We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

While we are on our honeymoon for a month long trip around the baltics, we were surprised not to have had any special upgrades in any hotels. In general we didn't expect anything big from raddisson sea side. But we did go through some tripadvisor reviews and the replies as well. So we requested a room with a bath tub. Staff was kind enough to give us one that was available. But after our dinner we came back to relax and realized the tv doesn't work so we asked them to fix it. But it was badly broken and would require technicians to look at it. And we were dead tired to do any shifting of rooms. We were very sad and wanted them to do something for us. Only then they realized that we were on our honeymoon and they upgraded us to the suite for free. They also helped us with all our luggage. The suite is big and cozy, has its own bath tub, sauna and a coffee machine. They even fixed the coffee machine immediately when it stopped working the second day after we told them. Overall very satisfied with their service. Thank you raddisson.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear user Karthikbee,

thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay. We are glad that you chose Radisson Blu Seaside on this special occasion!

Normally we arrange something special for these occasions, but for some reason we didn't get the information about your honeymoon before your arrival. I would like to apologize once more the problems you had with our TV-system and thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things right.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We wish the very best for both of you and we'll hope that we will see you here again, perhaps on your anniversary?

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    387
    171
    46
    23
See reviews for
154
249
83
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lillehammer, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friends and me experienced this as a niice hotel. Modern style, friendly staff and excellent beds. The hotel is more than one kilometer away from the main centre of town, and other hotels in Helsinki has a better location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent three nights at the Radisson Blu Seaside. The location is right on the #6 tram line with the stop right across the street from the hotel. We purchased a three day Helsinki Card at the airport making this very convenient with the other things we planned to do in the city. The breakfast buffet was also very good with lots of food options. The hotel was OK, but was in need of a thorough cleaning. We were on the 5th floor and the carpets in the hallway needed to be cleaned if not replaced. The bathroom in our room was small with a inset shower stall that had some evidence of mold on the floor and walls. It really needed to have the tiles/grout cleaned or replaced. A minor issue for us was that we forgot our adapter and asked if we could borrow one for our stay. Many hotels that have many international guests do loan adapters. This hotel did not loan them but had them for sale. We went to Stockmans and bought one for half the price. Although the location is good, and we like Radisson Blu hotels we would probably look for other options if we visit Helsinki again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a good standard business hotel. Everything is as you can expect from a Radisson hotel. Rooms are clean and spacy, good bathroom standard and the breakfast is also like usual. A big minus is that there was no safetybox at the room. This should belong as a natural part of a hotel of this level. The location is about 15 minutes walk from the absolute city center. You can also take the tram number 9 that goes to the center. The hotel bar is good for a night cap.
Summary: A good hotel in a traditional Radisson standard. Can become a little boring with all the standard solutions, but it works.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear user Bjegmand,

thank you for your valuable review. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. Unfortunately we still have few rooms without safetyboxes. Like you mentioned, nowadays safetybox is important and natural part of the room's equipment and we are also looking forward to provide it in every room. Next time when you visit us, just in case mention that you need a room with a safetybox.

We hope to see you again as our guest when your travels bring you back to Helsinki.

Have the very best autumn 2013!

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Not too far from the city centre - just over a kilometre - but tram 9 goes very close to the hotel, and tram 6 stops outside. Check in handled efficiently but soullessly. Room of a good size but could have done with a deep clean, the easy chair was stained. A strange musty smell in the bathroom was eventually traced to mould at the bottom of the shower curtain, evidence of lack of proper cleaning. The bed was very soft leading to poor sleep - stayed there six nights and never got one decent night's sleep. Excellent breakfast buffet with friendly staff was the saving grace!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear user RobIpswich,

thank you for your valuable feedback. On behalf of our whole staff here at Radisson Blu Seaside I apologize for the concerns you had about your stay here with us. I am really sorry to hear that you weren’t able to get a decent goodnight's sleep during your stay.

Housekeeping department will be informed about the lack of cleanliness in the room. I hope that one day we'll have another chance to meet or even exceed your expectations.

I would also like to wish you the very best autumn.

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we were unable to afford the excellent Radisson Plaza which we had stayed in earlier in the week. This hotel was a major disappointment however and not even in the same league as the Plaza.

First, the positives. The communal areas of the hotel are very nice, and contrary to some other reviewers I thought the breakfast was excellent, despite being quite busy and crowded. The staff are very good as well, and doing their level best in a hotel which has seen better days. They deserve better though, and the hotel really needs a major overhaul. The location is not bad, a short tram trip (no.6) from the main rail station.

The negatives are exclusively associated with the rooms. The standard room we were allocated originally was terrible, everything was battered, grimy and old. The bathroom in particular was completely unacceptable, it was ancient and dirty. The cups and saucers were dirty and the bin had not been emptied. I rarely complain at hotels, but had to in this instance. A cleaner was sent to clean the bathroom, and as we waited undertook the cleaning in such a way that was quite unsanitary. I will not go into details to spare the hotel's blushes.

We then asked to be moved and the hotel upgraded us to a superior room. This was much better, and the bathroom was acceptable, but again cleaning was generally not up to scratch and most of the fixtures and fittings were old and grubby. The plumbing at the hotel is medieval. Training for the cleaners is quite obviously not OK at the moment, and needs major attention.

You will see from my other reviews I am always fair, and rarely give negative reviews. The hotel breakfast, communal areas and reception/breakfast staff are all very good. However, cleaning is not up to scratch and the hotel badly needs refurbishment. It is really letting down the Radisson brand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear user dokelly,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear the concerns you had about your experience at this hotel, especially the lack of cleanliness in our rooms. Like you mentioned, it was unacceptable and the housekeeping department will be notified about the issues that you have pointed out.

We will use your feedback to improve our operations. I hope that someday in future we'll get another chance to see you as our guest and that we can meet or even exceed your expectations.

I would also like to wish you the very best autumn 2013.

Sincerely,

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here last year and am back again

Its a nice location on the southern side of the city and a 10 min walk to the centre
My room is nice although I have a separate toilet to the shower room, and thats right, a shower room, no bath....shame as I am here for work and one day I was so taired after walking all over the city, I wanted a bath...I asked reception if I could use a vacant room as I didnt wish to have to pack up all my things and change rooms for the sake of a 15 minute soak! I was told I could for a €20 fee....I understand housekeeping would need to clean the room for the next guest but a big hotel chain such as Radisson could surely overlook such a paltry charge?? Would have been nice...
The restaurant for breakfast is ok, the usual choice. There is also the Voila restaurant for lunch and dinner which is quite expensive and small portions. I ordered cheese for desert and for €8 I had two small pieces of cheese...no bigger than a lego brick!
The fitness centre is poor. One treadmill which is a pain when someone else is using it....two cross trainers and one cycle machine and free weights....not a lot for a Radisson Blu hotel
Staff are friendly and helpful
Wifi is good reliable and fast
So overall its above average hotel and I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay in our hotel.
It was a pity that you did not ask upon check in to have a room with a bathtub. More than half of our rooms are with bathtub. Beside the gym, which is with the basic equipment we have have saunas for our guests, available every evening 5PM-10Pm.
I wish your stay in our hotel and in Helsinki has been a merorable stay.
Pekka Aroketo
Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.