We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #22 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We are stayed for two nights at the Seaside Hotel. After staying and visiting Beijing, staying in this hotel and Helsinki was paradise. The rooms were comfortable - probably not enough bedding for a larger family but with two small kids was fine. We ended up getting an extra bed at 18E per night and putting one kids on the couch. The location is fine - it was 15 minute walk from the train station or a 5 minute tram ride which starts running at 6am in morning. There is a food market (S-Market) about 5 mins away for picnic supplies for a day out on Suomenlinna Island (highly recommended). The front desk was professional and spoke beautiful english. The highlight of the hotel was the breakfast buffet with a great choice of food and drinks - the kids were in heaven.
We recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    331
    148
    33
    16
See reviews for
115
211
62
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Just returned from a couple of weeks in Finland, at a conference first and then with a couple of days to spare to hang around Helsinki and go over to Tallinn.

I was travelling with a work colleague and sharing rooms to save money. Interesting process...

We had booked from another Radisson, in Vaasa, and got a good deal for 76 Euros for the first 2 nights and 146 Euros for the Sunday night - all up just on 300 Euros for 3 nights, which worked out at less than $AUD100 each per night, including the hugest breakfast you've ever seen, plus free wireless internet. By European standards, I consider this excellent value. We had a room with 2 beds, a large bathroom with 2 showers, one over a separate bath, another room with toilet and handbasin etc., a very large living space, big TV, two hanging spaces, a desk, etc., all beautifully appointed in modern Scandinavian style, blonde wood with lovely light fittings. But best of all, we had our own private balcony, looking out over the western side of the city. Not a special view, but the space was really appreciated (specially for drying the undies!!!).

A couple of less favourable comments: the outward opening doors really are a hazard! Despite having a few days in Vaasa to get used to this (apparently Finnish) habit, I was nearly smacked in the face several times, in all sorts of different places. A trap for new players.

The other thing is the heat. There doesn't appear to be any controllable airconditioning in these Radisson hotels, just what gets pumped through the vents. IN Vaasa we had a heated towel rail in the bathroom, despite it being late summer with average daytime temperatures of about 16C. The railm was so hot you'd burn your hand hanging up your towel. In Helsinki the bathroom floor was heated, so if we left the door open the main room heated up as well. With the already high temps in the rooms, this became a bit of a problem. Also, Radisson have 'invested' in some space-age bedding which retains body heat and makes sleeping really uncomfortable. No doubt it's appreciated in winter, but as two Aussies pretty accustomed to really hot weather in our home town, Adelaide, we found it almost unbearable to have to sleep on hot sweaty mattresses with doors and windows open, and still not be able to cool down. Also the pillows are a joke! They tout them as the best quality down and feather, but in fact they're so slight and fluffy you'd have to put towels or a telephone directory under them to make them useable. I always take my pillow with me, so it wasn't a problem for me, but my colleague had a miserable time, battling with pillows about the consistency of a box of tissues.

However, all this aside, quite minor quibbles really, this Radisson was really very good value, the room was superb and beautifully fitted out, the breakfast was a real gift (lots of bacon butties for the train and/or ferry later in the day!). I love European breakfast (herrings, smoked salmon, cheese, salami, etc.) and I could graze for hours over the Radisson breakfast. Coffee was ghastly, but that's true throughout Finland, you just get used to it!
The location is excellent, close to the centre of town, just maybe a 10 minute walk, close to the port for ferries to Tallinn or other major destinations, quiet and safe. There's a supermarket right round the corner with a bottle shop where you can buy a good selection of Australian wine at only about double what you'd pay at home - good value compared to buying wine in the hotel (about $AUD10 a glass for the house wine!).

All up, I would really recommend this hotel, and suggest that people ask directly for deals - we were originally quoted 130 Euros a night and gt it for half that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Some people have worried about the distance from the centre of town, seriously it's a 10 minute walk or a 5 minute tram ride from right outside the hotel.
You are in a peaceful dockland district, quiet and safe, with an outdoor market round the corner every morning to buy those nick-nacks and souvenirs at a bargain price.
The hotel is very professional, well-organised, nice rooms (none with a stupendous view, though the top floor ones have a balcony), good breakfast buffet, free business centre.
It is used by tour groups but they don't get in the way too much!
Do consider this, we always use TripAdvisor to choose our hotels and we chose this one!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

firstly let me say...the hotel is great...nice walk from the centre of town..near to the Ferry terminal for Tallinn too. we had no problems here at all. I think the title of the hotel though as an earlier review stated,the name is misleading SEASIDE hotel it is not,more PORTSIDE. the buffet breakfast was good,although advise you to be up early as around 9am,we couldnt find a table til at least 930am,maybe we was unlucky that morning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Me and my wife were going to Helsinki for 2 nights, and needed to get a hotel for our time there.

Most 2 and 3 Star hotels were comming in at a minimum of 90 Euros a night, but tried my luck on the SAS site, and got two nights in this 4 star hotel for 85 Euros a night and it was a bargin!!!!

Although Helsinki city centre is no exactly that big, the hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the train station (where the airport bus drops you off) and less than 10 minutes to the Stokkmann department store.

At first you want down the street towards the hotel you come to a dead end, but to the side there is a small stair-way, and if you go to the bottom of them and turn right you come to the hotel entrence.

It is by far a good standard 4 star hotel... really nice rooms, with the usual facilities (only problem the bedsheets are only the size of the surface of the bed, so if you are in a double bed, you will be in a fight to wrap yourself up in the blackets.

TV have a good number of English channels, but we never really had time for that.

Breakfast was a feast!!!!!! In a city like Helsinki where every penny counts, it was great to get such a large breakfast (both hot and cold!!!) that filled you up for the rest of the bed.

Hotel location is not the greatest, as said its about 5-10 minutes walk to the stokmann Department store, and about 20-30 minutes walk to the harbour side and Helsinki cathedral... normally this would be off-putting... but it was the height of summer and at +28C, we were thankful for the walk to cool down at night.

All in all, most satisfied with this hotel and would stay in it again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The service was great, the staff was very healpful. The room was the right size for two people, I had booked a room with to single beds, but there was a mix up and we got a queen sized bed which was OK.
The room was far from clean, the sheets had been washed but had some permanent stains. Glasses were not clean. I assume hotels don't clean under the beds very often, I'm sure this is the case in this hotel.
I stayed for 2 night and the second morning I realized, while standing in the shower, that house keeping had forgotten to leave towels. But the front desk took care of that in just a few second.
Big breakfast buffé, bacon and eggs were not good, but the rest was OK.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I found the tram to the hotel very easily, and didn't mind being a bit out of the way. I didn't find the dockside unappealing as some have. I liked the room and the staff were really helpful. I also like the sandwich bar - they are a bit aexpensive, but still better than paying a fortune in the restaurant. Enjoyed a beer at the tables outside the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is huge and there is free wireless. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.