We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hellsten Helsinki Parliament

Save Saved
You added Hellsten Helsinki Parliament to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Museokatu 18, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Accome Tolo Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. It's was a short walk from the station, the staff were very welcoming and our room exceeded expectations. It was clean, very large and the beds which were comfortable were set in an alcove. There was lots of cupboard space and a kitchenette. In the basement there were washing machines and dryers which were free of charge - just had to supply your own detergent. This was perfect as we had been travelling for over 2 weeks and needed clean clothes. We really enjoyed the hotel and the location. Shops,and restaurants nearby and close to city centre. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Superior rooms were very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
18
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed there for 3 days and the location was great as all major attractions of Helsinki were all just within 10 minutes walk. And grocery store was also just 10 minutes walk. Coffee shop just opposite and there was a restaurant right next to it where the owner and staff of the restaurant were very nice. If you want to cook yourself, you could also do that as the apartment has a small kitchen with microwave and all the usual utensils.

The rooms were also big and offer enough space.

Thanks to some other reviews here, we took the Finnair City bus and it only took us a few minutes to get to the apartment which was important as we have quite some luggage.

The receptionists were exceptionally nice and extremely helpful as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We got this room on Hotwire so it was a really good deal but as an added bonus it was a great place to stay. The location is only a few blocks off of the museum district and the Finnish Parliament. The accommodations were basically like an apartment, with a bedroom, living /eating area as well as a full bath and kitchenette. The laundry was free and there is a sauna that if wish to use privately you just schedule a time. The staff is very nice and most speak English well but it is helpful to learn a few basic word like please and thank you. A 2 hour ferry to Estonia is a great day trip. ENJOY.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The most important thing to remember when booking is that this is not a hotel, it is an apartment. There is no on-site restaurant, so you do have to fend for yourself. However, that aside, this building is only a short 10min walk from the city centre and is in the quiet Helsinki neighbourhood of Töölö. I walked the short 5min walk round to the Scandic Park Hotel and had breakfast there or you can use the Moroccan restaurant directly across the road from the hotel and receive a 10% discount on your order.

The building is early 20th Century and has two sides, A and B. I stayed in Room 251 which was right at the top of the building on staircase B. It was a lovely spacious room with sofa, dining table and chairs, bathroom with shower and toilet, single bed and kitchen area. The kitchen had fridge, microwave and all manner of crockery that you could make use of. There was also a little balcony terrace that you could sit out on and see across the city.

I stayed at the Hellsten for four nights and it was so quiet that I slept like a baby each night. The room was not cleaned during the time I was there, but to be honest that did not really bother me as I didnt make use of the kitchen and only really used the room to sleep.

Room Tip: When travelling from the airport on the Finnair City Bus, get off at the Hesperian puisto stop as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I arrived the day before good Friday and was a bit worried as I had read mixed reviews and that if it was as bad as I'd read I would find it hard to move as a lot of Finland stops at Easter. All I can say is there was no need to worry the apartment had more than I could have expected it really was like a home from home. It was spotless,great location,and easy to find ...I really recommend this place and would stay again if the occasion arises.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are so quiet also remember to book the sauna with plenty of time ...they love them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I recently stayed at Hellsten Helsinki Parliament while attending a conference at the University of Helsinki/Finnish Meteorological Insitute. I wasn't quite sure to expect but it turned out to be the perfect hotel for my stay in Helsinki. First, the room was huge and provided ample space for a comfortable, extended stay. Second, the location--about a ten minute walk from central Helsinki--was perfect and in a quiet residential neighborhood. One of the biggest perks at this apartment hotel was the FREE laundry. When traveling in Scandinavia, it can be difficult (and expensive) to find a place to do laundry. I would definitely stay here again if I ever find myself in Helsinki because as it's an excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosjoen, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Was there 5 days as a friend trip and was clean and big apartment,nothing to complain about.
Nice kitchen and biig living room and the biggest bedroom i ever been in.
had a great stay and not too far to walk to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Parliament

Address: Museokatu 18, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Accome Tolo Apartments)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hellsten Helsinki Parliament 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament Hotel is situated in the city centre of Helsinki, in a pleasant and quiet residential area. The surrounding area has several well-known attractions such as the Parliament House, the National Museum, the Finlandia Hall and the Temple Church. The hotel is situated on a peaceful street with interesting shops and restaurants, which is only nine minutes walk from the Central railway station. The 43 rooms in the hotel are varying in size, from one room apartments of 24 sqm to two bed room apartments up to 75 sqm. Each apartment is individually designed, Scandinavian style. Of course rooms are equipped with telephone, satellite TV and free internet access, and fully equipped kitchen. The front desk at Parliament is open on weekdays from 8 am in the morning till 8 pm in the evening, and will cater for all your needs and inquiries. Other hours there is an electronic surveillance of the premises and you can do your own check-in round the clock with an automated check in system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Parliament reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellsten Helsinki Parliament, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.