We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, if not a bit far from the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Auckland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, if not a bit far from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent standard for a Holiday Inn.
Great food in the restaurant.
Rooms a good size.

Only downside to the hotel, is it is a little way from the city 10-15 min taxi ride, and the metro stop is about 15 min walk away, and then 20-25 min ride into the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    109
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
19
52
26
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aprilia, Italia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I've spent here 3nights and it was not the first time. But is getting worst and worst. The ventilation in the rooms was terrible and noise. I wake up every morning with horrible headache.
Breakfast terrible. Too many people, little service, tables dirty and if you are not an early morning person, you find very little left. No coffee already at 8.45!
Rooms, apart from the ventilation, are nice and comfortable. But the rest... I hope I don't have to come here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari S, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear jadeyekorats,

Thank You for Your important feedback.
I truly apologize that Your stay with us was not as good as it always should be.

I will inform this feedback also to our General Manager and to our restaurant manager.

Again, I am very sorry about this.

Have a nice summer.

Best regards,
Tiina Heino
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great beds and shower AND a good pillow. Near shops and supermarket - where we got some good hot food because the restaurants weren't open apart from burgers. The hotel had a really good breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are IHG members so we got upgraded to an Executive room. However room has no bath tub but has all other amenities. From the West ruoholahti subway you have to walk about 10minutes to the left towards the main entrance of the KALPPAKESKUS mall before you can see the hotel entrance. Its a typical holiday inn so I have no complaints.Internet is free.It is two stops away from central train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Betty I,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review!
I'm afraid we have only 1 Executive class room that has a bath tub.
I'm delighted to hear that otherwise you enjoyed your stay with us.
Have a great rest of the summer and hope to see you again on your next visit to Helsinki!

Best regards:
Annika Kotilainen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just completed our extended weekend trip to Helsinki & we were so happy to stay in this quite,clean & well maintained Hotel by IHG group.A very friendly staff who on our arrival upgraded us to lake/sea view room (very quite & clean) and then extended our late check-out till 14:30 hours without any extra charges.Location was just perfect (1 metro station away from Kamppi and 2 from Central station).Very near to famous Cafe Regata and on the way to Seurasaari islands.Sauna is really relaxing and overall well maintained by Staff.We had a peaceful sleep in this Hotel with such an eternal silence....Overall we are very happy to be here & once again full credits to IHG group to making our stay so comfortable.Thank you !

Room Tip: Sea View Room is so perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A convenient hotel for the business district, opposite a shopping mall, round the corner from a sports centre overlooking the water.
Receptionists and bar staff, waiters in the good restaurant will bend over backwards to make you welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a total of 4 nights. Here are my impressions:
Reception: Excellent. Very helpful, polite and efficient.
Rooms: Quite good but there are locked double windows and even though we were there in the summer we couldn't open the windows.
WiFi: Efficient and fast (and free).
Location: This is the problem. The hotel is located out of the center in a business area that is deserted in the evening. There is a shopping center close to the hotel and a few restaurants but they all close early.
Breakfast: Very good with a nice selection.
Other: We ate dinner once in the hotel due to the fact that we arrived after 8 and didn't feel like going into town. The food and service were good and even the price wasn't too bad (considering it was a hotel) but I was charged 2 Euros for 2 glasses of tap water! Never heard of that before and I was told by the waiter that was because I didn't other drinks! In other words I was fined!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Address: Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Helsinki West hotel is located in the fast growing business district of Ruoholahti, only few minutes away from the Helsinki city center and only 30 minutes drive from Helsinki Airport. Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti is a high-standard business and leisure hotel offering 256 well equipped rooms. All our rooms are equipped with free highspeed internet (ADSL) and WiFi access, safety deposit box, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Our hotel offers Executive Rooms on the 9th floor with nice view over Helsinki, the capital of Finland. In Executive rooms there is a free high speed internet and WiFi and also selected items from minibar are free of charge. Restaurant Fokka, located on the ground floor, serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. You can finish the evening with a glass of wine in our cozy lobby bar. 24-hour Business Centre with complimentary internet connection is available for our guest. Hotel guests can also enjoy free fitness facilities and Finnish Sauna! Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti hotel is only a few minutes away from the Tallin cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City West Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.