We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.. but can definitely do better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #23 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not bad.. but can definitely do better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited Hotel Radisson Blu seaside Helsinki during our trip to Finland and Russia.
The Hotel faces an industrial harbor, near the city center which is 15 mins by walk. Frankly speaking, we never needed to take any tram or whatever to access the center, so the location is good.
The breakfast was also good, rich enough for you to spend the morning and noon without starving, and fresh ingredients were at your service.
The room was clean enough, but not spectacular, a bit small, and the bathroom was lacking of modernity. A funny thing is that there was a lid on the ceiling of the bathroom and when my wife was having a shower, it just fall down. She was lucky enough to not being caught while brushing her teeth or washing her hands, otherwise, she would have been hit by the lid on her head! We immediately called the reception which sent someone, and the guy was shocked and felt extremely sorry and surprised seeing the scene...

On the other hand, I think this hotel deserves rather a 3* than a 4*; but it is a simple and clean way to stay in Helsinki for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    353
    156
    37
    19
See reviews for
132
223
73
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel located a small bit outside Helsinki city centre. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the center. The hotel is located in a very nice area by the sea. The hotel is very nice and modern, nice rooms and nice bathrooms. Very nice beds. Visited the sauna and it was very nice too. Breakfast was ok but not great, coffee could be better...but overall this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear user swedishtravellers,

on behalf of our whole staff i'd like to thank you for your kind review. We are glad that your stay here with us was pleasant.

I hope we'll get to see you here again as our guest in future, when your travels bring you back to Helsinki.

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First, the name of the hotel is misleading: it is not "seaside". The front does face an industrial harbour with just a few technical ships and cranes, but thats it. It takes 10-15 minutes by tram to get to the city centre. Not many restaurants around. The interiors of the hotel are very dated, tired furniture/floors/bathroom whites. Very poor quality of beds - the matresses were overly bulky which made them unstable to sleep on. No temperature control in the room - and you would find it at another 4* hotels in Helsinki, like Holiday Inn for example. I accept that they might have rooms of different quality, but this was the room we found ourself in. Their breakfast was quite good but I am struggling to name what else I liked. I've initially booked 3 nights but we only stayed 1 night and moved to another hotel as we did not want to ruin our impression of Helsinki.

Room Tip: Just do not book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is not bad, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast is very good.

It's located in front of the sea, within 20~25 min walking to downtown.

The room is not that big, but enough for 2 people with confort. There is some amenities like bath robe, flip flops, 2 kinds of pillows.

There was just one problem with the bath courtain, that was with a really bad smell, even after a asked in the front desk to check.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear user GuilhermeBragatte,

Thank you for your valuable review. I am really glad to hear that you we're pleased with the staff, breakfast and the room overall. I am sorry to hear that there was a problem with the shower curtain, I will forward your feedback that the curtains will be checked properly in the rooms.

I hope to see you again here at Seaside when your travels bring you back to the area.

Have the very best autumn 2013!

Best regards,

Maria Ranta-Ruona
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay, but it is a little expensive. For a european style room , it was VERY accomodating. The toilet and shower were separate from each other in my room ,but it was still quite nice.Quiet stay. The trolley runs right in front of it, so you have little/no walking to get teh mile to the city center(~$10 USD a day unlimited rides)Free wifi, and the breakfast had ALOT of variety. Centrally controlled a/c, so that's a plus. The front desk staff was great, and accomodating. Told them about my 4am to helsinki-vantaa and they told me they would have a taxi ready, and asked if I needed a breakfast to-go for the trip; and sadly I had to turn it down for the 20 hours of flying home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Over all experience is great. The buffet breakfast has many hot and cold items. The room is comfortable. This hotel is not far from the city center, about 15-20 minutes by walking or just a few minutes by tram (No. 6 or No. 9). Staffs are very helpful, and solve issues effectively, even after we checked out the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear user Henryc,

in Radisson we always try to provide you the best possible experience and getting good feedback is the best reward for us. So I’d like to thank you for such a nice review. I’m glad that you enjoyed your time here in with us!

I’d also like to wish you a lovely autumn and I’ll hope that we’ll see you here again, when your travels bring you back to Helsinki.

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for one night when in town for a romantic evening. Price was cheap (less than 100 euros). Staff was very friendly whenever we faced them. Room was oldish and simple but still good enough. Breakfast was all you can eat type of buffet. I have absolutely no complaints about this place. Even the location is pretty nice by the seaside.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear user Lemmy75,

we appreciate you taking time to give us a valuable review and I'm glad that both, you and your wife enjoyed your time here. I noticed that you have written a lot of reviews, so I asume you must be an experienced traveller. We would definitely like to see you again here in Radisson Blu Seaside next time you'll be in Helsinki!

We look forward to seeing you here. Have a lovely autumn!

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Rezidor, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.