We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good location and everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I agree with other reviewers, the hotel is somewhat dated and the rooms and the carpets in the aisles need updating. The same is true for the gym with the machines quite tired and some of them not working. However, I liked the fact that the room had a comfortable bed, minibar, coffee/tea making and ironing facilities, The breakfast was very good, the staff helpful and friendly, wireless internet for free.
I had nothing against the location, it is around 15 mins walk to the centre, the tram stops in front of the hotel and goes every ten minutes. It takes you to the centre and to the train station really fast and comfortably. Ferry terminal to Tallin is 10 mins walk away. Sauna is a nice touch.
So, if the price was right, I would definitely go back rather than paying top dollar in the newer Radissons in the centre.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear user Liv V,

We appreciate you taking the time and reviewing our hotel. Thank you for your feedback and your nice comments. It is good to see that our hotel's location was convenient for you and that we were able to provide you with everything you needed for a pleasant stay.

Hopefully next time when you visit our hotel, your stay will be even better than the first time around. We look for to seeing you here again. Have a lovely summer time!

With kind regards,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    421
    201
    49
    25
See reviews for
167
269
96
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Perfect location aiming the sea port and fair walking distance to downtown.
Hotel open to provide a high floor room with great views. Room had everything you need and the prices was not too high.... though it would be way higher.
The breakfast was exquisite!
Would come back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear user LetitflyGX,

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Seaside hotel I would like to thank you for your excellent review! We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and it makes us even happier that you would be happy to return.

Hopefully we will get the chance of welcoming you back as our guest in the future. Have a lovely summer time!

With kind regards,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The location of this hotel is not convenient to the ferries or the historic center of the city. The bathtub design was quite unusual. The tub itself was very small, and there were big gaps between the side of the tub and bathroom wall which made that part of the bathroom difficult to clean. It smelled like stinky feet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear user Deron F,

Thank you very much for your review! I apologize that your room’s bathroom was not what one would expect. We use the feedback to improve our product so your comments are duly noted and appreciated.

There are 3 harbour areas in the city center of Helsinki and we are close (1,1 km/0,7 mi) to one of them, the West Harbour. In your case you have probably taken a ferry from one of the other harbours to which you need to take e.g. a tram ride from our hotel.

It is nice to see though that you were happy with the service at our hotel and I hope you had a nice trip to Helsinki. In case your travels bring you back to the area, we would like to see you again here at the Radisson Blu Seaside hotel as our guest!

Wishing you a nice summer time,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Go for superior: KGB had more comfortable cells than "standard rooms" - no room, no air, small, openless windows, dated bathroom. A nasty smell pervades corridors and rooms. The reception personnel not particularly disponible. The hotel unchanged since '60 (except some appliances). It clearly damages the Radisson Blu brand; upscale hotel net who, among comprehensible differences, cares about its receiving level; since Helsinki experience I'll check more carefully what hides under the Radisson's name.

Room Tip: 9th floor superios or change hotel. Even 7th floor rooms smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear user Jacek P,

Thank you for giving us feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to apologize for all the points mentioned that caused you not to enjoy your stay.

We still hope to get another chance to welcome you here at Seaside and to prove our service is better than you experienced with us the first time.

Sincerely and wishing you a nice summer time,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Large friendly hotel, but some rooms too small with little or no storage. Tram stop right out side door and only a few stops from city centre. Breakfast very good but crowded with coach parties. Be prepared to upgrade to get more comfort!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first, there is a very big difference on similar priced rooms. No storage space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear user Chris_Watts,

Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Seaside hotel and for giving us a good overall rating on TripAdvisor.

It is true we have rooms in different sizes. The size of the room mainly depends on the room type and upgrades to next room categories are usually available with a reasonable supplement. I hope you took this opportunity and went for the upgrade to enjoy more spacious room.

Thank you once more for your review. We hope to get to welcome you back here at Seaside hotel when your travels bring you to area!

Wishing you a lovely summer time,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was another Radisson Blu hotel in Helsinki that has previous building history (Plaza next to railway station is another one). Older part of the hotel is former cheese storage (?). To feel the history of old building is great, and gives good reason to select this hotel as a venue for celebrating midsummer. Yes, all others went to the countryside but we had our traditional city break in Helsinki. Hotel is rather big with very good location almost next to Western Harbor (Länsisatama) from where you have excellent connection to Tallinn. You can easily reach the hotel by your own car, and parking is very well organised and safe but cost over 20 € per day. If you prefer public transportation, you can take tram from the city centre (lines 6 and 9). Tickets to tram can be bought from tram stops, or even with your smartphone (really easy; follow the instruction available). Then when you are in the hotel, you will see that the staff is very friendly, and willing to help you. We also noticed that they were also motivated and professional. Breakfast was good, and dining room was huge, and well organised. Something extra and positive was that breakfast service started earlier than usual at weekends, so we have time eat it before taking ferry to Tallinn. We had family room (= premier room) but quality of the room was only average, and use of space in room was not perfect (we we located in the oldest part of the hotel). There were also some problems with air-conditioning that could be related to extremely cold weather. However, value for money was good, atmosphere was international, and if you not have any over-expectations of overall quality of hotel, you will enjoy your visit in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear user OPP_Lahti,

We appreciate you taking the time and writing an informative review of Radisson Blu Seaside, and with good overall rating too. I believe the other readers of TripAdvisor can find your review helpful. Thank you very much!

It makes us happy and proud that you enjoyed your Midsummer stay with us and were pleased with the staff’s courtesy and friendliness. Thank you for your kind words. Feedback like this is also a source of motivation for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Seaside also in the future. I would like to wish you and your family a great summer!

With kind regards,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
P.s. I personally liked the sound of your review’s title!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel did not meet our expectations. Whilst staff were great, the room was very strange. Our actual room was well equipped and the beds were very comfy but the bathroom was something you'd expect to find in a Greek self catering apartment. It was very basic with black mildew in the grout of the tiles and the bath was scratched with some brown staining. This is not what we'd expect in a 4 star hotel. Breakfast wasn't great and lacked the options we'd found at other hotels during our trip round Scandinavia. There's some nice bars and restaurants in the area but I wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear user meltyourheart,

Thank you for reviewing the Radisson Blu Seaside hotel. We are delighted to hear you were happy with the service and the room equipment. I would like to apologize that the bathroom was lacking in cleanliness. The housekeeping management is reading these reviews as well so they will take appropriate actions concerning the cleaning.

On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for choosing Seaside hotel for your stay and hope you had a good time during your Helsinki visit. Have a great summer!

With best regards,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.