We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay while in Helsinki!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Must Stay while in Helsinki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was very impressed by the Radisson Blu Seaside! Usually we stay with family in Helsinki but needed a hotel for a few days while there on this trip and selected this hotel on price and location and both turned out to right on the mark. Both I and family travel extensively in Europe and North America on business and pleasure – this was for pleasure and visiting relitives.
We had my teenage daughter with us so wanted some type of suite that would allow for privacy - since many European hotels tend to have small rooms this can be tricky. In this case we got the Nobel Suite and it was perfect, with French doors that separated the main bedroom from the living area where, for a small fee, we had an extra bed brought in. The other added plus was that there was a sauna and 2 showers in the room. My only comment regarding the sauna is from a Finnish standpoint the sauna oven/stove was too high so the steam was only at the top level where you sit - but otherwise was nice not having to book or go to a general use sauna. I did not use it on this visit but had been to an event there a couple years ago and there is a very nice sauna of larger groups as I recall on one of the top floors. Another item to note regarding the bed - in many Scandinavian and European hotels the double beds tend to be two single mattresses pushed together and I was pleased to find a regular queen mattress - excellent quality, which would be more to the American expectation.
This was very modern and contemporary ambience to the hotel. Both the overall hotel and the room were exceptionally clean with the maid service taking excellent care of the room every day.
The staff was excellent and most accommodating - exceptional language skills with English and Finnish, which we used interchangeably - I believe that I also noted the staff communicating in some other languages as well. This hotel was catering to a very international clientele and appeared to be doing an excellent job of it. My only comment here was that the TV mainly provided Finnish service – I would have expected at least BBC or CNN news channels; several news papers were provide in the lobby including Financial Times
There was internet service available of course and some PCs available in the lobby – however, several times that my daughter went to use them they were not working.
You are on the Tram Line #6, which gets you down to the train station and city center very quickly or it is about a 7-10 min easy walk. I took a taxi from the Vantaa airport and that was about 37E - there is also the airport bus to the main bus station that is easy to walk to as well or a 7E taxi if you had a lot of baggage.
The breakfast was very good and certainly accommodated most tastes for Europeans and Americans - the service was excellent here with the staff insuring that there was always plenty of food available, and many healthy alternatives provided, in several instances I noted that the staff brought some special requests for the guests.
There was a very nice Italian Restaurant in the hotel, but we did not have a chance to use it. There are several restaurants very close - one of the best Chinese in Helsinki, a newer Mexican restaurant that has a real Mexican chef providing Mexican fare - not the awful Tex-Mex (using Old El Paso ingredients), as well as the historic Salve for great local seafood and Finnish fare.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank the hotel management and staff for making for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The Nobel Suite was great - business class rooms looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    401
    182
    47
    24
See reviews for
158
258
87
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were at the hotel at the end of July. With the name "Seaside" dont expect a beach front location.The hotel overlooks a quiet part of Helsinki harbour with just private boats moored nearby. It is a very nice hotel the rooms are fine and the included breakfast is excelent.The only downside is the location- it is 15/20 min walk back to the city centre and the large Kampi shopping mall, on the way are plenty of resturants of various types and some interesting buildings.There is however a nbr 6 tram that starts from outside the hotel which will get you to the centre in a few minuites.One piece of added info, in the hotel reception area there is a stand of 3 computors that are free to use but there is no printer- however if you do need to print anything the printer on the reception desk will operate for you .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Modern hotel with spacious, comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet included.
Free wireless internet; parking garage surcharge. Friendly staff.
This hotel is not in the city center but the distance is just a 30 min walk. On the other hand, it is a 15 min walk to the ferry to Tallinn, which was one of the reasons for our stay at this location.
We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Being here around the summer solstice means that it is very very light while it is very very late in the evening/night. The shades to keep the light out were great as they totally blocked any light. So, we were able to sleep the number of hours needed (6 hours). It was light outside when we went to bed and light when we got up.
The room, bath and bed were modern and very comfortable. It was a good stay. The breakfast had a good variety of food. While it is a large dining area, it seemed that everyone in the hotel came at the same time so there is about 1/2 hour where it was difficult to find a table but one would eventually open. There was plenty of food so no need to worry about that.
The hotel is called "Seaside" but the area is not a beach/resort/pare area of town. There is a large shipping area - "canal". However, the bicycles are free and one can take the road toward the east about 1/2 mile and there is a beautiful park and beach. if you follow the road along the water, you will end up in the center of town. It is an enjoyable bike ride. Incidentally, if you don't want to buy the usual expensive snacks and soda at the hotel, there is a gas station/convenience store a couple of blocks to the east along the water (can't see from outside the hotel). Most other stores in the area close in the early evening.
In front of the hotel is a trolley stop that can take one close to downtown. To our surprise it was air conditioned which was great for that hot, humid day.

Room Tip: You have a choice of water side or the city side. The water side had a nice view but had of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The word "seaside" in the hotel was a bit of a stretch. I imagined a nice view and/or beach, but the hotel was on a small inlet of water and the view was of huge construction cranes. The room was adequate, but I probably wouldn't stay here again only because of the location. Other hotels were in much better proximity to museums, restaurants, etc. There was a tram stop outside of the hotel, but the fee was 7 euros for a day pass. The breakfast buffet was excellent, however!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed one night in July 2011, room number 269.

Now I have stayed in all the three Radisson Hotels in Helsinki and this one was as good as the other two, except for the location. For my part, I like to walk, so half an hour to the city center was not a problem. There is a Metro Station about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, the name of the station is Ruoholahti/Gräsviken. Nearby the hotel is a nice beach walk to downtown.

The room was quite large and very clean. The bed was really good. Free Internet is always a plus when staying at a Radisson Hotel. Breakfast was very good, and the staff was friendly.

I would not mind staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here two nights in April 2011, we had a normal double room with a window facing the street and harbour.
Plus +: Comfortable bed. Well equipped and fresh bathroom. Great continental breakfast. Free newspapers at the lobby. Friendly and helpful staff. Window out to the quite busy road was very soundproof, we slept well.
Minus -: Room was quite dusty and the cleaners had forgotten to empty the previous guests used coffee cups. Quite a long walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.