling from the shallow sink.

I am sorry to hear the there was no bath mat or wash cloths in your room. This is clearly our mistake that should not have happened. And I totally understand the inconvenience with wet floor if you are missing a bath mat. With regards to the glasses apparently there is wrong kind of glasses in that room. I would appreciate if you could send me a quick email to inform the room number and I would see that this issue gets sorted.

- Room was always cold no matter how high I set the temperature. I ended up wearing the bathrobe they supply in order to not feel like I was catching a cold.

There clearly has been or still is an issue with the thermostat in that room. Again, if you could kindly inform me the room number and I will get the temperature issue fixed.

Thank you again. On your next trip to Helsinki I would be happy to take care of your reservation personally.

Tero Thynell, Rooms Manager
Klaus K Hotel
tero.thynell@klauskhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Quirky, intimate and reliable in quality - the boutique hotel in modern Scandinavian style is my new regular haunt in Helsinki. The organic, regional breakfast buffet is a real joy. Room decor can be a bit dark in atmosphere but the total experience has always been fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear random adventurer, I very much appreciate you making the time to write your review. We try to surprise our guests with fun and interesting touches while remaining reliable and professional. I look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sospel, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

A very nice design hotel in the center of town. The rooms were very well equipped and the bathroom was big enough and clean. Staff was friendly, breakfast is nice with more than enough choice. The hotel is in the middle of town, lots of good restaurants and pubs in the neighborhood. Central station is about 10 minutes by food.

Prices are reasonable, its a nice price quality.

Room Tip: The rooms at the street site are also very quiet, very good isolation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear HugodelaR,
Thank you very much for your comments. I am extremely happy to learn that you could see and feel the every day hard work of our Refresh-team to keep the rooms and public spaces in immaculate condition.
I wish that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,
Tero Thynell, Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Klaus K Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 139 rooms including 2 suites, 3 art rooms and a Movie Room are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to high speed internet - wireless and wired. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaus K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.