We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel in western part of city, dirty room, no pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Sweden, Europe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“New hotel in western part of city, dirty room, no pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

This was a newly built hotel near the Espoo highway entrance in western part of Helsinki, just minutes from city centre. You'll need to either have a car or rely on public transport (tram stop 10mins away, takes 10mins to centre, cost around 2 EUR or 6 EUR / full day or 12 EUR / full 3 days) or bus (stop 5mins away, takes less than 5mins to centre, cost 2 EUR / or the above daily pass options) or taxi (10 EUR to city centre, 25-30 EUR to the HEL airport.)

The room we stayed was on the Executive floor which offered free orange juice, chocolate and water from minibar, which was a really nice touch.

Bathroom was filled with towels and should you run out / forgot some supplies they provide them free of charge by calling the front desk.

Found the room to be quite dirty, with stains on floor and used tissues behind the floor lamp and under the bed, plenty of dust in many places, too. Otherwise we had no complaints, as the modern room had great bed and good plasma TV.

There is a mini gym included in the rate but no pool.

When I pointed out the problems during our stay to the front desk, they seemed very keen to fix things immediately, which was good.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    113
    53
    10
    6
See reviews for
20
54
26
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

Stayed here for one night in mid August 2006 for business. Was about 25 minute cab ride (€25) from the airport.
Arrived late ish (9:30pm) but check in was reasonably quick.
Room was functional but clean and quite modern with a decent bathroom.
Restaurant stayed open until 11pm and staff were helpful, service was prompt and very friendly.
Breakfast the next day was generous and check-out was reasonably quick - I filled out a comment form and got a response back the same day - quite impressed with that.
Didn't get to use the sauna or gym sadly but they sounded good.
One word of warning - popular with overseas tour groups so make sure you avoid check-in or check-out when they are around, otherwise very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

The Hotel is on the outskirts of the City Centre, but a 15 minute taxi ride gets you into the centre of Helsinki. It is ideally situated if you have meetings in the Espoo area. From the airport to the Hotel expect to pay between £22 - £25 for a taxi (varies based on time of day & traffic). The Hotel's Reception staff are very efficient & friendly. The Hotel decor is modern & fairly easy on the eye. My bedroom was a bit on the small side, but clean, nicely decorated & with a very comfortable bed. High speed Internet access is available at a reasonable rate of 5 euros for 24 hours. The restaurant offers a good choice of evening meal & the food is pretty tasty. There is a small gym available too with a few key pieces of equipment. The Hotel is an ideal base for a couple of nights stay whilst on a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

I stayed here for 2 nights in March, the week after Conan O’Brian had made his famous visit to the city. This is not your typical Holiday Inn like in the US. It is much more upscale than that and I was happily surprised by this. I normally stay at Westin or similar, and this hotel did not disappoint me at all.

The hotel is very modern and up to date. The rooms are very modern and look great (mine had a frame of Andy Warhol’s Campbell Soup). The room has hardwood floors, a nice desk and is well laid out. The room has double windows so it’s not drafty (which is important in Finland!) and it keeps the noise out also. The bed was very comfortable and had a choice of pillows.

The restaurant downstairs is excellent. We had a business dinner there and we were all very happy with our meals. If you come home late from the bars, there is a refrigerated snack tray with sandwiches for a great late night snack.

Taxi from airport to this hotel is about 35 Euros.

Pro:
-modern hotel, nice lobby, nice rooms
-marble bathrooms, plenty of room
-choice of wired or wireless internet in the room at reasonable cost

Con:
-to get internet access you have to call the front desk for a UserID and password, which is a bit of a pain

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

Stayed here for one night after returning from a trip to Russia. The room was of typical European size, very clean, with a comfortable bed, and great bath. The breakfast buffet was the best breakfast buffet I have ever had. The neighborhood is also extremely peaceful and quiet. It was the perfect place to relax before the long trip back home.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2005

I have just returned from a fabulous trip to Finland. I stayed in Helsinki with a friend for two nights in mid-Sept and was initially clueless as to which hotel we will stay in - It's also my first visit to the country. Price for 3* or 4* hotels in the city centre seem quite expensive so I opted for something more on the outskirts hoping they would be slightly cheaper. After some investigation, as well as realising that no-one had reviewed the hotel on this site, I opted for Holiday Inn West.

The hotel only opened in August 2005 and so far they are doing a very good job with the level of service they provide their customers. Check-in was quick and easy, staff are very polite and helpful, and above all the room was spotless and extremely chic. I'm usually quite particular about cleansiness, and was also impressed by the interior design of both hotel and room. There is a gym in the basement, free sauna and decent food menu.

Although not centrally located, the hotel is situated in the business district which is generally quiet. Helsinki is not a very big city, so the hotel is just a 30 minute walk from the centre of town - not a problem if the weather is warm, but otherwise the 2Euro, 2stop train ride on the metro will get you back and forth..

If you book the room 3 days in advance on the web, you get a better rate. I know I'll be staying here when I come back to Helsinki in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Address: Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Helsinki West hotel is located in the fast growing business district of Ruoholahti, only few minutes away from the Helsinki city center and only 30 minutes drive from Helsinki Airport. Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti is a high-standard business and leisure hotel offering 256 well equipped rooms. All our rooms are equipped with free highspeed internet (ADSL) and WiFi access, safety deposit box, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Our hotel offers Executive Rooms on the 9th floor with nice view over Helsinki, the capital of Finland. In Executive rooms there is a free high speed internet and WiFi and also selected items from minibar are free of charge. Restaurant Fokka, located on the ground floor, serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. You can finish the evening with a glass of wine in our cozy lobby bar. 24-hour Business Centre with complimentary internet connection is available for our guest. Hotel guests can also enjoy free fitness facilities and Finnish Sauna! Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti hotel is only a few minutes away from the Tallin cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City West Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.