We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have been in this hotel for two nights during June 2014, in a business trip. The check in was fast and easy, the room big enough and quite clean. There was a good wifi connection free of charge. The breakfast was OK, nothing special but with the right food. The position is walking distance from the downtwon. The restaurant inside, for dinner, was excellent even if a little bit too expensive. The sauna was clean and functioning well but really essential. In general this hotel is on line with the Radisson quality, that is always quite good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear user RobyRamone,

thank you for your positive and factual review. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel facilities and the quality of services. We always look for ways to improve our operations and that is one of the reasons why we appreciate our guests' feedback. Our Restaurant Viola has just renewed its menu and is now offering a variety of traditional delicacies, modern flavors and trendy snacks. The new Helsinki inspired menu is designed to suit different tastes and budgets. Hopefully you will find your new favorites from the menu as well next time when visiting us!

We wish to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Seaside and Restaurant Viola. Have a great summer!

With best regards,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    378
    166
    44
    21
See reviews for
147
241
79
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Overall this hotel is best described as "grubby". It's a bit run down and it's a bit on the edge of town and it's a bit neglected.

Within my room I was grossed out by the filthy chair and the proof the room had hardly been cleaned from the previous guest as there was some dirty 'door hanger' with stains and handwritten notes right there on the chair. On a positive, the bathroom was clean.

The room door opening outwards into the corridor made me feel like I was staying in a prison - odd design idea. There's no water left for guests and the minibar charges 4.60 Euros for a little bottle!

The buffet breakfast is very good so get out of the room at the earliest opportunity to enjoy that. Impressed to see variety of loose leaf tea on offer.

The blackout curtains do work (although were also filthy) and the room is a fair size. I did sleep OK but I wouldn't return as the dirt level is too bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear user AboutLondon,

thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't go as well as expected. Your feedback is important to us and I have already forwarded it to our management. These issues faced are simply unacceptable.

In Finland the water from the tap is drinkable, so therefore we don't have any complimentary waterbottles in our rooms.

I hope that someday we get another chance to see you as our guest, so we can meet or even exceed your expectations.

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It was a twin room. The room was clean and everything was in order. The only issue was the missing temperature controller. It was somewhat warm inside and we had to keep our window open. All the rest are quite nice. Good food and nice service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear user Sumudu S,

thank you for your reviewing us. I am sorry that your room was without temperature controller but it is good to hear that otherwise everything was in order and the service was as it should be, good.

I would also like to wish you a nice summer and I hope we'll see you here again!

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a great stay at Radisson Blu Seaside. Reception greeted us with everything we needed for our stay. The room was neat and tidy, if a little bit compact which is possibly down to it's previous life as a dairy factory, but there was a decent sized double bed plus two duvets - one for each side of the bed, so no fights there - comfortable mattress plus other mod cons (decent sized TV, ironing board, hair dryer, etc). We were also lucky to have a room in Block A with views across the dock just outside. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Plenty of cooked and continental breakfast options, so something for everyone. The hotel is also in a decent location - 10 mins walk to Kamppi, 15 mins walk to Mannerheimintie and Helsining Rautatientori. Ruoholahti metro is also convenient being under 10 mins walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear citychick99,

thank you for your review. It is good to hear that everything was as it should be and you enjoyed your stay. Whenever your travels bring you back to Helsinki, I hope we'll see you as our guest again! Have a nice summer!

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Located walking distance from the centre of the city - this harbour hotel offers Finnish Sauna, outstanding breakfast ( fish fillets are a must! ), free bike rentals, free umbrella rentals, very cosy beds and a well equipped gym.

Recommend not heading to breakfast too late as even the large sized dining room fills with people quickly.

Tip - For a pleasant stroll/cycle - turn right on exiting the hotel and walk straight - you'll soon meet a converted tram line "Baana" which you can follow through the city to a beautiful lake and park - highly recommend on a sunny day

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Eire_NiMhurchu,

thank you for reviewing us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, sauna and all the other services like gym for example. It is also nice that you mentioned our free bike rentals in your review. Like you said, on a sunny day it is a pleasant way to explore Helsinki and our location is pretty ideal for it too!

On behalf of our whole staff; it was nice to have you here with us and I'll hope we'll meet again!


Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was visiting Helsinki for a concert at Kaisaniemi and stayed at Radisson Blu Seaside for one night and I was quite satisfied with the hotel. It's not situated quite at the city center, but a 10 minute walk along Kalevankatu and you are at Mannerheimintie and Stockmann department store. The neighborhood is not the most picturesque but it was quite easy to find available parking space in front of the hotel which was free during the weekend, and there are some good restaurants close by, like Restaurant Kannas or Restaurant Merimakasiini.

My room (207) was on the second floor and the windows were towards the inner courtyard which was closed for the traffic, so the room was rather quiet. The breakfast was included on the price, but on the account of me being tired in the morning I skipped the breakfast and slept late. Overall the room was quite allright with LCD-tv, free WiFi, coffee and tea and a small minibar/fridge. Only minor complaint would be that there were no drawers for socks and underwear, but since I only slept one night it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear user Petri H,

thank you for your accurate review. I am happy that your stay with us was pleasant and I hope it means that we’ll see you here again someday! Also I would like to wish you a great summer.

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is located directly across from the departure dock for the Tallin ferry. It is clean, with polite staff and a good breakfast included in the room rate.

The hall and room doors remind me of being on a ship with narrow halls and heavy metal doors to each room. See photo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear user akjim,

I would like to thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you mentioned our convenient location in your review and of course thank you for the compliments to our staff and breakfast as well.

On behalf of our whole staff, welcome back to Radisson Blu Seaside anytime!

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rezidor, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.