We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than you would think...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Better than you would think...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. The food in the restaurant was really good, the staff welcoming (although one or two were a bit "slow"). The room was OK and comfortable but a little too hot for me and the toilet seat was broken (I found out when I sat down!! :-( ) you think that the maid could have informed maintenance?
Good location if you like a jog in the evening as its close to a good run by the lake.
Popular it seems with tour operators as it was very busy and breakfast was a bit of a zoo but hey !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Off_shore_rib,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I appreciate the compliments regarding our good restaurant menu and welcoming staff. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    48
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
42
24
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Styaed here for a night on a business trip. This is about 20 min from the airport and caters primarily to business travellers though it is also popular with tour operators - several tour buses with tourists arrived while i was checking out the next day. My room on the 7th floor was quite spacious and had a stocked minibar, ironing board, complimentary tea/coffee and a compact but not cramped bathroom. Pillows and mattresses were excellent as was the noise insulation from the highway next to the hotel. There is a sauna facility at the hotel (keys to be collected from the reception) which I did not use.

The breakfast (open from 6:30 to 10:30) was quite good with both hot and cold options. TIP: Have an early breakfast as later on the tour group hordes descend on the dining room and the staff struggle to clear the tables quickly. You may then have to wait for 5-10 minutes before a table can be readied. I also had dinner at the in-house restaurant the previous night and there was a good set of reasonably priced options for both vegetarians and the meat-inclined.

The front desk staff were cheerful, briskly efficient and (like in other Nordic countries) very fluent in English. Cabs are available with 2-3 minutes of requesting the front-desk staff.

Overall, a very good experience and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benejama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have spent some time in this hotel. Rooms are nice and good enough for business travellers. This ist he typical holiday inn hotel and you will find all you need.
Restaurant, located in the lobby, is offering good meals even if the menu is a bit short

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear JCE1973,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Holiday Inn is a chain hotel with guaranteed service niveau. At the time of my stay (4 nights), the hotel was full: the breakfast room was noisy, some items ran out, it took a long time to get a lift and so on. The location in Ruoholahti is good for many business travelers with good connections to both Helsinki city center (subway, 2 stations, or walk 20-30 minutes) and Keilaniemi, Espoo with Nokia and Kone HQs. Kemira and Cargoteq HQs are a few steps from the hotel outdoor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

5 min walk from the very end station called Ruoholahti subway station, which is 3 staions from Helsinki central station. Big shopping area Kamppi is next to it.
If you consider a day trip to Estonia by ferry, the port is walking distance. Though not in the very central area, worth considering. Popular for Asian package tour people. Lobby are full of Chinese and Indian:)
Hotel itself is as same as other Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berhampur, Orissa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour grop on 6-7Aug 2013 and by the looks of it seems to be a popular choice with the organized tour operators.
A bit away from all the "action" and points of interest, though in the vicinity of public transport. Two huge shopping malls nearby though didn't need to go there.
Rooms are comfy and compact.
Breakfast is good and the spread has good variety.
Free wifi is a big plus.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Avranga
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you liked our hotel and and out services. We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the great experience and service they have received.

Though our hotel is not quite in the city centre, there is quick way to reach it with buses and metro. One can also enjoy the closeness or the sea and have a walk along beautiful canal nearby. Vivid attraction is also the old Cable Factory close to our hotel. It’s the largest cultural centre in Finland offering vast amount of concerts and exhibitions and events.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotel again soon. Sincerely, Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Probably a "good" rather than "very good" but there's no button for this rating.

The hotel is not in the city centre but it is only a five minute walk from the metro. We chose this hotel as it was convenient for our event. There is a small shopping centre nearby which has a coffee bar and excellent burger restaurant as well as a supermarket. There's not much nearby in the way of bars or proper restaurants. I wouldn't recommend it if you want to explore the city centre. There is nothing in the immediate area to interest the tourist.

Our bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We couldn't make the room as cool as we wanted though. There is a good size shower, no bath.

Breakfast was included in the rate. There were both hot items and cold and a good selection of freshly baked breads every day.

Disappointingly the restaurant was closed all day Sunday and there was no room service this day. We had trouble finding anywhere to eat dinner.

We were tired after a day's sightseeing so had dinner in the hotel on the Monday. It was okay but not the fine dining the prices led one to expect. If you have the energy, I'd recommend a trip into the city centre instead.

The staff were very friendly and helpful getting us taxis and giving us directions.

The hotel has a sauna but no pool.

Considering its location we thought the rates were a bit on the high side. Friends were paying less at the much nicer Radisson Blu Seaside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Address: Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Helsinki West hotel is located in the fast growing business district of Ruoholahti, only few minutes away from the Helsinki city center and only 30 minutes drive from Helsinki Airport. Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti is a high-standard business and leisure hotel offering 256 well equipped rooms. All our rooms are equipped with free highspeed internet (ADSL) and WiFi access, safety deposit box, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Our hotel offers Executive Rooms on the 9th floor with nice view over Helsinki, the capital of Finland. In Executive rooms there is a free high speed internet and WiFi and also selected items from minibar are free of charge. Restaurant Fokka, located on the ground floor, serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. You can finish the evening with a glass of wine in our cozy lobby bar. 24-hour Business Centre with complimentary internet connection is available for our guest. Hotel guests can also enjoy free fitness facilities and Finnish Sauna! Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti hotel is only a few minutes away from the Tallin cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City West Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.