We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Extremely nice hotel! Good choice for the money you pay. Nice room - the best I have seen among 6 Holiday Inns that I've been staying in. Not far away from city center. Bar is a little bit more expensive than expected. Very good choice in Helsinki.

Room Tip: Good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    149
    66
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
71
37
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Friendly reception staff. Superb quality WiFi. Beautiful bedroom. Modern and clean. The breakfast was superb. I had dinner in the restaurant and both the food and service were excellent. My only complaint is that I was stuck in my room all afternoon and the bar and restaurant weren't open so I couldn't get anything to eat or drink (and it was freezing outside) but I totally understand that they can't keep the restaurant open all day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

the holiday inn hotel is nice place to stay, the only negative point was that it's far from the city center and taxi was very expensive 25 Euros one way! it's better if you'll book your room including breakfast as they add little extra on the normal rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hämeenlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was my first stay in any Holiday Inn, so I don't have anything to compare within the chain. My first experience was good.

The hotel was very living, people arriving all the time from 6 pm to midnight. Restaurant was located nicely by the entrance, like a larger lobby. The service was one of the best I have ever had.

Sauna was a bit dry, probably because most of the visitors are international and very few of them use it. There were also nice guidance in English how to use sauna and how to behave in there.

The room was very nice, especially the bed.

Two "buts": beds were separated that way that one can not move them connected. And the water pipes were crying all the night (because people leaving and coming so different times).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

There wasn't any room in Radisson so Holiday Inn has offered us available rooms. This hotel looked very good, underground parking was nice, shopping centre was close to the hotel and location was interesting but far away from Centre of Helsinki. Service was very nice and helpful as well. Okay, so now i want to write about a few cons. Unfortunately the view from a few first floors is bad, because you are only able to see motorway and cars. We also had a problem with our iron in the room. It was broken. Price wasn't very good for a few nights but we didn't want to change the hotel after one night. Okay, i think thats all. Anyways a lot of things were very good there and we were happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel feels warm and cosy though it is quite a big hotel. Liked a lot the attitude af people working there. We felt very welcome!
The situation is good if you have business on that area or if you need to catch the Tallinn boat early in the morning.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are as good as upgraded ones. Upper floors are even more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

In spite of what someone wrote, this is nowhere near downtown Helsinki, there's the HI city centre for downtown.

This is the best located PriorityClub hotel you are visiting anywhere to the west of Helsinki... (Espoo) in this case Aalto uni in Otaniemi.
This is the 3rd (or 4th?!) time I've stayed here. I booked a single room & was put on the top / Executive floor (due to PC/IC platinum ambassador).

Parked in the underground car-park (to the right of reception). Check in was very easy, friendly receptionist, free WiFi codes given with door card. Was offered a free drink voucher for the bar (didn't use) & was told that chocolate bar & water in the fridge were complimentary for this room. Plenty of copies of the FT available in foyer.

Room overlooked the Ruoholahti shopping center. 20 minutes after arrival there was a knock at the door, staff member came in with a bowl of fruit & chocolates courtesy of the management... nice!
Makes me wonder if they keep tabs on these reviews?!

Bed was comfy, pillows a bit too thick, duvet a bit light. Shower was good - no bath but that's no problem for me, toiletries good. WiFi was fine, but the TV was a small oldish flatscreen. With the price of TVs so low you'd think they'd upgrade their best rooms.

Still haven't tried their breakfast, usually there is something to eat at the meetings I've been attending. Maybe next time?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#34 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Address: Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#26 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Helsinki West hotel is located in the fast growing business district of Ruoholahti, only few minutes away from the Helsinki city center and only 30 minutes drive from Helsinki Airport. Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti is a high-standard business and leisure hotel offering 256 well equipped rooms. All our rooms are equipped with free highspeed internet (ADSL) and WiFi access, safety deposit box, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Our hotel offers Executive Rooms on the 9th floor with nice view over Helsinki, the capital of Finland. In Executive rooms there is a free high speed internet and WiFi and also selected items from minibar are free of charge. Restaurant Fokka, located on the ground floor, serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. You can finish the evening with a glass of wine in our cozy lobby bar. 24-hour Business Centre with complimentary internet connection is available for our guest. Hotel guests can also enjoy free fitness facilities and Finnish Sauna! Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti hotel is only a few minutes away from the Tallin cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City West Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.