We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great beds and shower AND a good pillow. Near shops and supermarket - where we got some good hot food because the restaurants weren't open apart from burgers. The hotel had a really good breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    48
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
42
24
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are IHG members so we got upgraded to an Executive room. However room has no bath tub but has all other amenities. From the West ruoholahti subway you have to walk about 10minutes to the left towards the main entrance of the KALPPAKESKUS mall before you can see the hotel entrance. Its a typical holiday inn so I have no complaints.Internet is free.It is two stops away from central train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Betty I,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review!
I'm afraid we have only 1 Executive class room that has a bath tub.
I'm delighted to hear that otherwise you enjoyed your stay with us.
Have a great rest of the summer and hope to see you again on your next visit to Helsinki!

Best regards:
Annika Kotilainen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just completed our extended weekend trip to Helsinki & we were so happy to stay in this quite,clean & well maintained Hotel by IHG group.A very friendly staff who on our arrival upgraded us to lake/sea view room (very quite & clean) and then extended our late check-out till 14:30 hours without any extra charges.Location was just perfect (1 metro station away from Kamppi and 2 from Central station).Very near to famous Cafe Regata and on the way to Seurasaari islands.Sauna is really relaxing and overall well maintained by Staff.We had a peaceful sleep in this Hotel with such an eternal silence....Overall we are very happy to be here & once again full credits to IHG group to making our stay so comfortable.Thank you !

Room Tip: Sea View Room is so perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A convenient hotel for the business district, opposite a shopping mall, round the corner from a sports centre overlooking the water.
Receptionists and bar staff, waiters in the good restaurant will bend over backwards to make you welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the hotel for a total of 4 nights. Here are my impressions:
Reception: Excellent. Very helpful, polite and efficient.
Rooms: Quite good but there are locked double windows and even though we were there in the summer we couldn't open the windows.
WiFi: Efficient and fast (and free).
Location: This is the problem. The hotel is located out of the center in a business area that is deserted in the evening. There is a shopping center close to the hotel and a few restaurants but they all close early.
Breakfast: Very good with a nice selection.
Other: We ate dinner once in the hotel due to the fact that we arrived after 8 and didn't feel like going into town. The food and service were good and even the price wasn't too bad (considering it was a hotel) but I was charged 2 Euros for 2 glasses of tap water! Never heard of that before and I was told by the waiter that was because I didn't other drinks! In other words I was fined!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are a part of a Trafalgar tour group when we stayed at this hotel. The hotel was filled of clients coming from several tour groups. Still, we find the place quiet. The staff were courteous and breakfast was plenty. The hotel is quite far from the city center.

Across the hotel is a supermarket where you can buy your daily needs. They even have cooked food just in case you want something different from what you in the hotel. Inside the supermarket, there are several restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari S, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Racq,

Thank You for Your feedback.
It is always very important to hear was the accommodation succeed.

From the hotel to the city center it is about 2,5 kilometers.
By Metro it's easy to go to the center.
That is good that the shopping center is located just infront of us.

I hope to see You again in the future for stay with us.

Best regards,
Tiina Heino, Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

It is well kept, clean and quiet hotel. the rooms are comfortable and the staff helpful.

Basic amenities are provided including mini bar, ironing board, kettle and safe.

Breakfast buffet had a good spread !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that you found our staff and service excellent at the front desk as well as the rooms and the breakfast.
Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to have you soon again as our guest!
Best regards, Mari Salonen General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Address: Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Helsinki West hotel is located in the fast growing business district of Ruoholahti, only few minutes away from the Helsinki city center and only 30 minutes drive from Helsinki Airport. Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti is a high-standard business and leisure hotel offering 256 well equipped rooms. All our rooms are equipped with free highspeed internet (ADSL) and WiFi access, safety deposit box, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Our hotel offers Executive Rooms on the 9th floor with nice view over Helsinki, the capital of Finland. In Executive rooms there is a free high speed internet and WiFi and also selected items from minibar are free of charge. Restaurant Fokka, located on the ground floor, serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. You can finish the evening with a glass of wine in our cozy lobby bar. 24-hour Business Centre with complimentary internet connection is available for our guest. Hotel guests can also enjoy free fitness facilities and Finnish Sauna! Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti hotel is only a few minutes away from the Tallin cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City West Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.