We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. I had a standard double room which was a good size, clean and well furnished. As someone else has already commented, the rooms have large flat screen Tv, WiFi and to my surprise an iron and ironing board - very useful when travelling on business and wanting to look one's best. The bathroom was nicely designed with a powerful shower and endless hot water. My room was on the 9th floor with a balcony with views over the sea. My friends had a superior room which was much bigger with a separate working area and couch.
Breakfast was buffet style with excellent choice.
The only downsides to the hotel were that it was a little out of town but on saying that there was a tram stop a minutes walk away and you had to pay to park your car in the underground car park which was expensive.

Room Tip: If you like lots of space, pay the extra and opt for a superior room. The 9th floors offer great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear user Sandra B,

Thank you for your valuable review. I am really glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and got a chance to enjoy the view too.

I hope to see you again at Seaside when your travels bring you back to the area.

Have a lovely autumn!

Best regards,

Maria Ranta-Ruona
Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    421
    201
    49
    25
See reviews for
167
270
96
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This is not a bad hotel, but not a good one either. It feels a little tired and clearly gets a huge amount of traffic in the week. The rooms are not huge but clean. The bathrooms are small and the shower frustratingly went hot and cold. The location is also a little out of town and although a nice location with views over the port, to get to town was always a acab ride.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear user Orms114,

Thank you for your valuable review. I apologize for all the concerns you had during your stay here at Radisson Blu Seaside. I have forwarded the feedback about the water temperature changes to the maintenance department. If you prefer more space in the room, we do have even more spacious family class rooms and superior class rooms in the hotel. Maybe you would like to try those upon your next visit?

I hope to see you again and I wish you the very best autumn!

Best regards,

Maria Ranta-Ruona
Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in the hotel recently for work with a number of colleagues. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the rooms well furnished (large flat screen TV, WiFi, iron) and the restaurant for breakfast and evening food was very good. Cost of the stay including breakfast and WiFi connection was good value for Finland. I found it strange to have a manual in the bathroom informing me about the several steps to the perfect bath when I only had a shower in the room! Final comment is only to say that parts of the hotel are looking rather old and need of a refresh, for example the carpets are you enter the reception area.
In summary, I would be happy to return their again for a business stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I recently spent only a short time (2 nights at the end September) at this hotel and it was our last port in Europe before heading home to Australia. Our room overlooked the waters to the north and seemed pleasant enough for our short stay. We noticed that the outside cold air seemed to be blowing through a window and on inspection found its lock broken. We reported this to the reception who informed us they would relocate us to a new room whilst we had dinner in the restaurant and on returning to our new room we found we had been upgraded to a business class suite for our stay.I must say this was a superb way to complete our European vacation. The suite was big and comfortable, and had everything one would need. Also I cannot forget the restaurant ‘Viola’ their food was great and the breakfast buffet had an excellent selection.
Thanks to all the staff for

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear user Steve W,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Helsinki.

Have a lovely autumn!

Best regards

Maria Ranta-Ruona
Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spent three nights here at the end of September 2013. Chose the hotel due to the reviews and it's proximity to the ferry terminals.
It's a simple 10-15 minute walk to the downtown hub - walk straight down the street to the left of the hotel for 15 minutes and you will be at Stockmanns in the heart of the city.
We paid for a slight upgrade (€15 extra per night) for a superior room which was a lovely space with multiple windows, a raised bed area, lounge area and free movies. Would recommend this if you can afford it. The room had a fridge, bathrobes, slippers, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, plenty of wardrobe space and extra pillows. Very nice. The bed was really comfy too.
The bathroom was a little on the small side but not too much of a problem. The bathroom had a heated floor which was really good.
The room was well heated and had opening windows.
Had a few issues with the key card (you have to use it to gain access to the lifts, and security doors on each floor as well as your room door) -on the first day ours kept failing and we had to keep going down to reception to re-activate them.
The breakfast (included with our room rate) was spectacular. I have not seen a buffet breakfast this vast for a long time. Almost all of the items were of very high quality (although the apple juice did taste watered down) and would easily please most people. Many breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, fish, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, salad, jams, cooked items (sausage, bacon, egg, baked beans, mushrooms etc) are on offer as well as any drink you would want in the morning. Breakfast is served in a large welcoming room with lots of space and lots of staff around. Fantastic.
The hotel does offer free wifi but unfortunately it was rather hit & miss in our room. Full signal in the foyer though.
The staff were all very helpful, especially Katarina Henriksen, who organised car hire for us using a local Helsinki company (all of the main international car rental companies shut early on a Saturday and don't reopen until Monday which was very annoying) - she even got us a better deal with an upgrade so thank you very much to her. Great service!
I'll definitely stay here again when I return to Helsinki. It's not in the central hub, but it is a pleasant walk to get to it. There are a couple of supermarkets a minute or two away to stock up on water and essentials for the room.
Much better value and service than other 4 star hotels I've stayed in in Helsinki.


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear user Horizonx30,

thank you very much for your lovely review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will forward your feedback also to Katarina.

We are looking forward to have you here again as our guest!

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

While we are on our honeymoon for a month long trip around the baltics, we were surprised not to have had any special upgrades in any hotels. In general we didn't expect anything big from raddisson sea side. But we did go through some tripadvisor reviews and the replies as well. So we requested a room with a bath tub. Staff was kind enough to give us one that was available. But after our dinner we came back to relax and realized the tv doesn't work so we asked them to fix it. But it was badly broken and would require technicians to look at it. And we were dead tired to do any shifting of rooms. We were very sad and wanted them to do something for us. Only then they realized that we were on our honeymoon and they upgraded us to the suite for free. They also helped us with all our luggage. The suite is big and cozy, has its own bath tub, sauna and a coffee machine. They even fixed the coffee machine immediately when it stopped working the second day after we told them. Overall very satisfied with their service. Thank you raddisson.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear user Karthikbee,

thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay. We are glad that you chose Radisson Blu Seaside on this special occasion!

Normally we arrange something special for these occasions, but for some reason we didn't get the information about your honeymoon before your arrival. I would like to apologize once more the problems you had with our TV-system and thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things right.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We wish the very best for both of you and we'll hope that we will see you here again, perhaps on your anniversary?

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friends and me experienced this as a niice hotel. Modern style, friendly staff and excellent beds. The hotel is more than one kilometer away from the main centre of town, and other hotels in Helsinki has a better location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.